We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for special occassions.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort Guam

Save Saved
You added The Westin Resort Guam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Resort Guam
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Gun Beach Road, Tumon, Guam 96911, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended for special occassions.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We ended up having an incident involving Prego during our stay that was insulting. They wanted us to sign a waiver in order to take our left overs to go. They made it sound like if we did not sign this waiver, we couldn't take the food we had already paid for. They brought two managers to our table to explain this was standard practice. Then we mentioned that we were guests at the hotel (something they should have known already as we gave our room number with the reservation) and then suddenly it wasn't a problem. My husband was livid so he called the front desk to complain to a operations manager once we got back to our room. All we got for the trouble was a sorry. Sorry won't make up for the romantic getaway they ruined. Needless to say, my husband and I won't be returning to the Westin. We are encouraging our friends and family to do the same!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guamwestin, Team Leader at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Chamkin03,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Prego restaurant. It is truly unfortunate, and we are sincerely regretful that your special occasion was ruined by this incident; it certainly was not our intention to make you feel uncomfortable or disrespected. Our Prego team is passionate about making every guest feel welcome and for them to enjoy their dining experience; regrettably on this occasion we failed to make a positive impression. It is our desire to work towards excellence and to deliver personal and instinctive service, your feedback will help our team reflect and strive for continual improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    273
    92
    33
    23
See reviews for
263
157
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Westin for five nights during our 10-day visit to Guam. The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice, unfortunately there is only partly seaview from the rooms and there is no table and there are no chairs on the balconies, so you can't really use the balcony. The beach is nice, it's also possible to go for a swim despite the reef. The beach chairs are locked together, so it's not possible to stay beneath the parasol all day. The fridge in our room didn't work and wasn't repaired or replaced even though we complained about it twice. Breakfast and lunch buffet was very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocos Island, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Last week we had the pleasure of going to the Sunday brunch at the Westin Hotel, Tamuning, Guam.

At $35 per adult and $17.50 per child it was pricey but the availability of crab legs, fresh sashimi, sushi, shrimp and roasted suckling pig made it worth it.

Champagne was free flowing and lemon tea was free.

The children enjoyed the music, food and of course the chocolate fountain.

Highly recomended, but get there early. The rope opens at 11am, and you will need a reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a wonderful trip to the Westin resort with my partner and overall I couldn't fault the hotel..... Our room was very comfortable and well maintained by the housekeepers despite the fact it looked like a bomb had hit it after all our shopping.
The food was excellent...especially breakfast in the Taste restaurant...a feast that set you up for the rest of the day. We also had a very pleasant Italian evening in Prego on the 2nd floor I believe.
I love to go to the beach and the hotel was right on a beautiful powder white sandy beach which gently sloped into the turquoise sea...idyllic!
The ONLY complaint I have is that there were only a handful of sun umbrellas on the beach and most of the sun loungers were exposed to the the fierce heat of the sun...please can we have more parasols??
Overall we had a wonderful stay and if you enjoy shopping you will be in heaven....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guamwestin, Team Leader at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear nightsister45,

Hafa adai! Thank you for your recent stay with the Westin Resort Guam, and taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted to hear that you and your partner had a wonderful stay experience with us. Particularly, we are delighted that you found your Room to be comfortable and well maintained, Breakfast at Taste Restaurant and dinner at Prego Italian Restaurant to be memorable.

Thank you for sharing your experience of having enjoyed our beautiful beach, as well. We have taken a note of your valued feedback about the beach parasol and this was shared with the respective department for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Resort Guam for your next Guam vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Due to a reroute - we happened to find ourselves at the Westin Guam. It was an excellent resort. The front desk, especially Edward provided a level of service which was above and beyond! The hotel itself is well located as it has the best piece of beach in Guam (hotel wise). The best option for breakfast was the buffet - more bang for your buck! Free wi-fi was found in the lobby only and the room products (shampoo, conditioner, etc...) are excellent! Across the street and a short walk away is an ABC store, as well as may dining options. We overlooked the ocean - which was a major bonus. The housekeeping staff was excellent too!

Room Tip: High floors with an ocean view - you won't be disappointed! The rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guamwestin, Team Leader at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear unitednationsofwine,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Resort Guam during your recent visit to Guam, and for taking your time to share your thoughts and experience.

We are very much delighted to hear that our front desk staff, particularly Edward was able to assist you beyond your expectation. We also appreciate your compliment toward our breakfast, housekeeping staff and our amenities.
Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will honor us with a second visit on your next Guam visit that we may continue to provide the highest level of hospitality to make you feel special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We stayed on the club floor. Room was very nice and looked out onto the ocean. Fantastic view to wake up to every morning. Club floor host was very nice, although they were very busy during breakfast period and had trouble keeping all the items stocked.
We enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again. However, we noted in our reservation, and in emails to the concierge desk before we arrived that we were there on our honeymoon. It was very disappointing that not one person we came in contact with acknowledged this special occasion for us. I expect more from a hotel chain of this level.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guamwestin, Team Leader at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Viking10,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with the Westin Resort Guam. We are honored that you chose to stay with us on this very special occasion.

