We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HIGHLIGHT OF ACADIA NATIONAL PARK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Trail

Ocean Trail
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking trail along Frenchman Bay.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A HIGHLIGHT OF ACADIA NATIONAL PARK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Ocean Trail on any day is a real treat. It is a long walking trail along the ocean so it is good for exercise and sightseeing at the same time. No hill. Totally flat. There are well marked places of interest at which to stop. We spent almost two hours and the trail would have taken us further. Lovely . Try to get there early as the parking fills up fast.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    58
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We did this walk as part of our tour through Acadia National Park. The whole area has the most beautiful scenery and the trail allowed us to see it up front. There is a well devised and maintained path which follows the coastline, we were lucky to have perfect weather, so it was all most enjoyable. Do not leave this area without visiting the park and walking the trail - highlight of our trip!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Find it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our hotel consierge directed us to find the little path connected to the Ocean Trail and we were so glad he did. A morning walk watching the sun come up was what makes us want to go back to Bar Harbor...and the shops...and the restaurants...and the Bar Harbor Grand...Awesome place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

"Big bang" theory? I don't think so. As I heard another visitor say to her hubby, "This place is insanely beautiful." Perfectly described.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Challenging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Always like a challenge so hiking on cliffs always fun and exciting. Not many people hike the coast line just beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Trail also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Ocean Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.