We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Resort in The World” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   470 Farenholt Avenue, Tamuning, Guam 96913 , Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tamuning
Novato, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“The Worst Resort in The World”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The place is filthy inside. The rooms are in a state of ill repair. The staff is inattentive and does nothing to prevent rowdy individuals from making loud noise in the center atrium at 3:00 AM waking other guests.

Having traveled to nearly 100 countries over the past 50 years I can honestly say this was the worst experience I have ever had at a supposed "Luxury Resort" as they bill themselves.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear TheBlum
Thank you for making the time to share your feedback about us. I noticed that you stayed with us last year May 2012? I would love to extend an invitation to stay with us should an opportunity takes you here. Sheraton’s location is discreet and it is a perfect escape if you seek serenity and relaxing atmosphere. Our associates are known for their “hafa adai” spirit and our guests make the time to recognize them. Please feel free to contact me directly for your future visit to Guam. We will be pleased to have you back with us.
Best,
Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    194
    121
    40
    39
See reviews for
179
132
33
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the first time I visited Guam. Guam is a beautiful island with great beaches.

I spent a lot of time to search many information about the hotels.
And, the Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort is the choice.
The lobby look fine. The room is not so satisfactory. I hate the breakfast is almost the same between 3 days.
The pools are great with different views.
The traffic is not so convenient to the main street from this hotel. You have to rent a car.
Service? I don't feel the passion in such a sunny island. Sorry!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear DInoHuang1971,
Allow us to welcome you back to us. Let me know the next time you will be visiting Guam. Our associates are hospitable and manage to extend the island’s hafa adai spirit to our guests. Our breakfast buffet has a wide range of selection. Whether you’ll have fruits and yogurt today and a full breakfast with fresh omelet made for you the next day, the variety is there. Our location is a perfect getaway from the daily hassle that we face. Serene, relax and blissful especially while swimming in our Infinity Pool as the sun is setting. The beauty of Guam is that it is a small island. Everything is within minutes of driving distance. Shopping buses are available to our hotel every 8 minutes and they run throughout the day until evening hours. Renting a car is a great option allowing you to truly see the island and not just the main streets.
Thank you for your time to share your stay experience about us.
Warmest regards,
Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have tried many places in Guam and I keep coming back to the Sheraton - for its value and for its style. If you have never been to Guam you need to "reset" your expectations for what good looks like - there was a serious investment in development in Guam about 10-15 years ago - and most properties are in a real need for refurbishment these days. Also - this is definitely a vacation place for japanese and korean tourists - and the properties definitely cater to them - as they should as they make up the vast majority of guests! Just be prepared for the breakfast buffet to be asian oriented - and not western!

That being said - for the money the Sheraton really can't be beat on Guam. Now - if you have children this is not the best place for you - there really is no beach - but they do have anb amazing pool! But if you are just looking for a quick break for some R&R this place is awesome - the staff is attentive, the rooms are decent - and if you are willing to pay a little more for a club level room you will have a blast! Free breakfast - free dirnks from 5-8pm, and great treatment - all for a price comprarable to the other places regular room rates...

Compared to the other properties no place can touch the Sheraton for value - for the price of a regular room at most properties you can get a club room or a suite at the Sheraton - and the only thing you give up is walking access to the shopping - and they will bring you there anyways for free so no big deal (at least to me).

Now - this place is not perfect - but no place on Guam is these days! Guam is a great weekend getaway and you can't beat the sheraton for value. I've tried them all and there is a reason I keep coming back - good gym, good spam great food, great service, great club level, and for the money great rooms. Does it need a refresh - yes! But so does every other property on Guam. If you have been to Guam then you know what I mean - this place can't be beat for the value - and that's why we go to Guam for vacation - isn't it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jonathan W,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback about Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort. We enjoy having you with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. On your next visit, experience the sunset while in the Infinity Pool, or have a cocktail at The Point, sit facing the lagoon and witness an amazing sunset on the horizon.


My best,
Ami Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Location: far from city center
Beach: no beach! It is at the ocean, but has no beach which was very disappointing for me. But, you can learn to surf if you wish, as they have teachers in house
Building: old. Furniture is old and bath towels are very old!
Service: very good, staff is generally friendly
Food: average
Pool: one big and one smaller one. Good ones

