We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk with amazing views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Trail

Ocean Trail
Bar Harbor, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Bar Harbor
Type: Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking trail along Frenchman Bay.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great walk with amazing views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great walk with amazing views. Try to time to right to see Thunder Hole. Bring a picnic for the rocks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    43
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Flat trail from Sand Beach to Thunder Hole to Otter Cliffs. Beautiful views. Loved it so much, I returned with a book to sit on the rocks overlooking the ocean. One of my favorite places in Acadia.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The entire park was fantastic! We hiked four different trails on beautiful days and rainy days. I love that the Park doesn't have any commercialism. It is the best! You can bring in your own picnic and sit by the ocean. There wasn't on piece of litter in the park. We will return with our kids and grand kids!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice scenery! There is a good sandy beach to hang out at. Most of the scenery is the same, rocks, cliffs and water, but very nice. Next time we will bring chairs and a cooler to sit and enjoy longer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Acadia Park must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fantastic views from a walking path that runs along the cliffs and rocks. Lots of nice places to sit on the rocks and watch lobster boats and sailboats go by on a sunny day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Trail also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Ocean Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.