We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balance Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Balance Rock Inn
Save Saved
You added Balance Rock Inn to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Like a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I were dissatisfied with the small hotel we had chosen in Bar Harbor - a once beautiful place we had been to, years ago. Scouting around we found the Balance Rock Inn and enquired about a room. The very friendly staff offered us the "last" room they had - high season being what it is on the coast... Wow! Canopy bed, wonderful comfort, warm design and decor. A lover's delight. Good food, great view from the breakfast room to the nearby seaside. Like another review wrote, Balance Rock Inn is like a distinguished and inspiring older lady. Expensive, but worth every dollar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    58
    23
    17
    4
See reviews for
26
178
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed a few nights in July 2012 and August 2011, both stays were perfect with no complaints. The staff is always very helpful, the inn is quite and a five minute walk to the main bar harbor area & serves a very nice breakfast in the morning. Located in the back of the inn is the bar/lounge area and pool with nice views of the ocean were you can walk down to walk along the shore path.

Room Tip: they have the majority of their rooms displayed on their website in detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmith, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We could not have dreamed of a better place to stay. Balance Rock Inn is located in the most beautiful setting on the bay. The inn is clean and comfortable and the mattress was like sleeping on a cloud. The breakfast was amazing - sitting at a table overlooking the pool and watching the boats leave the harbor. The location is close to town and the shops and restaurants and a short drive to Acadia National Park. We will definately return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at The Balanced Rock Inn recently and were pretty pleased with our choice. The Inn is a gracious old lady in a wonderful location, situated on the shoreline with a wonderful view of the Porcupine Island and Frenchman's Bay, and just far enough away (an easy walk) from the touristy shops on Main Street.
We had room 209 which turned out to be an enormous suite, complete with a full kitchen and living room. It was rather strangely laid out but enjoyed a lovely water view from the living room.
We spent our four days exploring Desert Island and wandering through the lovely Acadia National Park- a true natural wonder.
All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and keen to show their knowledge of local events and restaurants to help us get the most from our stay.The jacuzzi in the bathroom was a plus after several long hikes, overall it was a very pleasant stay.
The only downside? Well, old buildings have wooden floors which can make evenings a little noisy if the upstairs neighbors are active; and although breakfast was included $375 a night was a little pricey.

Room Tip: Top floor would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just returned from a two nights stay(10/20-10/21)at the Balance Rock Inn. Our room had all the amenities;fireplace,two person jetted tub, sitting room, flat screens. Overall, the inn is very charming. Service is very good. The main areas are cozy. The place is a little dated and in need of some minor cosmetic touches but what you are paying for is the location and striking views. Outside of our widows we saw the outer islands and the occasional cruise ship. There is a walk down by the water that allows you to see much of the area. And you are in the heart of Bar Harbor, a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants. Buffet breakfast was good, nothing extraordinary. And the afternoon cocktail time was a little weak, only cheese, crackers and nuts. On the whole though, a great place to stay, but a little pricey.

Room Tip: Roo 205 has a great view from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

For the past few years in June we have stayed at the Balance Rock. What we chiefly love about the place is that it has great, historic character and a great location on the shore path with spectacular views of Frenchman's Bay. The inn is within easy walking distance of the town, yet, it is quiet and secluded with well-maintained grounds that includes a large outdoor pool. The two-year old fire pit is a welcome addition that encourages interaction between guests. For those traveling with pets (We travel with our Cocker Spaniel), the inn is exceptionally pet friendly, and, although the pet fee is steep - $40.00/day - when we have been there, we have always encountered other well-behaved dogs. The staff is friendly and accommodating without being intrusive.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, spring for the Acadia Suite. It's a duplex, and, although the bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My GF and I stayed at Balance Rock for 4 days in September. And we didn't want to leave! We stayed in Room 304. This is a fairly small room, but talk about a perk....we had our own private deck/widow's walk atop the inn. It was accessed by climbing a ladder and lifting a hatch...so cool!! The time we spent in our room was mostly up top enjoying an unspoiled view of Frenchman's Bay. Our experience was fantastic. We were especially impressed with an employee named Aaron. A very nice young man. One thing I feel like I must address, and the reason why this was a 4 star review instead of 5, is a door in the hallway across from our room which had a sign on it stating "Do not open, Bees inside." I understand this is an old building and problems like this can occur, but the sign had been on the door for a while judging from the wear of the paper, and I would think a good exterminator could have taken care of the bees. Overall, the inn is in great shape, being built in 1903, We didn't have swarms of bees attacking us, and in no way did this adversely effect our stay here, but feel I should share this information.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Address: 21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balance Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;