We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous! Take your camera!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Desert Island

Mount Desert Island
Clark Point Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-5005
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Bar Harbor
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Biking, Swimming, Sailing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to Acadia National Park, this island off the coast of Maine with its beaches, sweeping cliffs and mountains offers visitors numerous recreational activities, from hiking, biking and following nature trails to swimming, sailing and kayaking.
Upstate SC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! Take your camera!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Pristine and beautiful-many trails to choose from (even for those not in the best of shape) Pack a lobster po'boy and take a picnic. Drive to Cadillac Mountain (highest point) to see particularly pretty vistas. We also enjoyed Thunder Hole and the Otter Cliffs (beside each other). Easy drive to get out and see wildlife. I would also recommend dipping a toe in the water at Sand Beach (but that is about it 'cause that is some cold H20!) This is one of our favorite places that we have visited.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    83
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bar Harbor experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you ever get the chance you should visit Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The park is a mix of Maine with rocks, trees and the rugged shoreline. Plenty of places to relax or have some privacy and enjoy the views.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Acadia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This park is awesome. There are millions of places to hike, have picnics and to play at the beach. My favorite hike was Ship Harbor Trail; my favorite place in the park was bubble rock; my favorite beach was Sand Beach (also the only beach but still a great place!) What I like about this park is it has rocky and sandy beaches and forests all in the same place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bike riding is perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

the Carriage Roads go on forever! Map your trip as some paths are extreme! Well marked and very picturesque. take water and mosquito repellant if you plan to off road. We were there for blueberry season!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Acadia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park is one of my most favorite places on this earth. I've been going there for 9 years, usually with my sister. She lives in CO and I live in PA and we go on a week's vacation together each year and it is always Mt. Desert Island, Maine. We have biked all of the carriage trails within Acadia National Park and we are currently 40 miles from completing all of the hiking trails within the park. We hope to meet that goal when we are there for a week in September. Once we are done there's a good chance we will need to find another place in Maine to explore.

We stay at a place in Salisbury Cove and generally eat all of our own prepared meals there however we do have a tradition of eating at Geddy's on our first night in town. Fun place! Then we explore Bar Harbor and after all these years always manage to find something new!

I highly recommend getting up early and driving to the top of Cadillac Mountain to watch the sunrise. We did this a few years ago when her husband and my boyfriend came along on the trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Desert Island also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mount Desert Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Desert Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.