We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but ok accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Guam Resort

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Guam Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outrigger Guam Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1255 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 31%
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Tumon
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff but ok accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For the price we were paying we expected a bit more. There was dust all over our room, the grout in our bathroom was replaced by caulking that was coming out. The ocean view was nice, you could sit in the chaise and look out at the waves. I was a little disappointed that it would be $50 plus to use the water toys or have a chair and umbrella on the beach. For the price we paid I thought those items would be included. The pool was ok - cool water, water slide and lots of chaises to use. There is even an area where you can sit/lounge and watch the water. The snorkeling here was ok. The day we tried it was right after a tropical depression had passed and the current was pretty strong - I couldn't stand up straight without being pushed over. The sand was pretty stirred up so not a lot of fish to see.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor and still had an awesome view of the strip and the ocean. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    370
    115
    27
    26
See reviews for
401
152
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayase, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 5 days with our 2 year old and 14 year old. Great location, very friendly and attentive staff. We stayed in a Voyager Club oceanfront room… which was great! Loved the afternoon cocktails and pupus! The voyager club breakfast was OK…a smaller buffet, but sufficient. Wish there had been a little more variety of fresh fruits. The pools were really nice - cold water!! and a great slide that my kids (and I!) loved. We will definitely stay here again when traveling to Guam.

Room Tip: Voyager Club !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerGuamResort, Manager at Outrigger Guam Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Allie M:

We are glad to know you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Outrigger Guam Resort. Your thoughts on the Voyagers Club Lounge breakfast will be shared with our culinary team. Thank you for the sincere feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family on your next visit.

Have a wonderful summer!

Janet Shmull
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We always stay at the Outrigger and our stays are always two weeks or longer, which gives us time to properly evaluate this property. Customer service is excellent. The staff always greet you with a friendly Hafa Adai, a friendly "hello" . Front office manager Jeannie Gaminde is exceptional and has provided excellent leadership to her staff. I cannot say enough good things for the Outrigger Guam! Request an ocean view and pay a little extra for the Voyager' s Room. The Voyager staff of Michael, Castro, and Lovejoy are excellent and exemplify all Outrigger employees.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerGuamResort, Manager at Outrigger Guam Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Jim B:

We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Outrigger Guam Resort and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Thank you also for recognizing Jeannie and her Voyagers Club hosts (Michael, Castro, and Lovejoy). I will forward a copy of your note to her department head for proper commendation.

Take good care. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Janet Shmull
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great hotel, ideal location. Food places right next to hotel and DFS just across the street. Check-in was prompt even when we arrived at 3am and they were kind enough to upgrade us to the Oceanfront Room. Fantastic 180 degrees ocean view from the balcony and be sure to enjoy the legendary Guam sunset in the evening. Complimentary WIFI in room too!

All staff from the bell-hop to Front Desk & Houskeeping were wonderful and really made us feel pampered. There was a slight issue but it was quickly resolved by the hotel management. Special thanks to Christina, Jeannie (Front Desk) & Hotel Manager Ken for your patience and professionalism! Outrigger has earned our trust and loyalty and we look forward to staying here again on our next visit :)

Room Tip: Oceanfront Rooms have an amazing direct ocean view and bigger balcony. Great for enjoying sunrise/su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerGuamResort, Manager at Outrigger Guam Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear ChunKim,

Hafa Adai!

Thank you for sharing the experiences of your recent stay at the Outrigger Guam Resort. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family during your stay. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed our facilities, views, and services especially the friendliness of our hosts nonetheless a challenge you have encountered. I will be sure to share your comments with them.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to having you and your family back on your next visit to Guam.

Sincerely,

Ken Nishizawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Outrigger Hotel is actually within a large mall complex. The entrance/foyer is open and is shared by several shops. The room itself was comfortable and clean. The staff was very accommodating and provided towels or water whenever we asked for extra. There was no desk or extra chair in the room which was a problem for my husband who needed to work but we managed by using the small sofa. The room we were assigned was on the 16th floor, facing west. We had a nice view of the sunset; however, there is construction in progress just next to the Outrigger on the West side. The pool was very nicely laid out, my son enjoyed the slide but it did seem to be a little dirty at times. The pool restaurant/bar was handy and the food was very good. The prices are a little steep ~3 for a beer and $2 for a cola but this was typical for everywhere in Guam. The best part about our stay was the beach. Just outside the hotel, the area is perfect for snorkeling. I would recommend picking up some snorkeling gear at K-Mart and you'll be set! We've never been anywhere that we could walk outside our hotel and see so many beautiful fish! The stretch of beach that this hotel is on seemed to be about the best in Guam. The beach is really narrow with lots of coral so it's best to wear surf shoes all the time when walking. Another bonus (for us) was the convenience of dining options within walking distance. The Hardrock Cafe is inside the mall with the hotel, TGI Fridays and McDonalds is across the road. Everything was within a 10 minute or less walk. This hotel seems to be very busy with a high turnover of guests daily. Probalby 90% are Japanese tourists, most young families. If you want a less busy venue (pool was always packed) then I would suggest another hotel. If you want convenience, good views, friendly staff and snorkeling outside your door then the Outrigger won't dissapoint. Also, we did not include breakfast in our 9 night stay...it was very expensive ~$25/per. There are several options for breakfast within a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the water on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerGuamResort, Manager at Outrigger Guam Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hafa Adai VsDestinations,

