We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pretty walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Trail

Ocean Trail
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking trail along Frenchman Bay.
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very pretty walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a quick hike. We enjoyed seeing the houses that front the water from the front. The trail affords the homeowners a modicum of privacy while also allowing tourists to get close to the beautiful coast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    58
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You must take this walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We will take this hike over and over. It is beautiful. It is especially enjoyable in the late fall when you are likely to enjoy the views with only a few other hearty souls. Dogs can go on Sand Beach at this time of year also

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Vistas to heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We came down from the Beehive just after sunset and walked along here back to our car - glorious views in the crepuscule of the classic Maine scenery of granite cliffs, fir trees and a beautiful pink sky and sea fading slowly into the darkness. And we didn't see anyone else; we had all this beautiful location to ourselves. Priceless.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice Breezy Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hiked this trail first thing on a Saturday morning. It was quite cool and breezy and I'm glad I had a pair of lightweight gloves with me. The trail follows the road for the most part but offers numerous places to view the ocean. The trail encompasses Thunder Hole, which is cool. Just prior to Otter point, I took the trail to Gorham Mountain and continued on t the Bowl and the Beehive and eventually returned to the car at Sand Beach. A nice several hour walk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this trail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I walk this pathway trail every morning that we spend in Bar Harbor. It is especially beautiful early in the morning. The expansive views of the ocean and rocky coastline make this a must.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Trail also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Ocean Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.