We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wet outside, dry inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Bakery

Morning Glory Bakery
39 Rodick St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1805
207-288-3041
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Maine
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“wet outside, dry inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

On a rainy, cold day, it was great to be inside. The service was quick for such a busy morning. The blueberry muffin and the almond scone were extremely dry with the muffin lacking in flavor. The chai tea and coffee were hot and tasty. The table was so wobbly we had to hold our hot drinks at all times!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mid morning stroll Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very cool little bakery with lots of homemade goodies to offer. We were strolling through the side streets of Bar Harbor and happened on this little bakery and very glad we did. Pastries were excellent and extremely fresh. Moderately large selection. Fresh coffee. Some seating inside as well as out on their patio. Cool local spot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovenluck
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not that great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband went early one morning and picked up breakfast for us to have in our hotel room. We had a bagel, blueberry bread, and a cinnamon roll, and none of the food was anything special. The bagel was small, the cinnamon roll dried out, and the blueberry bread was nothing special. Wouldn't go back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Artisanal Bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice artisanal bakery with wide range of top quality baked items, along with few sandwiches and salads. It has all the right vibe - from the first time you drive by this store front on a quiet side street to the atmosphere when you walk in. You can tell that the locals who are "in the know" flock here. We tried 5 different items during our stay in Bar Harbor and the blueberry cheesecake was the best - a knockout. There are other bake shops on the busier streets, but this ones the place to go.

Service is indifferent, but not uncommon for a place like Bar Harbor where most businesses are seasonal and the entire town revolves around tourists that flock here 6 months out of the year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best quick breakfast in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cheese pretzels w/ honey mustard! The most awesome bagels with spicy cilantro cream cheese... $1.00 coffees if you bring your own mug. And on Tuesdays chocolate chunk/cream cheese scones!

Great value, good service, and a favorite for locals.

PS-- the curry chicken salad sandwich was off the charts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Bakery also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Morning Glory Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.