We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel on Guam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Guam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Guam to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Guam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on Guam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Hyatt is most likely the best hotel on Guam and their beach is also in a perfect location with beautiful white soft sand. Remember this is a Hyatt Regency and not a Grand Hyatt so expect a little less, still the service was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Room are huge and clean, and kept well, but could use a bit of renovation by now. The location is also great and a 5 minute or less walk into the town of Tumon.

The only Big issue i had and most people complained about is that the WIFI is only in the lobby and they still only have a Lan Line for 20 usd ( that's expensive by the way, most hotels are 12-15 dollars and these days many are free ) Hyatt Guam, you need WIFI in the rooms and more free WIFI around the hotel, like in the restaurants and perhaps the pool area too. Everyone is connected these days, especially most of your customers from Japan, Korean and other parts of Asia.

Also Hyatt Guam, i had to call every day for a week to beg to get my room cleaned up, and i called 2-3 times sometimes at 5 pm. There is a big problem with housekeeping !!! The staff is nice and helpful so that makes up for part of it. But the rooms need to be cleaned in the mornings like all hotels do. I stayed on the 6th floor so i am not sure if its the staff there or on all the floors.

Room Tip: Stay at the upper level floors with the Regency club. i was told these rooms are renovated and bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    220
    79
    41
    25
See reviews for
225
105
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Hyatt brand is rapidly becoming more like a Motel 6 than an international hotel. The Hyatt Guam is in need of a lick of paint and some new carpet. There was no doorman or porter on arrival and without automatic doors it made getting in to the hotel with quite a bit of luggage annoying. I checked in at 3.15pm and the room wasn't ready yet. The room was a good size but there is no wifi and the Internet cable was broken and frayed. The minbar was empty. There was a note to another guest on the desk. The cleaning staff spend a lot of time yelling in the hall ways. The fittings are tired with mould on curtains, rust on metal and scratches on wood and plaster. Certainly not worth the money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is not up to Hyatt brand standards - if you are expecting what you get in a stateside Hyatt Regency, you will be very disappointed. I usually stay at the Hilton here and only stayed here becuase the Hilton and Westin were sold out.

Positives; Nice location, all rooms face ocean, nice grounds with pools.

Negatives: Almost everything else: (1) Hallway carpets and walls are badly stained - Guam is a tough environment for buildings, but this hotel needs completely new carpets and paint in all the hallways - and once they do that they should start a regular replacment cycle to replace them all every 18-24 months - all because of the environment - what's there now is disgusting; (2) No wifi in rooms; $20/day for Cat5 data cable internet, which is an outrage on the island with the best bandwidth in the Pacific; (3) No hair dryer in the room either; (4) No coffee in the room - there weren't even any of the instant coffee packets; (5) Breakfast restaurant doesn't open till 7:00 a.m. (a dead give away that they only get desperate business travelers - Hilton's opens at 6:30 a.m.) - overwhelming majority of guests are Japanese tourists. Sad thing is this isn't the worst hotel in Guam, but it's a long way from being the best - a #4 ranking for Guam is a travesty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After spending about a week in the hotel I truly believe it's time for an inspection from HQ. I would have to say the only thing that was good here was the staff. I'll break it down:

Grounds: The pool and layout of the hotel are nice. The staff works hard to keep the pool area clean and safe for its visitors. Access to the beach is just steps from the exciting Fire show that is put on every night.

Lobby: The lobby is very open, for duration of the time I was there they were having some kind electrical problem with the lighting were it would flicker every 30 sec. Even the staff was not too happy since it had been happening for about 2 weeks. I also say in the lounge which has Wi-Fi but it will cost you a drink or food to use it. I also think I may have been allergic to the area.

The Room: For a hotel that prizes it's self for having the softest bed “guaranteed”, it would have been nice for them to honor that. If you call a pillow top on a rock hard mattress soft then I have been living in a strange world. Once we got to the room I went to check the great beds and also noticed the blankets were ripped. I don’t know if it the fact that they get a lot of Japanese tourist but I would think they would like things that are not ripped and at least clean. There was a layer of dust behind the tv and beds. I went to ask if they could clean the room again and was told I was already upgraded twice, if that was an upgrade I’m afraid to see what I was going to get.

The sad thing is with the large amounts of tourist that come through; they most likely will not change anything since they have the Hyatt name. You got my opinion, now you judge for yourself!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was very impressed with Elaine at the front desk. She welcomed us with a warm smile and accommodated our request during our check in. She left a good impression on me!--thank you.
The view from our room was spectacular!! The pool area is huge with a couple of waterfalls and slides most of the pool area measured 4 feet deep. The beach area was clean and the sand was pristine. My room was huge for a standard room and so was the bathroom. Love the heated toilet seat. The room included coffee, bottled water, a mini ref, iron, blow dryer and a couple of robes. However, the carpets need to be updated. It was an enjoyable experience overall.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zama, Japan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel was ok. Good air conditioning, great staff, ok accommodations. The room was clean, but a bit dingy and there was a bit of mold here and there. The staff was fabulous and super helpful and courteous. The pools were great too, with a baby pool, slide pool, and a couple others. The pools save the hotel. .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My second stay here in this hotel. Stayed here last September. The place is a dump. Rooms smells , carpets are dirty and a major renovation is a must in all the rooms.The hotel has great location and a beautiful pool to match but good lord, I pay $250+ to a Hyatt dump hotel like this? I'll wait for the next new hotel in Guam to stay at. 1 star over all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Guam

Address: 1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Guam 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Guam is Guam’s premium destination resort located in a prime 150-meter beachfront site in the heart of Tumon Bay and Guam’s popular shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Guam Hotel Tumon
Hyatt Regency Tumon
Hyatt Regency Hotel Guam
Hyatt Tumon
Hyatt Regency Guam South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Guam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.