We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn but good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Guam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Guam to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Guam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tumon
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worn but good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

At the time of this review spending a good time in the Hyatt in Guam. Yes sure this hotel is worn and requires a major overhaul, however the location is excellent, the staff is very friendly and service minded and does everything they can to make you feel at home from home and enjoy your holidays. The views from the (higher floor) rooms are magnificent on the bay of Tumon. All upscale shopping is at a close distance of the hotel. Rooms are spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    275
    91
    46
    25
See reviews for
277
119
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Tumon Bay along the west side of Guam is notable for many hotels, absolutely magnificent sunsets and an arc of pleasantly walkable beaches. I have staid at three of the hotels along the arc and the Hyatt is my overall favorite. I can empathize with some of the comments about need for refurbishing (a common trait of Guam hotels although a new hotel is rising) but I have not encountered the dirtiness so intemperately expressed. The pluses are accessible sandy beach, ample dining including a 24-hr deli which is priceless when you're time zone challenged, and proximity to up-scale shops. As others note, the breakfast buffet in the 12th floor lounge is excellent but holds no candle to evening drinks and hors d'ouvres while watching a long, slow sunset over the Philippine Sea. By the way, there's WiFi in the lounge and internet access included in the Resort rooms. I find the staff to be courteous and adequate. Airport pick-up can be arranged. My biggest gripe is the lack of free boarding pass printing which based on principle is preposterous. (I trust paper, esp with international travel.) Building construction on Guam anticipates typhoons so don't expect lots of glassy sun exposure. Hotel accommodations can be tight at times but when available I am comfortable staying at the Hyatt.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is by far the dirtiest hotel I have stayed in. An absolute embarrassment to the Hyatt franchise. We even stayed on the club-level so I can't imagine the regular rooms/ floors. Our feet were BLACK from walking in our ROOM. The carpets and hallways were filthy. This is nothing new for Guam, I have yet to see a room that was actually clean. The bellhops were great, however the front desk provided horrible customer service. I had to call numerous times for everything. It even took 4 calls and over an hour to get our bags picked up due to the incompetence. I guarantee you will not find another Hyatt in the world in this condition. The manager should be fired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A very popular place to buy an annual pass to use the pool/beach facilities, but be prepared for poor, inconsistent service. Depending on who is working the desk, you may or may not be charged for children under 4 to use the pool (and yes, that includes even newborn infants who clearly will not be using the facility). The receptionists are beyond rude, lazy and a bit... dim. When one of our party contested the charge for a toddler (as they'd not been charged int eh past), they gave the adult bracelets and still questioned whether they would be adding the child for the day or not. What other options are there? Leave the child sitting with at the front desk for the day?

That said, the actual pool facilities are very nice. 2 waterslides, clean pool and nice beach equipment.

Food/bar service is average. The cocktails are disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel has great pools and ambience. Its location is, although not the best, fairly acceptable. It is an old hotel that looks quite gloomy and run-down but the room may experienced a renovation ages ago so it was better than what I had expected from its external look.

Although the hotel rate is pricey enough, they still charges extra for every single thing: the in-room internet, the use of beach benches, etc.

However, the biggest complaint I have about the hotel was about the room that was not maintained and cleaned properly:

1. I intentionally left a lock of hair over the drainage in the shower room to see if the housekeeper would notice it or not but it was still there when I came back.

2. I beated my wired sandal on the carpet floor to get rid of sand that stuck inside and everything was left on the carpet in the evening the way it was in the morning, no floor vacuum at all.

3. I got the coffee bag replenished the 2nd. day of my stay but not the coffee cream, so I asked a young, male, uninterested-look housekeeper to replenish my coffee cream also. That night, not to mension about the coffee cream, I didn't even have my coffee bags replenished. No bottles of water provided also on the same night.

4. I agreed to use the same linen and towels for environmental protection but the housekeeper didn't even stretch my used linen and pillow properly.

Overall, I would come back to this hotel again for the merits of its pools and location only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agana, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Checked in to room that was experiencing ant activity, on the carpet and tables. My wife was so disgusted, I transferred her energy to the front desk that they quickly made other arrangements, however, we had to come back in a couple of hours due to no rooms available. Management should already be aware that if you do not properly clean your rooms, critters take up residence, and they DON'T PAY! Thanks to the front desk staff for salvaging potential lost revenue (worst yet, negative word of mouth referrals via the Island telegraph).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hyatt Regency in Guam has to be one of the best managed hotels on the island. Service is always impeccable, staff is friendly, and the property is well maintained and in great shape. In house restaurants include the Niji restaurant for excellent Japanese food, the La Mirenda general dining room with great buffets for each meal of the day, and the well respected, high quality Al Dente Italian restaurant, long a local favorite. The water park is nice, nothing fancy, but it will keep smaller kids and adults occupied. Beach access is great and the beach is wide and sandy. A great place to steal a couple of days away by staying longer on a business trip or booking for a week to get pampered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumon
0.4 mi away
The Westin Resort Guam
0.6 mi away
Lotte Hotel Guam
Lotte Hotel Guam
#1 of 21 in Tumon
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Guam Resort
Hilton Guam Resort
#8 of 21 in Tumon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Guam
Hotel Nikko Guam
#6 of 21 in Tumon
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Guam

Address: 1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#3 Family Hotel in Tumon
#4 Business Hotel in Tumon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Guam 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Guam is Guam’s premium destination resort located in a prime 150-meter beachfront site in the heart of Tumon Bay and Guam’s popular shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Guam Hotel Tumon
Hyatt Regency Tumon
Hyatt Regency Hotel Guam
Hyatt Tumon
Hyatt Regency Guam South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Guam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.