We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty/ Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Guam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Guam to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Guam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Dunkirk, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nasty/ Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is by far the dirtiest hotel I have stayed in. An absolute embarrassment to the Hyatt franchise. We even stayed on the club-level so I can't imagine the regular rooms/ floors. Our feet were BLACK from walking in our ROOM. The carpets and hallways were filthy. This is nothing new for Guam, I have yet to see a room that was actually clean. The bellhops were great, however the front desk provided horrible customer service. I had to call numerous times for everything. It even took 4 calls and over an hour to get our bags picked up due to the incompetence. I guarantee you will not find another Hyatt in the world in this condition. The manager should be fired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    209
    75
    40
    22
See reviews for
219
99
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A very popular place to buy an annual pass to use the pool/beach facilities, but be prepared for poor, inconsistent service. Depending on who is working the desk, you may or may not be charged for children under 4 to use the pool (and yes, that includes even newborn infants who clearly will not be using the facility). The receptionists are beyond rude, lazy and a bit... dim. When one of our party contested the charge for a toddler (as they'd not been charged int eh past), they gave the adult bracelets and still questioned whether they would be adding the child for the day or not. What other options are there? Leave the child sitting with at the front desk for the day?

That said, the actual pool facilities are very nice. 2 waterslides, clean pool and nice beach equipment.

Food/bar service is average. The cocktails are disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel has great pools and ambience. Its location is, although not the best, fairly acceptable. It is an old hotel that looks quite gloomy and run-down but the room may experienced a renovation ages ago so it was better than what I had expected from its external look.

Although the hotel rate is pricey enough, they still charges extra for every single thing: the in-room internet, the use of beach benches, etc.

However, the biggest complaint I have about the hotel was about the room that was not maintained and cleaned properly:

1. I intentionally left a lock of hair over the drainage in the shower room to see if the housekeeper would notice it or not but it was still there when I came back.

2. I beated my wired sandal on the carpet floor to get rid of sand that stuck inside and everything was left on the carpet in the evening the way it was in the morning, no floor vacuum at all.

3. I got the coffee bag replenished the 2nd. day of my stay but not the coffee cream, so I asked a young, male, uninterested-look housekeeper to replenish my coffee cream also. That night, not to mension about the coffee cream, I didn't even have my coffee bags replenished. No bottles of water provided also on the same night.

4. I agreed to use the same linen and towels for environmental protection but the housekeeper didn't even stretch my used linen and pillow properly.

Overall, I would come back to this hotel again for the merits of its pools and location only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agana, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Checked in to room that was experiencing ant activity, on the carpet and tables. My wife was so disgusted, I transferred her energy to the front desk that they quickly made other arrangements, however, we had to come back in a couple of hours due to no rooms available. Management should already be aware that if you do not properly clean your rooms, critters take up residence, and they DON'T PAY! Thanks to the front desk staff for salvaging potential lost revenue (worst yet, negative word of mouth referrals via the Island telegraph).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hyatt Regency in Guam has to be one of the best managed hotels on the island. Service is always impeccable, staff is friendly, and the property is well maintained and in great shape. In house restaurants include the Niji restaurant for excellent Japanese food, the La Mirenda general dining room with great buffets for each meal of the day, and the well respected, high quality Al Dente Italian restaurant, long a local favorite. The water park is nice, nothing fancy, but it will keep smaller kids and adults occupied. Beach access is great and the beach is wide and sandy. A great place to steal a couple of days away by staying longer on a business trip or booking for a week to get pampered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phils.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Paid for a Club King room, but there was no free internet in the room, no hair dryer provided. No bellboy to help you out with your luggage upon arrival. No standyby doctor or nurse for emergency first-aids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel obviously requires a big upgrade. It is quite run down and very basic (no wifi). The rooms are clean and the staffs do try (but service is just average). For the price you pay, it's better to try to find a newer hotel. The best thing in the hotel is the view, but you'd get at in every hotel in Guam.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Guam

Address: 1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#6 Family Hotel in Tumon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Guam 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Guam is Guam’s premium destination resort located in a prime 150-meter beachfront site in the heart of Tumon Bay and Guam’s popular shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Guam Hotel Tumon
Hyatt Regency Tumon
Hyatt Regency Hotel Guam
Hyatt Tumon
Hyatt Regency Guam South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Guam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.