We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balance Rock Inn to your Saves list
Balance Rock Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fall trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Balance Rock Inn is such a quaint hotel. The location is amazing and the hotel itself is so darling. The staff was more than helpful with any of our requests. We would definitely come back here and stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    65
    25
    21
    4
See reviews for
28
205
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alfter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice Hotel with Ocean view in the middle of Bar Harbor. The atmosphere is calm and lovely. The rooms are well equipped and the beds were comfotable. The only little minus is a musty smell in the bathroom

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were in Bar Harbor during the government shutdown and the Inn was not full. We were in a room on the 4th floor. The elevator goes only to the 3rd floor. There was a Jacuzzi and our view looking over the pool, slopping grounds and ocean was wonderful. We could see the rock from our balcony. This is a perfect location to walk the shore path into town. It was amazing seeing the cruise ships shuttling passengers back and forth to Bar Harbor and seeing the lobster boats going out. Greg, the bartender, was great to meet and he made a pot of decaf coffee for me each evening before going up to our room. Thank you, Greg. When we checked in Henry helped with our luggage, showed us to our room. He is from Haiti and what a kind soul he was. We enjoyed talking with him and we wish him safe travels back home. Breakfast was amazing. Each morning the menu was posted on the dining room door and it wasn't your continental breakfast. Eggs Caroline, fajitas, apple pancakes, fresh squeezed OJ - very upscale. Wine and cheese served from 5-7pm and homemade cookies come out early in the afternoon. Yum!

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to the 3rd floor so if your room is on the 4th, you'll have a flight of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We can't even begin to describe how amazing our honeymoon at the Balance Rock Inn in Bar Harbor was!! It was like a fairytale!
The room and view were unbelievable. The breakfasts were superb and the staff were some of the friendliest, hardest working folks we have met!
We will absolutely be returning for another visit!! We had a very hard time leaving to go home... Thank you for making our honeymoon unforgettable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The Balance Rock for several days. The inn was located in an ideal area, ocean front and a short walk down the shore path to the restaurants and shops of Bar Harbor. The staff was suburb. Greg the bartender gave us great advice on hikes and tips regarding Acadia in general. The room was very comfortable and the inn was a very good value. I would highly recommend the Balance Rock and plan to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 107 was just perfect for our 26th wedding anniversary---we had our own private garden with an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We're so happy we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for writing us a review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had not been to Bar Harbor in 28 years and it has changed dramatically. We found the Balance Rock on Tripadvisor and the establishment more than lived up to the high expectations. The structure is one of the old grand Maine "Cottages" with a lawn that slopes down to the ocean . The view are absolutely stunning. The rooms were meticulously clean and comfortable. The common area was spacious and elegant. Staff was extremely accommodating and Edwin and Greg stood out as particularly helpful and friendly. Bar Harbor has changed dramatically and has become very, very touristy with cruise ships dropping off thousands of day trippers at a time. A tidal wave of humanity rolling down Main Street. But it is all good- Acadia as gorgeous as ever and town is very cool- just prepare for crowds.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers about the Balance Rock Inn! Greg and Edwin are two fabulous employees and we're glad to hear they helped you have a wonderful experience. It is true town can get a little crazy with the cruise ships. Next time you visit we'll be happy to give you a schedule of ships that way we can help you plan your stay for a more quieter experience. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a great time at the Balance Rock Inn. Greg the bartender was especially helpful in giving us suggestions for trial hikes. Since the park was closed due to government budget issue, we had the park to ourselves, and it was "fantastic"! No crowds, all roads were car free, and Greg suggested routes to optimize our day.

The hotel is just a block off the main drag in Bar Harbor, right on the water. Our room had views of the water, and everything was "top shelf". The rooms are older but with all the modern conveniences, which is exactly what we were looking for. The fireplace in the room also took the chill off and added to the ambiance.

Great Hotel, would go back... perhaps for our 40th!

Room Tip: Water view rooms a must. Fireplace is also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and share with other travelers. It's unfortunate Acadia was closed when you visited but we're happy that you were able to take advantage of the less crowded park. We look forward to helping you celebrate another anniversary! Have a wonderful winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Address: 21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Balance Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balance Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.