We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey, clean, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Hanscom's Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Homey, clean, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very clean, comfortable, quiet, reasonable (for the area in high season), excellent WiFi reception. Short ride to Acadia National Park.

Very nice kitchen although I only used the microwave and refrigerator. There was a stove, too. And a Keurig coffee maker.

Although I only stayed two nights, I could see myself enjoying being there for a month.

Mary Deane was a lovely, helpful host.

Many reviewers appreciate that it is pet friendly. I do not have a pet and was pleased to find that the pets were quiet and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown,Ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed in cottage 1 July 23-29. The cottage was adorable and is immaculate. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and newest of the place. We chose them because they were dog friendly, had air conditioning and a short walk to a private beach.
We were traveling with our two dogs and wanted to be able to take them swimming in the ocean. The beach was beautiful (all rock) and right on Frenchman's Bay. The dogs loved it!! Having recently been to a dog friendly hotel in Vt that smelled like urine and was not very clean - we did not know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised with these cottages. The staff and owners were all very friendly and helpful. They even delivered fresh lobsters to our door so we could bring so home to friends and family. Everyone was very friendly with the dogs and there was always water outside the office for them to drink.

Room Tip: I would suggest if traveling with pets to get one of the cottages further in as #1 is close to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This was our second year in a row staying at Hanscom's cute and cozy cottages, conveniently located just a few minutes from downtown Bar Harbor. We were fortunate to have arrived the day after the hectic Memorial Day weekend and thus had the place pretty much to ourselves. We've been on the road for a month now, and this is by far one of the best bargains in the country. The only problem that we had this time, was the noise level from Highway 3 (as we stayed in Cabin 2 this time). Due to the low numbered cabins' proximity to the road, it is pretty bad from dawn until dusk, even on weekdays. If you are at all sensitive to traffic noise, we would suggest requesting one of the higher numbered cabins (like 8, 9 or 10) and this shouldn't be a problem. And say hi to Marydeane for us from the Oregon steak and seafood team.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLD TOWN MAINE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Am very impressed with thease clean and well kept cottages.,SET IN A WOODSY EREA,BEAUTIFUL TREES,,WELL KEPT PROPERTY AND GAS GRILLS AND TABLES AND LAWN FURNITURE FOR EACH ROOM. Was exactly what we were looking for..YOU WILL NEVER FIND A CLEANER OR MORE ATTRACTIVE THAN "HANSCOM S COTTAGES." ALSO ANIMAL FRIENDLY WISH WAS A BIG PLUS WITH US! Maybe we will see you t hewere,planning on staying 3-4 long week ends next summer.,We are retired and we were and are,so happy thet we found this WONDERFUL RELAXING AND QUAINT PLACE TO ENJOY OUR TRIPS. Mini gulf,great resturants,and Acadia mt. very close by,,not to metin Bar Harbor.Thank you Mark and Marydean!! See you soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had a great time in Bar Harbor/Acadia this past September and just wanted to let people know about the gem of a cottage we stayed at. My husband and I stayed in cottage 2 at Hanscom's Motel & Cottages and couldn't have been happier! We had everything we needed, at kitchen, internet, outdoor grills, and a WARM very well kept pool. We spent all most of our time hiking in Acadia, it's absolutely beautiful! We spent a bit of time in Bar Harbor but were relieved to get away from the crowds back at Hanscom's. They had a nice quiet beach you can walk to with great views and peaceful breezes! The owners live on the property which made it very handy. They even provided lobster steamers for us to cook with. Mr. Hanscome also lobsters so we had they pick of his catch for 2 of the 7 nights we stayed. There crew was very friendly and kept our cottage exceptionally clean every day. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We arrived at 6:00 pm on a Friday on a holiday weekend. We found a note on the office door directing us to our cottage, saying they would "settle up with us" later. We called to say we were leaving the next morning by 7:00 and wanted to pay the bill and get a receipt. Our call was not returned--that night or the next morning. We NEVER met or heard from the innkeeper. We actually stopped back twice before leaving the area; no one was ever in the office. I never got the wireless code, which was an amenity I was looking for.

The cottage outside was cute. Inside the carpet was filthy. The bed was old and lumpy with tired-looking rough sheets. The varnish on the furniture was bubbled. There was evidence of mildew on the bathroom floor (but cleaned up). The mold growing on the 1" of ice in the fridge was very fresh, however. One lamp wouldn't light.

Outside the grounds were very nice, with tables, pool, and grills. We had window boxes of flowers on either side of our door. This did not make up for the condition of the interior, however.

I have to add that the only reason we stayed here was that they are pet friendly. The charge was $8 extra. I noticed most of the other guests also had dogs. I think the inn keepers realize they have one of the only--if not the only--pet friendly motel in Bar Harbor, so they don't have to worry about impressing or satisfying their guests. The one plus, usually, of staying at a non-chain B&B or inn is the personal touch of the owners. That absence made our experience extra disappointing. We couldn't ask for directions or dinner recommendations (or the wi fi code), either.

And, to think, we paid the same price as we did at a Holiday Inn the night before!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Unless you get a "can't beat it" rate, you can probably pass this one by. It's located on the main road to Bar Harbor and Acadia NP, which is busy pretty much all day. If you get a cabin by the road you'll hear nonstop road noise, so be sure to ask for one well away from the road. We didn't, and had cabin 2. Aside from the bedspread quilt, the room was as plain as a pancake and small. The rear of the cabin had no siding on it and exposed insulation, which gave it a bit of a run down look. The advertised heated pool, well, wasn't heated, but after a long day of hiking was refreshing nevertheless. The "private beach", unless we got bad directions from the front desk, was virtually inaccessable; it's only accessed by a steep pathway from the road (forget it if you're at all mobility impaired), and by the looks of it from the road wasn't that appealing anyway. You really don't go to this area for the hotels; you go for the world class scenery, carriage trails and hiking. But, at a price that I didn't think was a steal, there are so many places to stay in this area, you could do better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanscom's Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Address: 273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hanscom`s Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom`s Motel And Cottages
Hanscoms Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanscom's Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.