We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location, nice beach and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Star Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Pacific Star Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Star Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627B Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands (Formerly Marriott Resort and Spa Guam)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Tumon
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“convenient location, nice beach and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is within walking distance to K mart and Proa Restaurant (best ribs ever). Although it is far from the duty free mall area, there is a red bus/shuttle that picks up and brings back guests right in front of the hotel and the best part is that it is free. The room we stayed in was not new but it was the right size for our needs (2 double beds). The beach was really nice and the water was clean. Also, the person who's in charge of that area was friendly and efficient - he even gave us cold bottles of water as soon as we sat on the lounge chairs so we wouldn't get dehydrated by the heat.

Room Tip: I think the higher floors have been renovated because the hotel receptionist wanted to upgrade us to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for about 2 weeks. The rooms and nice and clean but the smell of humidity can get a little strong at times . The staff however is outstanding ! Very polite and sweet . The security guards cooking snacks Fridays was a wonderful experience and the guy ray I think is his name who works at the beach is awesome . We will definitely return to this hotel since the staff more than makes up for the humidity and outdated amenities .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rita, Mariana Islands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for a weekend stay for my husband's birthday weekend. I figured that with it being previously owned by Marriott it would have been a very nice hotel and comparable with the other big name hotels on the strip. First of all the website does not even list a phone number you have to Google it. But once I did get a number the reservation process was very easy. I was given the military rate and was even able to get a late check out of 2pm. The front desk staff was wonderful especially Hazel. (Impeccable customer service). The downside was that the A/C was not working and it was ridiculously hot and humid. Our room was clean for the most part but dated. The vents could use a good cleaning, curtains and patio furniture need replacing, and every fixture in the bathroom could use replacing. The wall paper is peeling at all the seems in our room and throughout the hotel and almost everywhere with the exception of the lobby needs painting. The pool deck needs repair and someone thought it was a good idea to use construction cones to mark these areas rather than fix the issues. The pool bar was good and priced accurately for hotel food. This hotel should be closed until brought up to standard of other ocean front hotels on the strip. The best part of this hotel is the Manhattan Steak House. It is rather pricey but worth every penny, service was great, food was wonderful, and the drinks were great. I would go back to the Pacific Star Resort if only to go to the restaurant. This hotel needs a complete overhaul and several gallons of paint and preferably a new maintenance staff.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you can until this whole is renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel hallways and rooms could be updated with more modern furniture but it looks like walls have been recently painted. Not much of a pool area and the beach is very small.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

You really do get the value of the price you pay when you stay in this former Marriott hotel. There's nothing fantastic or terrible about this place. It's just in the middle: it's okay. If it's going to be your first time in Guam and you have the extra money to splurge, I encourage you to stay in Outrigger, the Hyatt or the Westin. The Pacific Star hotel would have been a lot nicer to stay in if the Tumon Shuttle or the Guahan Shuttle bus stops in front of it like it did before. Now, you would have to walk a good 5 minutes to the nearby Pacific Islands Club for the nearest bus stop or right across it if you're going the other route (i.e. Micronesia Mall side) and that's never good under the blazing sun. If your'e a party of 4 or 5, you're better off riding a cab - the cost will exponentially be the same and you save time instead of waiting for the shuttle which sometimes last a good 5 minutes. Going back to the hotel - the wifi in the lobby is free but the wifi in the rooms come at a cost - 15 USD per day - which is in my opinon a bloody rip off. The pool is dirty! And the pool bar needs an upgrade in terms of the chair and the menu. Would I stay here again? Sure - if I can get the room rate I did when I booked this hotel which was under a $100.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

It is old and somewhat rundown,the location is great and it does have everything you come to expect in a large hotel,the staff were all friendly and helpful.We have eaten in hotels in many countries and the lunch buffet here was the best quality food we've ever had in a hotel and only $18.00.We were experiencing another country and if the room was a bit shabby, what the heck.
We had a balcony room overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you have to travel to Guam for Business (or Leisure), the Marriott is a great location to stay. Sitting on the beautiful shores of Tumon Bay with its white sand beaches it is a good spot for both work and Play. The staff is friendly and courteous and the accommodations are clean. This is a tropical island and very humid, so you may see signs of mildew, but the hotel does its best to keep on top of it.

Room Tip: The higher the better, to get the breathtaking views of Tumon Bay. The scenery to the North side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Star Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Star Resort & Spa

Address: 627B Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands (Formerly Marriott Resort and Spa Guam)
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tumon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Star Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Star Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort And Spa Guam Hotel Tumon
Marriott Hotel Tumon
Marriott Hotel Guam
Marriott Tumon
Tumon Marriott
Pacific Star Resort & Spa Guam, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Star Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.