We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars, but don't get me wrong, it's worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tumon Bay Capital Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tumon Bay Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tumon Bay Capital Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1448 Pale San Vitores St, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 hotels in Tumon
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“3 stars, but don't get me wrong, it's worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The reason I can't vote it with more stars is, well, I value those stars and I tend to use 4 and 5 stars on great stays.

But that doesn't mean Tuman Bay Capital Hotel is mediocre. You get what you paid for here. The room is large, clean and good air-conditioning. Water, fridge and and everything works very well.

The furniture maybe old, but it's not a problem for short stays. TV is kind of outdated. The sliding door on the balcony may not slide very well, but when you get used to it, you know how not to break it.

The view from the balcony is, well, sub-par because other hotels have better positions. But, hey, it's not as bad as you think. You can still see the ocean and the sky while lying on your bed!

Parking is easy.

Room Tip: To get a better view, choose the top floor. It's already on a hill but you will be higher than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    53
    25
    13
See reviews for
36
17
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in Guam for 2nights at the Tumon Bay Capital Hotel. The hotel was really good for the price. It's located in the central of shopping heaven. The staff was really good and the view was amazing. You are surrounded by all sorts of entertainment. When I visit Guam again I would most definitely choose the hotel once more.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at the Capital for 3 nights with a late check out on the last day. As the hotel was not full, they allowed me a 6pm check out for an additional $20 - which was good value. The hotel does not offer airport pick-up and drop off but has an arrangement with a private taxi that offers this service for $15 each way (which is much cheaper than flagging down a regular taxi). Call or email them before you arrive to make this arrangement

Overall, it was good to find a budget hotel with huge, clean rooms right in the heart of Tumon. The hotel is located right at the top of a hill past the Plaza Hotel and Tarza Water Park so it's a little bit of a climb from main street. By being away from main street, it's quiet with great views of Tumon Bay. There's free wifi available in the lobby (though not in the rooms as advertised) but it was a little slow in the day. Speed picked up in the evenings after 8pm.

For those looking for luxury, this is not the place to stay in - it's a little old and tired with no restaurant attached. However, for those that are only looking for a place to sleep in in the evenings, this is perfect as it's clean, quiet and centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

it's the perfect compromise beetween quality and convenience.the position is perfect, The rooms are clean and very big. there is a little swimmig pool and the personal is ok. the beach is near and you can go by foot. Good for the nighlife.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

The Capital Bay is one of our families favorite get aways. It is right nest to Tarza Water Park and near TGIFriday's, Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock Cafe, Pearl Cafe, Galleria, etc. The rooms are larger than most other hotels in Tumon and have connecting doors for families. It is very good on New Year's Eve since all of the rooms face the ocean and the fireworks. We usually stay here every year!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

We just came back from 2.5-day Guam stay, quite content with the blue sky, limegreen beach with tons of fish, and useful advice from the staff at this hotel.

The hotel is located up on the hill so you'd have to walk up about 5 min from the main street, which was a good exercise for us, but compared with other hotels facing the Tumon Bay, the hotel was so quiet and tranquil with a very good view just as other reviewers mentioned, we had a very good sleep in a spacious room. The room was kept clean and we even walked on barefoot in the room just like we Japanese do at home.

We took a beach tour to the north area. They have a phone at the front desk, available for guests at the hotel and we used it to reconfirm the tour for free. I mean we didn't have to pay any extra charge by using the room phone.

We didn't have to use any troley bus, but the bus service looked quite convenient in the Tumon area and others to take you almost everywhere popular to sightsee or for shopping(We were not at all interested in shopping) for a small fee.

The Thai restaurant the lady at the hotel desk recommended to us was fabulous; food was great and plenty, not so expensive, for us dinner cost $40 per person including beer, wine and service fee.

Overall I like this hotel and will choose it again for a relaxing stay at Guam.

  • Liked — Good view, cleanliness, spae
  • Disliked — no internet service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ridgeville, OH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

I stayed at this hotel in February 2007 for a few nights and I got to say this was a great hotel for the $66/night. You have towalk about 5-10 min across the street to the beach but you can not beat this value. The room was very clean, spacious, with a nice balconie overlooking the bay of Tumon. It is very worth the money you pay for it. It is near the shopping/attaction areas. The only thing I did not like was the I had to pay for my ride to the airport on my own.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tumon Bay Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumon Bay Capital Hotel

Address: 1448 Pale San Vitores St, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 hotels in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tumon Bay Capital Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tumon Bay Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tumon Bay Capital Hotel Guam, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tumon Bay Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.