We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Alright” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Star Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Star Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pacific Star Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627B Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands (Formerly Marriott Resort and Spa Guam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
1 review
“Its Alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros
-Beautiful location
-Right on the tourist strip and beach/bay. Within in a few blocks you can walk to several places to eat, shop, drink, or just go out back and enjoy the beach and the bay.
-Good snorkeling in shallow waters, just be cautious of the current, it is stronger than you'd think.
-Has a really good gym for a hotel and a decent cardio room.
-Great staff, they were always friendly and polite, as well as willing to help with any issue they could. In the cons there are a few things beyond their ability to help with...other than inform upper management.

Cons (during my stay)
-Your right next to the Pacific Islanders Club which is loud every night. They do turn it down later in the evening, but its not ideal if you have little ones your trying to get to bed, or your an early sleeper yourself.
-Only half of the washers/dryers worked. May not be a big deal unless you're trying to support several hundred people and you only have 7 washers and 6 dryers.
-There is no type of dehumidifier in the room, so the floor always felt damp and the room always smelled like mold.
-All the elevators were a month overdue inspection. Not too big a concern, until one becomes stuck several times.

Room Tip: The scenery is great on both sides of the hotel. If you kids or don't like a lot of noise, I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    22
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
7
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is nice and from the outside its beautiful. The rooms all wreak of mold, really bad. I stayed at the Pacific Islander Club last time I was here and would highly recommend it over this place. The amenities are better there and the rooms are nicer and mold free. It's an easy choice for next time.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only stopped here for one night, but had no complaints at all.

The staff were friendly and even managed to give me free wifi in my room which was a nice bonus. I had a beautiful view of the white sand beach out of my room which was lovely to wake up too.
Room was clean and tidy if somewhat slightly dated but comfy none the less, only downside was the noisy fridge!
The air conditioning worked great throughout the entire hotel.

One note I must make is the steak house in the basement quite simply served me the best steak I and my fellow travellers have ever had. Well worth going to try and paying the price for a AAA steak.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The location of this hotel is great. Yes the hotel is a bit run down but I think you would find this was the case at most hotels in Guam. The staff at this hotel were fantastic. Everyone from the check-in staff, housekeeping to the guys that work at the gym and pool. I've stayed at this hotel before and will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

The hotel itself is a bit old, but the location is still not bad at all.

The location is right on the beach and the water has a lot of corals to explore.

The snokrl gear, life jacket and kayaks were all free for the hotel guests. That isn't the case for all the hotels on the beach fron, so this is a definite bonus.

However, the hotel is older so guests can't expect fancy amenities and nice beds or great bathrooms. However, it isn't bad. I felt safe there and it offered enough for me.

Didn't try the food etc .. but restaurants are everywhere in Guam so are the supermarkets.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

During rush hour it takes about 10 minutes from the airport. Without traffic it is about 5 minutes. The rooms are old and tired. It is clean and safe and a good option for an overnight. It was nice and quiet and the bed is comfy. Nice staff too.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Walking into the lobby, you get a feel for the possibility of greatness. With a name like Pacific Star Resort and Spa, you get the vibe that it's going to be a very nice vacation destination. While this hotel may have lived up to the reputation it projects, It seems to have fallen on harder times. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the room had a musty-mildew smell upon entering. There were small stains on the sheets, and on the shower curtain. The showerhead had green mold or buildup of some kind on it. A trip to the store for some cleaning supplies though and this room wasn't too bad. Next door's "show" everynight is loud, and during the day they're playing music which can override the ability to watch tv or relax with a skype call back to the family at home, even with my staying on the 15th floor. The internet was roughly 290USD for three weeks, and had a tendency to drop offline at least once an hour for a few minutes at a time, longer if there were a momentary power surge. There are several locations nearby for dining and siteseeing. Overall, an average hotel at best. If i hadn't been staying here on the government's dime, I would have checked out and looked for a nicer place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Star Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Star Resort & Spa

Address: 627B Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands (Formerly Marriott Resort and Spa Guam)
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tumon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Star Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Star Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort And Spa Guam Hotel Tumon
Marriott Hotel Tumon
Marriott Hotel Guam
Marriott Tumon
Tumon Marriott
Pacific Star Resort & Spa Guam, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Star Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.