We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to do and see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Desert Island

Mount Desert Island
Clark Point Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-5005
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Bar Harbor
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Biking, Swimming, Sailing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to Acadia National Park, this island off the coast of Maine with its beaches, sweeping cliffs and mountains offers visitors numerous recreational activities, from hiking, biking and following nature trails to swimming, sailing and kayaking.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So much to do and see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We hadn't appreciated how much there is to the island and thought we would want to go back onto the mainland for a day trip away. However, we filled our days very easily driving around to all the fishing villages and up Cadillac Mountain. We must return at least for one more vacation to experience all that we missed! We also need to consider cycling and walking some of it so we see more of the island's beauty and interesting features.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    83
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Me.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the great places to visit in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Acadia Nat'l Park is on the island. The Acadia Nat'l Park is beautiful and a great place to see the maine coast. There are hiking trails, scenic nature & whale cruises, tolley & buses thru the park, scenic plane rides, canoe, kayak & bike rentals, camping, a oceanarium, great gift shops & good maine lobster to eat. Come visit the best of Maine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“See it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

From small villages to seaports to tourist attractions, the beauty is in the nooks and crannies of the island's many harbors, bays, inlets, and sounds. Inland forests and scenic foot paths to the unspoiled rocky Maine coast.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent two half days here. The first was pouring rain all day and the second was beautiful and sunny. We drove the loop road and stopped ALOT to take photos an walk the paths.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try a carriage trail ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The walking paths are faily level and dog friendly. Keep your dog on a leash in the park and carry bags. We took 2 carriage trail rides, one to the top of the mountain and one over the bridges. Lots of fun and our dachshund was invited on the bridge ride. He was well behaved and enjoyed it but was alittle intimidated by the size of the horses.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Desert Island also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mount Desert Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Desert Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.