We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Balance Rock Inn to your Saves list
Balance Rock Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Orange, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

You're paying for location and it's a good one. I wasn't happy with the non-refundable reservation rule, but we got there and stayed the one night. We might have stayed longer, but the bed was miserable--worst night of sleep on our whole trip. With such a high bed, a step stool would be nice. Forget the sleep number bed and the lumpy bedding. Breakfast was marginal but good service. Room 106 has no counter space in the bathroom, so we had to pile all our stuff on the dresser. As another reviewer mentioned, some throw rugs would have been nice. I didn't like stepping into our room with wet feet. How about covering the porch chairs so we could uncover them after the rain stopped and enjoyed the scenery on dry chairs? Andrew, the bartender was extremely helpful with information. Another recommendation--more electrical outlets or provide a power strip.

Room Tip: The view was good, but be sure to find out the size of the room. Room 106 is a tight fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We appreciate all input given by our guests, we think it’s very important we receive feedback to help make us that much better.

At the Balance Rock Inn we think that the details are the most important part of a stay. Our staff strives towards making sure all our guests are having a wonderful experience,

We only wish that guests would voice their concern during the time they are with us, this ensures that all concerns are addressed and we have a chance to correct any issue.

We hope that the recent rainy weather does not dissuade you from returning to Bar Harbor or the Balance Rock Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    65
    25
    21
    4
See reviews for
28
204
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautiful place, great staff very helpful, and a very nice location. We had a great view of the ocean, very large comfortable room. Relaxing outdoor deck looks over landscaped gardens and pool with gas fires for the cool evenings. We had a great time here. Only negative was that the bed was a bit lumpy, it was a sleep number mattress.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock. Ont. Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at Balance Rock Inn in May and from the moment we entered the Inn we were swept away by the breath taking views. Our room (305) was small but beautifully decorated and we enjoyed being able to sit on our private balcony and look out over the pool, manicured lawns and Frenchmen's Bay. After dinner drinks on the deck around the fire pit and breakfast on the verandah were a special treat. Staff were both attentive and helpful.
We are already planning our return next year.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are smaller but quieter with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is is a hidden gem. Great location and great views. Nice place to lounge around and take in the views. In the evening after a fun filled day, you can ordfer up a cocktail and sit around the fire pit and chill out. I would stay in the main building rather than the cottages. The breakfast is very good as well. We were never rushed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

You will have to look hard to find a more beautiful view. The Balance Rock Inn was built in 1903, and is full of character and history. The views are unsurpassed and I was quite content just to hang out on the porch or outdoor area and watch the water. The staff are very helpful, and my room on the 3rd floor had a balcony looking out on the water. In busy times of the year, your balcony may not be private however. This old lady is showing her age and could use some updating and repairs. There was chipping paint in the lobby, and the decor in general is very dated. It is very close to town and a beautiful walk to look through the local shops. Breakfast can be eaten outdoors, the enclosed sun porch, or the dining room. There is even rooftop viewing for the best views. Evening happy hour is offered with nuts, cheese, crackers (complimentary) and wine/liquor available for purchase.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it's always appreciated! We agree our view is hard to beat! The Inn is certainly an old lady, she was built in 1903 and we do our best to keep up with the repairs and maintenance of our plaster walls. We encourage all guests to share with us anything we can approve upon. We hope we are able to exceed your expectations your next visit. Again, thank you for your input and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I were dissatisfied with the small hotel we had chosen in Bar Harbor - a once beautiful place we had been to, years ago. Scouting around we found the Balance Rock Inn and enquired about a room. The very friendly staff offered us the "last" room they had - high season being what it is on the coast... Wow! Canopy bed, wonderful comfort, warm design and decor. A lover's delight. Good food, great view from the breakfast room to the nearby seaside. Like another review wrote, Balance Rock Inn is like a distinguished and inspiring older lady. Expensive, but worth every dollar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed a few nights in July 2012 and August 2011, both stays were perfect with no complaints. The staff is always very helpful, the inn is quite and a five minute walk to the main bar harbor area & serves a very nice breakfast in the morning. Located in the back of the inn is the bar/lounge area and pool with nice views of the ocean were you can walk down to walk along the shore path.

Room Tip: they have the majority of their rooms displayed on their website in detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Address: 21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Balance Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balance Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.