We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian Friendly, Pet Friendly, and absolutely heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balance Rock Inn to your Saves list
Balance Rock Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Friendly, Pet Friendly, and absolutely heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed in 408 an Oceanside view room with a sauna, spa and fireplace, and it was wonderful. The view of the water from the pool and veranda was stunning. The chef is simply amazing. I have not had a better meal anywhere ever. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone but stay longer than we did. Two nights was not enough. We look forward to a return visit.
I will ad more images when I have time to resize them.

Room Tip: Room 408 was gorgeous. The main house is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    65
    25
    21
    4
See reviews for
28
205
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This was my second time at the Balance Rock Inn and my opinion of the place is a bit of a mixed bag. The location itself is about perfect, right in town on the water, close enough to walk to the shops and restaurants but seemingly miles away on a quiet dead end street. Where the Inn falls short is in upkeep of the place and customer service. First off, don't expect pristine rooms. You have to accept that there may be a bit of dust here and there, maybe some poorly done work in the bathrooms and maybe some furniture looking a bit rough around the edges. I found green mold on the railings of the balcony and green mold again on the cushions of the pool chairs. The pool water itself didn't look all that clean and had plenty of leaves and things in it. The bar area has been enlarged and revamped and looks pretty nice but the atmosphere in the place has changed, and not for the better. Where last year there was a laid back vibe and friendly bartenders telling us about the area, this year there is a much busier feel to the place and it lacks the charm it once had. This may be due to the fact they are serving food this year and appear to cater to the locals more and they seem to have forgot about us folks spending $500/night to stay here. I couldn't relax by the fire since it was already occupied by locals. The food served at the bar isnt too bad but nothing to write home about and we probably should have waited and had appetizers at the restaurant instead. Overall, a lot of potential but it really falls short in the value department.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We only stayed one night at the Balance Rock but would have loved to have stayed longer. We had no reservations and the only room they had left was one of the large suites and they were nice enough to give us a very good deal on it. Our suite had its own private deck that led out to the pool and the view was fantastic! We enjoyed cocktails on the patio and had a fabulous dinner nearby. The pool and the grounds are lovely and it seemed like a perfect place to stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carrollton, Ky
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to relax. Right on the water. Bar area is like a wonderful screened/glassed porch with wicker furniture. So inviting. Pretty flowers by the pool & wonderful seating on the patio, including a welcomed fire pit. Best crab cakes ever! Tasty & interesting blueberry martini. Splurge & stay here. So very glad we were served by bartender Harry. He's great.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My wife and I found the resort to be top notch. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the décor unique and pristine and the location unbeatable. Can't imagine I'd stay anywhere else next time

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Wife and I stayed here in late August right before Labor Day for five nights. Really enjoyed it. The location simply cannot be beat since you are about a three minute slow walk to the Bar Harbor downtown, the property backs up to the Bar Harbor Shore Path and it looks out into the beautiful water.

Couple of things we would like to know before we went...sometimes cruise ships anchor in the harbor and those will be in your view. Apparently the cruise industry is quite heavy for the Fall colors but we only had one day when a ship was anchored out there. That is not a knock on Balance Rock Inn at all since those ships will be visible no matter where you stay if you can see the water.

We stayed in the Carriage House in Room 114. Nice room. Plenty of space. They had a Select Comfort bed which sounds like a jet engine when you adjust it but I'm pretty sure that is what they sound like. Both my wife and had a little trouble adjusting to the bed but that it probably just us and perhaps other will find the beds perfectly comfortable.

The last thing is the pool does get a little "dirty" with leaves. I didn't have any problem with that and they do skim the leaves during the day but my wife would not go in unless it had been skimmed and that seemed to be the preference of the other women by the pool.

Bottom Line: When we go back to Bar Harbor, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed for early in the season and we had the best time. The room was just what we were looking for and had a great view of the ocean. It is tucked away, yet still just a short walk into the center of Bar Harbor. Great to see what the owners and staff are doing with the hotel. They couldn't have been more accommodating and pleasant making our long weekend truly spectacular. (Just a note that it is definitely a quiet spot for adults and wouldn't recommend bringing the kids along)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Address: 21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Balance Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balance Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.