We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Udder Heaven Ice Cream Retreat

Udder Heaven Ice Cream Retreat
369 Rr 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 120 restaurants in Bar Harbor
Restaurant details
Ossining, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent ice cream and unique combinations and flavors. Home-made. Owner is very friendly and knowledgeable about the town. Extremely popular: always a line, but worth the short wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    35
    21
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrific ice cream!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I make it a point to stop here anytime I'm up around Bar Harbor. Pirate's Cove Mini Golf is right across the road, and so my boys and I have been making it a tradition to head to Udder Heaven after playing a round of mini-golf for REALLY good ice cream. (While another reviewer mentions them serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, please be advised they do NOT. The reviewer was confusing this place with Mainely Meat BBQ which is in the same building, but a separate business.) First, the customer is presented with a mind-boggling selection of ice cream flavors and creations/concoctions. It almost creates information overload for the undecided. While talking to one of the staff, she advised they come up with new combinations/flavors all the time - and that frequently customer suggestions help them to decide what to attempt. All I can say is WOW. Their ice cream is delicious!!!!! My kids and I usually keep it simple and opt for a cone or dish of ice cream so we can savor whatever unique flavors we have decided to try. I hope these folks stay in business for as long as I can keep getting up in the area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast is filling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The High Seas Motel front desk suggested this place. Its located next door (north) to the motel. Besides ice cream, this place also serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. It's rustic and small but the waitstaff is friendly and meals are served quickly. Good sized portions of veggie omelet, toast, coffee. Unfortunately, I didn't get to taste their ice cream.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“awesome home made ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I hardly ever eat ice cream but figured since I was in vacation I'd splurge and it was worth it. quality delicious home made ice cream. I'd recommend. had coffee heath bar low-fat and it tasted much better than any store brand ice cream. worth a visit. owner was friendly as well

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ice cream really good, frappes like water, service terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Went twice during our stay in Bar Harbor. First time for ice cream which was really good, service OK. Second time for frappes which were like water and the service was awful. I think they might have been training someone but at least the experienced people should help out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udder Heaven Ice Cream Retreat also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Udder Heaven Ice Cream Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Udder Heaven Ice Cream Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.