We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mira Monte Inn to your Saves list
Mira Monte Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
South Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just returned from a quick trip to Bar Harbor. We were at Mira Monte for three nights and felt it was a wonderful deal. You get a fabulous breakfast with a lot of variety. I can't believe anyone would complain about it! There are two types of muffins, a coffeecake, two types of breakfast casseroles, eggs, waffles, assorted juices and fruit, and the most heavenly creme brulee french toast. There are wine and cheese and crackers for two hours every night and fresh cookies throughout the day.
The inn is very close to Bar Harbor's village green and is super convenient for using the Acadia bus system.
We had a suite. It was not fancy, but it was spacious and had air conditioning and a small kitchen.
I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    95
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
78
290
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had such a great experience at the Mira Monte Inn this past weekend. We stayed in the Grand Central room which had a Queen bed and a single bed. Beautifully decorated in the Victorian style. The inn offers wine and cheese from 5 - 7 and the owner, Marian, is there and will talk to you about the island, the inn, or anything else you'd like to chat about. She is terrific.
The breakfast is something to behold. If you are on a strict diet though, skip it, you'll gain wait just smelling it (heavenly). It is unbelievably decadent, with homemade muffins, breads, quiches, belgian waffles, and so much more. The day we left, they made french toast like I've never had before. Everyone there treated you like you were family. If you have kids, they are very welcome here, unlike many places that don't allow them or tollerate them. Also, be sure to check out the gardens out back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have gone to Bar Harbor many times. And each time we return, Mira Monte is always our choice. The breakfast is varied, plentiful and delicious. The rooms are more spacious than most B&Bs with great decor and common sense to what is needed by the guests. You are only a couple blocks from the village green & shops. But the real treasure is the staff. Their knowledge and availability is just what is needed when there is so much to do in the area and so little time.
Marian can even direct you to just the right boat to the Cranberry islands so you have the best guide. The grounds are open with a flower garden. It really adds quiet to the visit.
We stayed many places before we discovered Mira Monte but none can compare.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first stay at Mira Monte although we have been to Bar Harbor pretty much yearly for 20 years. Very nice gardens, parking, and the public rooms are very accomodating and cozy and all get an A. Our individual room gets a B. could have been larger. In four days we did get a little tired of the breakfast choices. Marian is very accomodating and friendly, and really cares about the Inn and her guests. My only real complaint is that her restaurant recomendations are based more on giving business to her friends in the area, than the quality of the restaurant. Be carefull of her recomendations.

Room Tip: Photos do not help differentiate between the various rooms. Need to talk to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you would like to meet a gal with endless information and an absolute zeal for sharing it, you need to stay at the Mira Monte Inn at Bar Harbor, Maine. Marion is the owner/proprietress of the inn where I stayed for 7 nights, July 14 thru 21, 2012. I was meeting up with an organized cycling tour and this is the B & B they put us in. Perfect! The inn is an old Victorian appointed to the nines with period pieces, but accented with modern upgrades that we sort of expect these days. I had a fireplace in my room, a great shower, air conditioning and a very comfy bed. The gardens were absolutely busting with blooms! Breakfast was served from 8 to 10 daily and it was lovely...organic oatmeal with cranberries, homemade muffins, fresh wild blueberry bread puddding, steamed eggs and always 2 choices of egg casserole (and lots more...different every day) ...served in the sweetest manner with antique china. If felt as if you were at your grandmother's for breakfast....and there were guests from all over the place....I loved it! Then, from 5 to 7, Marion joined us (any guest who chose to partake) in the parlor for wine, cheese and conversation! This was when we got the good information....where to have the best lobster dinner, how to take advantage of the free L.L. Bean bus system, the best restaurants, etc. I totally enjoyed my stay at the Mira Monte.....I even got a hug when I left....I loved that, too.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Newport room complete with private balcony, fireplace, great shower and antique furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for two nights in July. This is a fairly expensive place to stay and with all the reviews we thought it was going to be fantastic. It is a pretty, old home, but the bed was hard and the pillows uncomfortable. Our room was pretty stuffy and didn't smell all that great either. The breakfast is a buffet, but not a typical one. Think more like a few types of muffins, some oatmeal, a quiche, maybe a breadpudding/coffee cake and some fruit. Nothing wrong with that, but not what we were expecting and I guess I really like breakfast meat and was sad not to have some bacon! There were fresh baked cookies in the afternoon which were great. I think our expectations were just off as the previous reviewer mentioned. It was not a bad walk into the main area of Bar Harbor though which was convenient, certainly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The inn is very attractive from the outside and has gorgeous gardens. Walking to downtown Bar Harbor is easy and quick. Inside is full of character, with interesting rooms here and there. The staff was friendly. On the other hand, the price we paid was on the medium-high end for B&Bs in Bar Harbor during our time frame, so we expected something a bit different from what it ended up being. It's not a luxurious bed and breakfast but is rather akin to an old beach hotel with lots of character and quirks. Had we had the correct expectations to begin with, we wouldn't have felt disappointed; yet had we known what to expect, we would have stayed somewhere cheaper.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Address: 69 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mira Monte Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.