We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel in Guam but wish it was a Grand Hyatt.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Guam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Guam to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Guam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in Guam but wish it was a Grand Hyatt.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Hyatt Regency in Guam is the nicest hotel in Guam. Unfortunately there is no real five star hotel in Guam. ( perhaps the Westin is similar to the Hyatt which is down the street ) .

The Hyatt lobby is nicely renovated and has WIFI. The main restaurant where they serve the buffet breakfast is ok, however the italian restaurant there is nicer and they have a good buffet lunch there, but i suggest to go out for dinner as there are many nice places to eat.

The grounds at the hotel are nice and the pool and beach are nice too. The hotel location is the best ! As for the rooms, they are fair and a bit dated, especially the bathrooms. This time i stayed on a Club Floor and hoping to have a nicer room, but unfortunately the rooms are the same and i was very disappointed about that, so the only benefit is the club lounge which is nice to have, but most hotels do have nicer rooms at the club level !

My main complaint is the housekeeping, i has this problem both both visits to this hotel, they never come to clean up unless i called. I had to call most days at 3-4 pm to get someone up there to clean up the room. i remember last trip in January i had this same issue with them on a different floor in the hotel. Hyatt Management, DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS !

Overall i liked the hotel, I just wish the rooms were nicer and more updated. Most likely i would come back to the Hyatt again. The Staff is also very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyAda-PRManager, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Guam, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hafa Adai! We appreciate you taking the time to share with us about your experience. Your feedback will help us a great deal in ensuring the quality of our service and facilities are at the highest level. It's great to welcome you back to the hotel and I am glad you were able to stay at our Regency level this time around. I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you encountered in regards to your room being cleaned. We strive to ensure your stay with us exceeds your expectations, and I assure you our team has taken note of your comments and are working expeditiously to enhance the quality of our services hotel-wide. Should you visit Guam again, we hope you will choose Hyatt Regency Guam again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    213
    78
    41
    22
See reviews for
221
102
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well, I've been to many beachfront resorts in Asia and this is one of the best considering it's location and beach. It's close proximity to airport and pristine beach with a sunset view really makes this one of the best resorts, even thought it's rooms are worn. Really hope they do a major renovation soon especially when there is a giant resort that blocks some of their beach view.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best but far from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyAda-PRManager, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Guam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hafa Adai! We appreciate you taking the time to share with us about your experience. Your feedback will help us a great deal in ensuring the quality of our service and facilities are at the highest level. Thank you for your kind comments about are facility, and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Guam. We are always working to enhance our services throughout the hotel and we hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Guam in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. It was clean, classy and a pleasure to stay in. We spent ages being asked about snow as they've obviously never seen it. I really would recommend this resort to everyone

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyAda-PRManager, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Guam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hafa Adai! We appreciate you taking the time to share with us about your experience. Your feedback will help us a great deal in ensuring the quality of our service and facilities are at the highest level. Thank you for your recommendation and kind comments about our facility and staff, it was our pleasure to welcome you. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and on Guam, our paradise island. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Guam and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

At the time of this review spending a good time in the Hyatt in Guam. Yes sure this hotel is worn and requires a major overhaul, however the location is excellent, the staff is very friendly and service minded and does everything they can to make you feel at home from home and enjoy your holidays. The views from the (higher floor) rooms are magnificent on the bay of Tumon. All upscale shopping is at a close distance of the hotel. Rooms are spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Tumon Bay along the west side of Guam is notable for many hotels, absolutely magnificent sunsets and an arc of pleasantly walkable beaches. I have staid at three of the hotels along the arc and the Hyatt is my overall favorite. I can empathize with some of the comments about need for refurbishing (a common trait of Guam hotels although a new hotel is rising) but I have not encountered the dirtiness so intemperately expressed. The pluses are accessible sandy beach, ample dining including a 24-hr deli which is priceless when you're time zone challenged, and proximity to up-scale shops. As others note, the breakfast buffet in the 12th floor lounge is excellent but holds no candle to evening drinks and hors d'ouvres while watching a long, slow sunset over the Philippine Sea. By the way, there's WiFi in the lounge and internet access included in the Resort rooms. I find the staff to be courteous and adequate. Airport pick-up can be arranged. My biggest gripe is the lack of free boarding pass printing which based on principle is preposterous. (I trust paper, esp with international travel.) Building construction on Guam anticipates typhoons so don't expect lots of glassy sun exposure. Hotel accommodations can be tight at times but when available I am comfortable staying at the Hyatt.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is by far the dirtiest hotel I have stayed in. An absolute embarrassment to the Hyatt franchise. We even stayed on the club-level so I can't imagine the regular rooms/ floors. Our feet were BLACK from walking in our ROOM. The carpets and hallways were filthy. This is nothing new for Guam, I have yet to see a room that was actually clean. The bellhops were great, however the front desk provided horrible customer service. I had to call numerous times for everything. It even took 4 calls and over an hour to get our bags picked up due to the incompetence. I guarantee you will not find another Hyatt in the world in this condition. The manager should be fired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A very popular place to buy an annual pass to use the pool/beach facilities, but be prepared for poor, inconsistent service. Depending on who is working the desk, you may or may not be charged for children under 4 to use the pool (and yes, that includes even newborn infants who clearly will not be using the facility). The receptionists are beyond rude, lazy and a bit... dim. When one of our party contested the charge for a toddler (as they'd not been charged int eh past), they gave the adult bracelets and still questioned whether they would be adding the child for the day or not. What other options are there? Leave the child sitting with at the front desk for the day?

That said, the actual pool facilities are very nice. 2 waterslides, clean pool and nice beach equipment.

Food/bar service is average. The cocktails are disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Guam

Address: 1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Guam 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Guam is Guam’s premium destination resort located in a prime 150-meter beachfront site in the heart of Tumon Bay and Guam’s popular shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Guam Hotel Tumon
Hyatt Regency Tumon
Hyatt Regency Hotel Guam
Hyatt Tumon
Hyatt Regency Guam South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Guam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.