Thank you for sharing experiences of your stay at the Outrigger Guam Resort and information about dining options and things to do around the resort. We value your comments, both positive and negative. It gives us an opportunity to review where we are doing well and areas where we need improvements. I have shared your comments and concerns with our team to address the issues where applicable.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to have you and your family as our guest again if your travels brings you back to the island.

Sincerely,

Ken Nishizawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

First of all, this hotel has the perfect location if you want to have a vacation in Guam. It is adjacent to the Plaza Mall, and is walking distance from several bars, restaurants, ABC stores, and is right across the DFS Galleria and JP superstore. There is also a bus stop in front if you want to take a trolley to the different department stores like Guam Premium Outlets and Kmart, which are just minutes away, or to the other tourist attractions. The hotel lobby is also just steps away from the beach, the pool, and the street where the action is. Unlike in other hotels where it is quite a walk to the beach or to the road. Secondly, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and made us feel right at home. The hotel GM himself promptly replied to my email queries, and the hotel managers took time to welcome us upon our arrival and send us off when we left. Thirdly, while our three rooms were a bit dated, they were still clean and comfortable. And yes even the Oceanview rooms had a fantastic view of the beach and the sunset! Also, check in was a breeze, and they allowed us to check out late. Fourth, the pool was great, especially for kids. The only thing for improvement is their wifi connection, which was a bit erratic. But overall, it was a great stay for us, we will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the 18th floor and even numbered. We had great views facing a bit south
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerGuamResort, Manager at Outrigger Guam Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear BraulloBogart ,

Hafa Adai!

Thank you for sharing the experiences of your recent stay at the Outrigger Guam Resort. It was pleasure meeting you and your family. We are very glad to learn that you and your family enjoyed the stay.

We appreciate your comments about our facilities and especially the service you received. I'm sorry to hear the challenges you've encountered with the WiFi. I have forwarded the issue with our IT Department to address.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments and information about around the resort. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future again.

With warm regards,

Ken Nishizawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yigo, Mariana Islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

No USB or HDMI hook-ups in the TV. Bummer.

Got the lowest rate possible so my room was 520 which did include some ocean view (along with a view of the amazing sunset) but mainly a rooftop view. I had to seriously zoom my camera to get pictures of just the water. I feel bad for anyone staying in rooms further down the building than where I was at. Since it was level with the rooftop of the eateries connected to the hotel, it was really loud with all the ventilation systems but smelled really good. I was surprised at how quiet it was inside the room too. AC was quiet and worked really well. Internet was free and worked good, which was nice but we had a lot of ants inside and got seriously chewed up by mosquitoes outside. I know mosquitoes cannot be controlled by the hotel so I just recommend that if your paying a really low rate, you might get one of these 5th floor rooms so wear long pants and shoes when sitting on the balcony. It was just from the knees down but got like 15 bites per shin... Lol. I would assume that this is because we were so close to the restaurants. When it comes to the ants, Guam has a lot of issues with them in general so It doesn't surprise me but it was the first time I experienced it inside a hotel here.

Came to check in at 3 and the room wasn't ready which was too bad, and they didn't allow me to continue using their pool after check out. They did however let me check out an hour later with no problems. Liked that a lot! Had brunch at the palm and it was pretty good. Very large selection.

Staff was nice but it seemed like they were over worked.

Loved the location! Right in the middle of everything.

I probably wouldn't go again. There are other choices you can go to that have no issues with you using their pool after check out for the same price I paid. I mean if you have kiddos and that's important to you. Otherwise it was pretty average. Nothing really wowed me.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerGuamResort, Manager at Outrigger Guam Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Bri T:

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear we were short in meeting your expectations. I will share your concerns internally so we can work on resolving them accordingly.

Thank you too for noting that you enjoyed the Sunday Brunch and the large selection offered and for pointing out that our staff were nice.

Please know the Outrigger Guam Resort endeavors to provide its best product and services. The opinions shared by our guests, such as yours, are valued and appreciated as they contribute to our improvements.

Sincerely,

Janet Shmull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Guam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Guam Resort

Address: 1255 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tumon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
#2 Family Hotel in Tumon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Guam Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Guam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Guam Hotel Tumon
Outrigger Tumon
Tumon Outrigger
Outrigger Guam Resort South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Guam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.