We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Trail

Ocean Trail
Bar Harbor, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 54 things to do in Bar Harbor
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking trail along Frenchman Bay.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We did this walk as part of our tour through Acadia National Park. The whole area has the most beautiful scenery and the trail allowed us to see it up front. There is a well devised and maintained path which follows the coastline, we were lucky to have perfect weather, so it was all most enjoyable. Do not leave this area without visiting the park and walking the trail - highlight of our trip!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    43
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Find it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our hotel consierge directed us to find the little path connected to the Ocean Trail and we were so glad he did. A morning walk watching the sun come up was what makes us want to go back to Bar Harbor...and the shops...and the restaurants...and the Bar Harbor Grand...Awesome place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

"Big bang" theory? I don't think so. As I heard another visitor say to her hubby, "This place is insanely beautiful." Perfectly described.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Challenging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Always like a challenge so hiking on cliffs always fun and exciting. Not many people hike the coast line just beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you do nothing else in Acadia, walk this trail. The views are Amazing! We took the trail to sand beach, which was beautiful, and then took the path from the other side of the beach. We walked along the path to Thunder Hole and back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Trail also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Ocean Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.