We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former Marriott slowly deteriorating. Front Desk needs more training in Excellent customer service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Star Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Star Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pacific Star Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627B Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands (Formerly Marriott Resort and Spa Guam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Barrigada, Mariana Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Former Marriott slowly deteriorating. Front Desk needs more training in Excellent customer service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I check in at hotels when traveling and this is the first I've experienced such poor service and treatment by the front desk staff. It was a day after Typhoon Dolphin and several friends decided to check in at the PACSTAR since our homes were without power and water. We lined up like all those seeking rooms before us, we got to the front of the line and were processed fro rooms. We were told to come back in two and a half hours so our rooms would be ready. We came back in 2 1/2 hours and my room was not ready. The front desk person (Claire) said to come back in a few minutes and it will be ready. I returned in 15 minutes, lined up behind other customers and still after 30 minutes my room was still not ready. As a result from all that waiting and lining up, I missed my dinner with friends and I finally suggested to give me a room that was ready any room.
I was frustrated, disappointed, and missed dinner/ By the way, it was Claire that booked our rooms and checked us in and also instructed us to come back in 2 1/2 hours assuring us that our rooms would be ready. I suggest communication between housekeeping and front desk be better coordinated and the use of the English language be used for better comprehension.

Room Tip: Pacific Islands Club side noisy. Pick a room past the 9th floor oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    28
    34
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
8
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit pricy considering the amount of renovations this hotel need, but with a captured audience there is no rush. The rooms are regular size rooms, old tv's, some of my friends did stay in "renovated" rooms which had digital thermostats, otherwise old CRT tv's...the bathrooms are in desperate need of upgrades. During my stay the hotel restaurant was having a "middle eastern" theme for the food, not bad but not what you want to have when visiting an island...around the facility some areas definitely needed upgrades/attention..for some odd reason the AC was not working in the lobby area which made for a very uncomfortable place to wait for others in your party...the staff was very nice, but you could almost sense that they themselves were not happy with the status of the hotel..

Room Tip: rooms face north and southside of island, either one is great, but immediately next to hotel is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Pacific Star for four nights while on the island for business. The hotel is an ex Marriott and still has the same format of rooms and fittings. The hotel generally is a little tired and the reason it most probably lost its Marriott status. Saying that the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, with the bed getting changed on the second day and towels every day.

A big plus for the hotel is that if you show your Marriott reward card they will still offer the benefits i.e. free WiFi, breakfast and exec lounge, which is a bonus.

The breakfast is good with plenty of choice and there are two restaurants in the hotel. We went to the steak bar one evening and just wanted a steak and salad and unfortunately the server would not accommodate this stating we had to have the associated vegetables and order the salad as an extra. It is a shame really, as this was the damper on the stay, where is the "customer service"?

the hotel is located right on the bay and about a 10 minute drive from the airport ($17 ride), there are plenty of places to eat in a short walk from the hotel and DT Tumon is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Generally, the staff were obliging and I would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

This hotel is located in the Tumon Bay area of Guam and is right on the beach. The view is spectacular! It is a large hotel and close to restaurants and shopping. The rooms are comfortable size. The reception desk does not always understand what one is asking for. I asked about the free wifi I was told was available. I ended up getting charged $15.00 for three days. I had booked without the buffet breakfast and they insisted I had to have the breakfast. The lobby is beautifully appointed and very open. There is lots of room to sit and relax.

The maid service was sporadic. One day when I returned to my room about 5:30 after having been gone since 6:30 AM, the room was not made up. When I asked to have it made up, as I left for dinner, they asked how soon I’d return. Another day, the waste basket was not emptied. And yet another day there were still towels on the floor.

A hotel that is next door has very loud polynesian music in the evening until 9:00 or perhaps later each night. It is difficult to sleep if one must get up early with all that noise.

There are two restaurants located within the hotel and one can get food at anytime of day. Cafe has buffet service in the morning beginning at 6:00 AM with a wide variety of choices. They also serve a buffet lunch and they have a dinner menu. There is also the Manhattan Steak House which is open in the evenings. There is also a bar and appetizers served outside in the pool area.

This hotel is a good choice for anyone coming to visit Guam, whether on business or for pleasure. Because of the maid issues, the service from the reception desk and the noise, I would give it 3 ½ stars if I could.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Stayed here on an overnight layover in Guam. My guess is that it could not keep its Marriott brand title from deteriorating standards. It is still a perfectly fine hotel, just not at the 4-star hotel property level that Marriott is expected to be.

The biggest issue were the rooms: they were very dated. Because Guam also has very humid temperature, the ventilation and A/C was struggling and in need of upgrades. That meant the room also can smell and feel stuffy.

Wi-fi was also only free in the lobby and in-room wi-fi was charged at extraordinary rates. This is a lousy cash grab and not very customer-minded.

The hotel restaurant, while it had a very good breakfast buffet, had very poor a la carte service. An order of eggs benedict was inedible, and did not resemble anything. If you have a choice, stick to the buffet.

The good part of the hotel is that the location is spectacular, and the pool area is beautiful. You have a view right of the ocean, and can walk right down the steps to the ocean. At night however, it is a bit deserted and not close to much; you would have to walk a fair distance or catch a taxi to get to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

It's not a bad hotel. It's a dated Marriott. Nothing too fancy. But gets the job done. The pool and beach access are not as nice as other Guam locales (Fiesta, Outrigger...) but for the normally cheaper price, it's fine. I paid a bit more than I would have liked, but the whole island was booked and they still had openings so I went for it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

1st time I stayed in this hotel in 1989 or so it was number 1 in those days. Although with the passage of time things may have gone down slightly but location wise and have nice pool. The customer service is marvellous. Now rates are competitive

Room Tip: you can check in this hotel without worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pacific Star Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Star Resort & Spa

Address: 627B Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands (Formerly Marriott Resort and Spa Guam)
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tumon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Star Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Star Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort And Spa Guam Hotel Tumon
Marriott Hotel Tumon
Marriott Hotel Guam
Marriott Tumon
Tumon Marriott
Pacific Star Resort & Spa Guam, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Star Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.