We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, dingy hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Star Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Pacific Star Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Star Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627B Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands (Formerly Marriott Resort and Spa Guam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Tumon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, dingy hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was extremely nice and even remembered by name when I came back 2 weeks later. Nice location but you can definitely tell that this resort has seen better days. Some extra work on cleaning up and making basic repairs would go a long way here to compliment the great people that they have working for them. New linens are a must at this place, they had a weird smell. Overall lots of potential but still lots of work to be done. A little removed from the main tourist/restaurant area of Tumon, but a manageable 20min walk or short taxi ride.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    12
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is clean for the most part. It could use a few upgrades most of the amenities are dated (especially in the bathroom). I ate at the Manhattan restaurant great service/really good food, but expensive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is within walking distance to K mart and Proa Restaurant (best ribs ever). Although it is far from the duty free mall area, there is a red bus/shuttle that picks up and brings back guests right in front of the hotel and the best part is that it is free. The room we stayed in was not new but it was the right size for our needs (2 double beds). The beach was really nice and the water was clean. Also, the person who's in charge of that area was friendly and efficient - he even gave us cold bottles of water as soon as we sat on the lounge chairs so we wouldn't get dehydrated by the heat.

Room Tip: I think the higher floors have been renovated because the hotel receptionist wanted to upgrade us to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for about 2 weeks. The rooms and nice and clean but the smell of humidity can get a little strong at times . The staff however is outstanding ! Very polite and sweet . The security guards cooking snacks Fridays was a wonderful experience and the guy ray I think is his name who works at the beach is awesome . We will definitely return to this hotel since the staff more than makes up for the humidity and outdated amenities .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rita, Mariana Islands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend stay for my husband's birthday weekend. I figured that with it being previously owned by Marriott it would have been a very nice hotel and comparable with the other big name hotels on the strip. First of all the website does not even list a phone number you have to Google it. But once I did get a number the reservation process was very easy. I was given the military rate and was even able to get a late check out of 2pm. The front desk staff was wonderful especially Hazel. (Impeccable customer service). The downside was that the A/C was not working and it was ridiculously hot and humid. Our room was clean for the most part but dated. The vents could use a good cleaning, curtains and patio furniture need replacing, and every fixture in the bathroom could use replacing. The wall paper is peeling at all the seems in our room and throughout the hotel and almost everywhere with the exception of the lobby needs painting. The pool deck needs repair and someone thought it was a good idea to use construction cones to mark these areas rather than fix the issues. The pool bar was good and priced accurately for hotel food. This hotel should be closed until brought up to standard of other ocean front hotels on the strip. The best part of this hotel is the Manhattan Steak House. It is rather pricey but worth every penny, service was great, food was wonderful, and the drinks were great. I would go back to the Pacific Star Resort if only to go to the restaurant. This hotel needs a complete overhaul and several gallons of paint and preferably a new maintenance staff.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you can until this whole is renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel hallways and rooms could be updated with more modern furniture but it looks like walls have been recently painted. Not much of a pool area and the beach is very small.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

You really do get the value of the price you pay when you stay in this former Marriott hotel. There's nothing fantastic or terrible about this place. It's just in the middle: it's okay. If it's going to be your first time in Guam and you have the extra money to splurge, I encourage you to stay in Outrigger, the Hyatt or the Westin. The Pacific Star hotel would have been a lot nicer to stay in if the Tumon Shuttle or the Guahan Shuttle bus stops in front of it like it did before. Now, you would have to walk a good 5 minutes to the nearby Pacific Islands Club for the nearest bus stop or right across it if you're going the other route (i.e. Micronesia Mall side) and that's never good under the blazing sun. If your'e a party of 4 or 5, you're better off riding a cab - the cost will exponentially be the same and you save time instead of waiting for the shuttle which sometimes last a good 5 minutes. Going back to the hotel - the wifi in the lobby is free but the wifi in the rooms come at a cost - 15 USD per day - which is in my opinon a bloody rip off. The pool is dirty! And the pool bar needs an upgrade in terms of the chair and the menu. Would I stay here again? Sure - if I can get the room rate I did when I booked this hotel which was under a $100.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Star Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Star Resort & Spa

Address: 627B Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands (Formerly Marriott Resort and Spa Guam)
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tumon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Star Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pacific Star Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort And Spa Guam Hotel Tumon
Marriott Hotel Tumon
Marriott Hotel Guam
Marriott Tumon
Tumon Marriott
Pacific Star Resort & Spa Guam, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Star Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.