We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and educational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquaterra Adventures

Aquaterra Adventures
One West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
877-386-4124
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Other in Bar Harbor
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful and educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our guide was a teacher and she was great (learned a lot about glaciers,etc>) ,interesting sites decent workout for my daily Maine icecream dose. Staff was excellent and friendly in the store.went for only 2 hours-would recommend a longer trip!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    14
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We signed up for this tour based on a recommendation we got last year from Acadia Park Kayak Tours.
Apparently Acadia Park Kayak Tours had a very late opening this year and we were unable to get on a tour with them.

Our experience in the office started a little rough. The person at the desk seemed rushed and gave the impression that our questions might not be entirely welcome.

Their shop is in a very convenient location right next to the town docks.

They gave us watershoes to wear that we felt were a little uncomfortable. We would have rather worn our own watershoes but weren't allowed.

The tour itself was great. Our guide was friendly and informative. I am sorry that I can't remember the guide's name.
The tour moved at an easy pace and we felt safe the entire time.
I would highly recommend a tour with Aquaterra.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Easy and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We realized there were other tour companies that did kayak tours. But we saw that Aquaterra was right on the marina in Bar Harbor. That means no van to ride before and after the tour which sounded good to us for a warmer than normal day. The tour was out in the bay around a couple of the islands. It was very enjoyable and just enough time kayaking for a leisurely tour. Highly recommend for those wanting a convenient leisurely kayak tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our Plan B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We has wanted to Whale Watch on our last day in Bar Harbor, but it was cancelled. So we walked across the hall and decided to book a sunset kayak ride. We were the only people booked so we had all our guide's attention (Pete). We have some kayak experience do it was very relaxing. He shared lots if great local info, it was like having a conversation with a great bar tender. We did 2 hours. Would have liked longer, but it did get chilly towards the end.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Intro tour to kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked with Aquaterra for the 2 hour Harbor tour. Had 7 people in our group - myself, wife, three kids (16,13, & 9) and two adult cousins. Only one of us had any experience kayaking before. Travis was our guide and he did an awesome job the entire time. He outfitted us inside before the tour started and then reviewed all the safety on the dock before we left. We had three tandem kayaks and one solo. Went out to Bar Island and then around one of the Porcupine Islands, Didn't see any wildlife except for some birds - no seals or eagles, but it was the middle of the afternoon - I think the morning might be better. We all stayed together and rested when we needed it. Never a problem with any boats in the harbor or the pacing. Travis consistently checked up on everyone and at the same time gave us the room to explore as well. Being the first time out there in a kayak the 2 hours was definitely enough time. Overall it was a great trip and I would book with Aquaterra again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquaterra Adventures also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Aquaterra Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquaterra Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.