We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Terrific BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mainely Meat Barbeque

Mainely Meat Barbeque
15 Knox Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
(207) 288-9200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Terrific BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Never expected to write a positive review for BBQ north of the Mason-Dixon Line but Mainely Meat made me rethink my BBQ bias! Worth the bit of a drive to get there if you are based in a Bar Harbor.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    82
    19
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Major Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Perhaps we are spoiled with our hometown BBQ joint, but we did not enjoy our meal. It was our most expensive on our week long trip, but the pulled pork had no flavor until you put sauce on it. My husband's serving had a huge hunk of fat in it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, ME
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm Meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a great place to have a messy, meaty, delicious dinner at a very reasonable price. These people know how to barbecue, and nothing disappoints. We went with a group of friends during Fourth of July week. Bar Harbor can be a crowded, overpriced, challenging destination during this busy week, but Mainely Meat is a refreshing escape. Just a few miles out of town, it was worth the trip to get good service, great food, and an excellent value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We ate supper here one night and had good food. We sat outside in the patio and enjoyed the evening. There menu is limited (especially side dishes--mainly baked beans, potato salad and cole slaw) but that's what you expect from a bbque place. We went back the next day in the afternoon for ice cream. They have a large selection of flavors and are very generous with the amounts.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“bbq, lobsta, breakfast -- yeah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stopped by after a different restaurant had a different price outside than inside. It was time for something non-seafood, anyway, we thought. And...
The pulled pork was surprisingly good -- as good as any we had traveling around the South. I mean it was GOOD, though you didn't have selections of Carolina or Texas sauce, just one tasty BBQ sauce and hot sauce. The steak was quite good too. With the meal comes an eggy potato salad, cole slaw, and beans -- or french fries for the lot -- as well as a slightly sweet cornbread. The waitress mentioned that their price on lobster was lower than competitors'; the named price was indeed lower than we had seen.
The room was casual and the tables pleasantly spaced. They could have crammed in more but thankfully had not. There was also an outdoor eating area.. Casual and comfortable.
We liked it so much that we came back for breakfast the next morning, skipping the free hotel breakfast. Again, we were very pleased. The blueberry pancakes were terrific (and big!); the conventional hot breakfast with thick bacon was excellent too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainely Meat Barbeque also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mainely Meat Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainely Meat Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.