Please accept our sincere apology that we did not make your wife and you feel that extra special on this very important occasion. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Royal Beach Club and your overall stay to be a good experience.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity that we may exceed your expectation in the Westin Resort Guam’s commitment to deliver the best guest experience possible.

We look forward to welcoming you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went to Guam with boyfriend to see a friend who lives there and thought it might be nice to spend a couple of nights at one of the resorts. Went for the Westin at friend's recommendation. Booked the Royal Beach Club room which included use of the executive floor equivalent (Royal Beach Club lounge on L21) cocktail hour and continental breakfast. Sounded good!

Check in at 'VIP' check in - no major issues except when I provided my address (central Tokyo) the two staff on duty (Japanese liaison and Korean liaison officers I think...) said "oooh, rich people!" which frankly I thought was tasteless...

Next, decided to take the friend to the Royal Beach Club lounge for a nice cup of tea, only to be told by the staff member who checked me in that only family and friends who are staying in-house can be brought to the exec floor. I told her that the conditions I had signed said that "Family and friends of in-house guests may use the Royal Beach Club - fees may apply" but she kept asking for my friend's room number. Appreciate that English was not her first language but conditions were fairly clear. Less than 30 minutes in and NOT happy.

Went back to room to find that the wall next to the toilet had a snot mark on it - yes, previous guest had picked nose and wiped it on the wall next to the toilet...and housekeeping hadn't noticed.

At this point, paying over US$250 per night, felt the need to complain. Went to the front desk and explained the two issues above. I showed the lady on the desk the T&Cs and she agreed that I was permitted to take friends/family to the Royal Beach Club lounge. Promised to send housekeeping to clean the wall but they never showed. At this point, lady who checked me in (Japanese liaison) had spotted me and tried to explain to me that the English T&Cs were wrong / out-of-date / whatever (Westin caters primarily to Japanese tourists) and that they needed to be updated. She indicated that not much could be done (had requested to move to a standard room with a full breakfast) because I had booked through a third-party (hotels.com) despite my being a SPG. Think that, but don't say it - is my advice. Pretty unimpressed.

Resigned to the fact that I was stuck, thought I'd make the most of it. Went to cocktail hour in the RBC. Let's just say I needed to lower my expectations even further. 'Cocktail' means about 5-6 spirits and about 3-4 mixers. You make your own drinks. On the bright side, the cheese plate was good...

Next morning, went to the continental breakfast in the RBC lounge. Pastries rubbery and scrambled eggs grey. Decided to go for the cereal and fresh fruit. Can't really mess those up.

Beach cabana after that. Nice enough but not really worth paying extra for.

That evening, a bit peckish and still smarting from the rather average continental breakfast, ordered the all day breakfast from room service. Expensive for what I got and eggs not cooked to order. Sigh.

Next day was better but spent most of it outside the hotel.

In short, would not stay there again. Realise that initial experience led to major confirmation bias but hotel should've tried harder and not made excuses...

Next three days we hired a car and stayed at the Santa Fe Hotel in Tamuning (away from tourist central), snuck into the Hotel Nikko to use the water slides (food MUCH cheaper poolside here), drove around the island and ate at the local restaurants. Was a lot more fun!

Room Tip: Royal Beach Club not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guamwestin, Team Leader at The Westin Resort Guam, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hafa Adai, Ms. jurimi,

We sincerely thank you for choosing the Westin Resort Guam during your recent visit to our beautiful island, and for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the beach front cabanas and the cheese selection offered during the evening cocktails in our Royal Beach Club Lounge. In contrast, we have taken note of your experience regarding your check-in, Royal Beach Club lounge access, lounge breakfast and room cleanliness. It is truly regretful that we failed to meet your expectations; it certainly was not our intention or reflects our team’s commitment to deliver the best guest experience possible; and for this we sincerely apologize. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously, it will strengthen our efforts and commitment to provide personal service and to ensure the level of service and faculties are consistent with the highest standards.

Should your future travel plans bring you back to Guam, we hope to be given another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, so you may experience a restful and pleasant stay. Until next time, be well. With warmest regards, The Westin Resort Guam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Resort Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort Guam

Address: 105 Gun Beach Road, Tumon, Guam 96911, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tumon
#1 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Resort Guam 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Westin Resort Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort Guam Hotel Tumon
Westin Hotel Tumon
Westin Tumon
Tumon Westin
The Westin Resort Guam South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort Guam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.