We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geddy's

Geddy's
19 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
2072885077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We live in the area and eat lunch here regularly. This restaurant is one of a handful that stay open year-round. During the day, the atmosphere is fun and relaxed. We love their burgers, grilled chicken sandwiches and brick oven pizzas. The fried seafood and soups are also quite good. There are a lot of fun distractions for kids and adults alike. Crayons and crazy place mats are entertaining. There are several televisions and the walls and ceilings are covered with murals, license plates and vintage signage.
We have not been impressed with their more expensive dinners, (it is not that kind of restaurant), but for excellent and reasonably priced "pub-fare" with a family-friendly atmosphere, this place is great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    286
    133
    59
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“A past time favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is about the only place open in the winter, and if you feel like visit Bar Harbor when the snow is piled high, then this will be your only option. Despite that, I have always enjoyed the amazingly creative nicknacks on the walls and the relaxed atmosphere. The food is not particularly outstanding and does not stand out above any other average diner, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it especially with a warm cup of tea after freezing outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Open in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

There are very few places open for lunch during winter in Bar Harbor. Luckily, Geddy's filled the bill and hanging TV's everywhere made it easy to watch 2014 Olympic events as we waited. While the food was so-so (fried clams were recognized in a fisherman's platter by process of elimination...), the service and setting were cheerful and appreciated.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great people and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

geddy's is always our first stop as soon as we get into Bar Harbor. The staff is very friendly. the decor is fun, lots to look at. The number one reason we go here is the food. we have never had a bad meal. food is alway great. you can't go wrong eating here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We ate lunch at Geddy's in September hoping for some good New England lobster bisque. Theirs was anything but.....watery, no flavor. I think the lobster was still on the string they use to dip it in the pot and pull it back out! Tourist trap!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geddy's also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Geddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geddy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.