We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Soup on a Cold Rainy Day in Bar Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Epi Sub & Pizza Shop

Epi Sub & Pizza Shop
8 Cottage Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207.801.2516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Trumansburg, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Soup on a Cold Rainy Day in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just wanted a quick slice of Pizza and my husband decided to try a cup of soup while we were at it. It was cold and raining and the soup was EXCELLENT. The Pizza was fine and it was all we needed to keep us going

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    22
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great pizza, prices, and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a great afternoon stop, especially if you have kids. The pizza is delicious, the staff friendly, and there is ample seating.
The only drinks served are bottled (they do recycle), so bring in your filled water bottle if you are a water drinker.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent Subs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Epi is an okay place to go for lunch if you want a fast and hearty sub, sandwich, grinder. They actually have a lot of options to choose from (almost too many at times). The ordering line can be frustrated especially when visitors from out of town are standing around gawking at the options and clogging the line. One the positive side, you can get a hefty sub for a good price in a clean, no nonsense atmosphere. Good for those with picky eaters in your family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great customer service has yielded dedicated and loyal customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not only has this pizza and sub store impressed us with the most amazing Rubin sandwich we have ever had, they impressed us with their friendly and helpful service and going above and beyond to make us happy. We come to Bar Harbor every year and this is one of the places we frequent in addition to fine dining. This place just has fantastic food and very friendly staff. T.J. has been one of the consistent employees we see when we go in here and he is always quick with a smile and is one of the hardest working and dedicated employees in a restaurant business that we have seen. you can tell he really loves what he does. We went here on our last night in Bar Harbor after talking about the amazing Rubin sandwiches they have and getting ourselves excited to have another last one before we left and we were impressed at how quickly they worked to get us our sandwiches and make them great. I know they were closing and probably trying to get to the big bruins game but with a smile they made our order and we were thrilled. Thank you EPI's!!! We will be singing your praises and looking forward to seeing you on our next trip here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas MA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Try The Fish Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Going to EPI & getting subs & taking them to Cadillac Mountain to eat & watch sunset has always been a tradition. But during a recent visit it was cold & rainy so we needed to warm up & tried their fish chowder. It was very tasty. The people who work there are very friendly, come by to the table to chat & ask where you are from etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epi Sub & Pizza Shop also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Epi Sub & Pizza Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epi Sub & Pizza Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.