We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant next to Ipao Beach Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proa Restaurant

Proa Restaurant
429 Pale San Vitores Rd., Tumon, Guam, Mariana Islands
(671)646-7762
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Tumon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Guam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant next to Ipao Beach Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This restaurant is a small place with great ambiance. The service is great and the food is very good, well prepared and unique. I have never been disappointed when eating here and feel it is one of the best on Guam.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    150
    47
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paauilo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best meal on Guam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

great food, service and location... a must for anyone interested in well-prepared and delicious food

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went there around 13:00. We didnt need to wait for a table. We ordered the day's special menu( I don't remember the name, sorry). Chiken was SO huge. Thats why, until having our plates take a long time but taste was much worth that. Chiken was a little too much pepper on the top, but taste was really good. My order was beef with mash potatos and some vegies. Mash potato... this was super tasty!!! Also, staff were very friendly and very considerate. Proa is the best restaurant in Guam!!! You can get there by taking a red bus. After you get off it at PIC hotel, just walk forward like 5min. Secound store is comming soon near the Chamorro village.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Recommended by a friend, Proa was a pleasant surprise! I have been to Guam so many times and never tried this little restaurant right next to the beach I usually hang out at. Glad I finally did. The food was great, the portions were big and the staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely my best dining experience in Guam to date! Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy, long wait, some tables went empty.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ok, I'll get this off my chest first. Yes, the wait was long. They said an hour and it was an hour. No bar to wait at but they did serve us drinks while we waited. We waited in a chair directly across from the dessert display case which was full of amazing cakes. That said, I'll start with our dessert, which was the sampler plate - delicious! It included a chocolate brownie, mango brûlée, banana coconut encrusted fritter & some cookies. Now that we have had the sampler we will definitely go for a slice of cake & I say we because the pieces are huge. Definitely share size.

After drinking so much during the wait & ogling desserts we decided to have a light dinner (to save room for the desserts!). Our appetizer was the beggars purse; a crepe filled with poke. Very tasty. And for dinner we shared the lobster- delish! It was a special so might not be available every evening.

A tip, our hotel conceriege told us Pora didn't take reservations (thanks Marriottt) but the waiter told us they do. What can happen is the reservations list fills up and then the dont take any more. So give them a call and try for a reservation. Otherwise show up and wait but it will be worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Proa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.