We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrigger Guam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Guam Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Guam Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Guam Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1255 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 31%
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outrigger Guam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I had a very nice stay here. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very nice. The restaurant and lounge has an excellent staff and I enjoyed my time spent there. They have a nice area in front of the hotel for "people watching". Unfortunately, it is completely over run by the parade of tourist buses that have no smog regulations. The buses block your view for up to half an hour, smoke you out with black smoke and the engines make is unbearably hot. Its too bad.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    412
    131
    29
    28
See reviews for
449
166
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brockhill
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Over all a good hotel, in a prime location and on the beach front. We had an oceanfront room with a decent size balcony, which was nice. Room facilities were adequate and the beds exceedingly comfortable. There was more than enough shampoos, etc in the modern large bathroom. We had a problem with the tv on arrival and once reported to the reception was sorted within 30 minutes. We also had drinks in the bar area on a couple of occassions and had to wait a bit too long for a staff member to serve us. This hotel is popular with both locals and tourists. The large, family friendly pool area (adjacent to the beach) and the well managed Spa and Gym really make this hotel worth staying at. Compared to other hotels in the area it is priced a little on the high side and don't forget that the rates do not include local taxes, which can add on another 10%! All this being said, we had a most enjoyable stay and that's the most important point.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010 via mobile

Our family stayed in the Oceanfront Suite and the room was very nice! We enjoyed the view but like other reviewers smoke from other's balcony was a problem at times. The hotel was very close to the beach with plenty of beach and water toys available. The lobby had live music playing from 6 - 10 PM daily and our 3 year old loved dancing to it. Restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and trolley service were all in close proximity. We bought a one week trolley pass for $20 per person which we used for getting to the malls. This was our first trip to Guam but not our last.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

I never stayed here when it was newer, but I can tell you that it is not only old, the style of the rooms is too out of touch with Guam or too modern and not even tasteful. I suppose the decor was just not my style. The location was the best as this is where all of the shopping and restaurants are located.

I might stay here again however as I have business within walking distance to the hotel so for me the location is tops.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakayama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

In my opinion, Outrigger has the best location on Tumon Bay and I'd most definitely stay there again. We were on the 17th floor in an ocean front room from March 6th to the 12th.

We did learn while there that ocean view rooms have smaller balconies and no outdoor furniture. The ocean front rooms have not only a better view but also larger balconies with two chairs and a small table.

The location is fantastic. The the first floor of the Plaza (a small shopping center) is all connected to the hotel lobby where there are numerous shops like Rolex, Gucci, etc. Across the road is the DFS Galleria which has even more brand name stores for shopping like Chloe, Cartier, RayBan, Montblanc, etc.

We really appreciated being able to buy cheap bottled water and other drinks & snacks from the ABC convenience stores in the Plaza. In addition, the Hard Rock Cafe's entrance is right in the lobby. The Outback Steakhouse was only a 4 minute walk from the hotel lobby. Tony Roma's provided free pick up and drop off service from the hotel lobby which was great.

Hertz has an office which was only a 1 minute indoor walk from the hotel lobby if you need to rent a car for the day.

The wireless internet service worked in our room but it was a little slow.

As a family with a young child we really appreciated the coin operated machines in the downstairs laundry room. This was one reason we chose the Outrigger and not the Hyatt which only has valet laundry service. Both the washing machines and clothes dryers cost $2.00 per load each and there's a laundry detergent and fabric softener dispenser as well. There's a change machine in the laundry room so there's no need to save your quarters to do laundry.

The lounge chairs and parasols on the beach in front of Outrigger are not free for hotel guests. For $50 a day per family or $40 per day per couple you may use the lounge chairs and parasols from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM. The fee also includes free use all day of all beach equipment such as the boats & kayaks, snorkel, mask & fins, reefwalkers, flotation devices, etc. If you pay the beach equipment you also get a 10% discount on all food ordered at the restaurant on the beach called the Ohana Beach Club. Their french fries were great but I can't say the same for their hotdogs or fishburgers.

The buffet breakfast in Outrigger's Palm Cafe was just OK. The food wasn't horrible but it certainly wasn't great either. The sandwiches from the Jungle Java Cafe at the entrance of the Outrigger were excellent. We would buy some and take them back to our lounge chairs on the beach and eat which is permitted.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Outrigger has a good location on the strip, in the center of everything. I had a room that maybe was redone based on some other reviews. Seemd to be an asian inspired Zen decor, it was nice. Free wifi, flat screen tv. Shops onsite with more shooping and food right outside.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Recently I travelled to Guam for business and was put up at the Outrigger Guam Resort. I found it to be a very pleasurable experience.
The hotel location is in the very center of the strip, walking distance to every store, shop, bar, and restaurant a person could want.
Hard Rock Cafe is located right off the lobby, and this is the start of the plaza: a series of indoor shops and restaurants. Across the street is the DFS galleria, for those who have the extra cash burning in their pockets and whose wives, girlfriends, or lovers fancy such handbags as Prada, Burberry, and Hermes.
TGI Friday's and Outback are just a block to the north. The beach is within easy access exicting from the hotel's plaza floor level or from the poolside. I didn't try the pool as it wasn't much of an actual swimming pool, but rather a small, tropical themed water park. Many people enjoyed this as it did stay quite busy. The staff were extremely helpful and delightful, even as the hotel seemed to get busier as the days went by. I must commend the staff!
The room was on the 6th floor, so not a long ride from the lobby. It has two queen beds, and the one I used was very comfortable. It contains a small fridge for drinks and a safe deposit box (safe) and overall the room was in nice condition.
My only issues were minor. Once some of the sealant around the base of the tub needed to be replaced as it leeked water. This was quickly attended by the maintenance staff. And my first night, an alarm clock went off in the room next to mine. I believe the alarm was left set after the person checked out. It went on for sometime and I called the front desk and they promptly dispatched a person to quiet the alarm clock buzzer. This is not to say the walls are thin, I think you could have heard this buzzer throught the wall of Ft Knox! And as I said the staff reacted swiftly.
To offer a couple recommendations: stay away from the breakfast buffet; it is pricey. I didn't try it because of the price, so it may be good, but still pricey. I did eat the lunch buffet once, which was good for buffet food and not a bad price. I am not sure why the breakfast buffet is at 22.50 and the lunch buffet is only 12.50 (oh don't forget service charge!..total 13.75) You will find many places in Guam automatically charge service. This is to offset the Japanese custom of not tipping and Japanese make up a great deal of the tourism in Guam.

Lastly, get an even numbered room. Odd number rooms (mine was 611) have a view of the ocean when you look left, but look right and you see roof top parking and dirty air conditioning units for the hotel.
Even number rooms offer the beach view, street view, and poolside view. Get an even numbered room. My collegue chuckled when he saw my view (his room was 610).

Overall nice place to stay. Sad to say I didn't have much free time due to work, but the hotel was enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Guam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Guam Resort

Address: 1255 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tumon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
#2 Family Hotel in Tumon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Guam Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Guam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Guam Hotel Tumon
Outrigger Tumon
Tumon Outrigger
Outrigger Guam Resort South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Guam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.