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Handaashka,
Wow, Mongolia, it truly was a pleasure having you and your colleagues with us. Thank you for the opportunity to welcome you in Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort. Sheraton sits atop Oka Point where you are greeted with the warm clear blue waters of the Pacific. Because it is where Rick’s Reef, the Surfing Point is located, surfing is definitely one of the Sheraton Adventures that you can enjoy with us where personalized instructor is at your leisure.
We missed you and everyone. We would love to see you back with us soon! Please feel free to contact me for your upcoming visit. We have enjoyed you as our guest and hope that you have enjoyed Sheraton just as much.
Hafa Adai from Guam!
Amilyn Salas – Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. We expected our rooms to be updated like the lobby, but they were very old and run down. The wall paper was peeling off of the walls in the hallway and rooms were in need of a renovation. The pool and slide were fun, but then again could definitely use some remodeling. The location was great and the view outside to the ocean was gorgeous. After staying at other Sheraton resorts you have expectations and this did fell short of the typical expected class of Sheraton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Andrea R,

We always appreciate our guest feedbacks. Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. I will be sure to let our staff know and if you have anyone in specific that you would like to mention, please let us know so we will be able to recognize our Sheraton Star. You are absolutely right – it is due time for our renovation. Though minor fixtures are done regularly, refurbishment is much needed. There is a plan but schedule has not been finalized yet. I will be sure to keep you posted. I hope to see you then if not sooner. Please feel free to contact me directly for any queries regarding Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort.

My best,
Amilyn Salas – Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Arrival/Rooms - Front desk staff is fast, informative, friendly and overall awesome at what they do. I was in my room within 10 minutes of arrival. The rooms are good size, but if you value your privacy in the bathroom, get a suite. The bathroom walls are a thick plexi-glass and although there are blinds you can lower, they still don't suit most peoples needs for personal space and privacy. The suite on the other hand has a large sitting area and a bedroom separated by a door, making things much more private. THE SUITE IS WORTH EVERY EXTRA PENNY.

View - Every room has a view so no worries there, it's just which view you prefer. I liked the lagoon view as opposed to the infinity pool/ocean view (pictured).

Lounge - The lounge is really nice. The attendant Max will accommodate your every need. The food in the lounge is average to good depending on the night and booze is served until 8PM. It is the perfect spot to wind down after a long day and sit and watch some TV with people in a less intimate setting than a room yet more personal than the bar.

Bar - The lobby bar called The Point offers quality booze and excellent service. Comfortable furniture, great views and decent prices. I would like to thank the bar staff at The Point and the pool bar for helping take the sting out of a long trip away from home and also for the killer hangovers in the morning. I'd thank you all by name but for some reason I can't remember...

Food - Go to La Cascata for dinner every night (breakfast if you can afford it too). Different themed food for dinner every day of the week at an all you can eat buffet. Well worth the cost of around $20-30. Trust me, just go.

Entertainment - There are different cultural dinner-shows every night, you can skip the cost of dinner, go to the third floor and watch from the balcony. If you don't want to go to the show, it will come to you anyways. It is loud enough to hear in your room over your TV unless you are almost all the way at the end of the hallway. To circumvent this, just request a room as far away from the lobby as possible.

Location - This hotel is a fair distance from the touristy part of Guam but there are shuttle that run quite often and cabs are fairly cheap.

Room Tip: -Lagoon view -High floor -As far away from lobby as possible -Suite well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Kyle W,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience with us. We appreciate your feedback. Yes, Sheraton projects a sense of ease and comfort because of our associates’ enthusiasm and their “Hafa Adai Spirit” coupled with Sheraton’s breathtaking view of the ocean and its open structure with high ceiling as you set foot in the lobby.

Our guests such as yourself mentioned as to how wonderful it would be to have variety of cuisines served in our restaurants. We listened and put together a spectacular taste of theme buffets daily in La Cascata.

The Point, our lobby lounge is exactly what it is: a restaurant and lounge overlooking the lagoon where you can enjoy Sheraton’s collection of wines of the world, premium beverages, line up of healthy beverages plus Starbucks coffee all day both for your leisure time and business hours.

Please continue to let us know what you think and like us in FACEBOOK and share more and participate in our guest survey by logging in to your SPG.COM account.

I look forward for your return soon. Thank you once again for making us your home away from home.

Best,
Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December 2012 for about 10 days and were very disappointed with the condition the property was at and the service. Since there is too much to complain about, I will just summarize the main points:
- rooms are very old and run down, try to get the third floor, which is the only one that has been renovated.
- be prepared to a very loud noise coming from the dinner party with dancing show in the middle of the hotel between 7pm and sometime around 10pm every single day.
- be also aware of a different parties going on in the hotel just about every night till 12am with loud music and zero parking space (the hotel doesn't have a parking space designated for hotel guests).
- although the staff is nice and trying to be helpful, there is certainly more talking and promises than the actual actions.

Room Tip: get a room on the third floor (the only floor which has been renovated) away from the middle section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Arizon_Scuba1,

Thank you for taking the time to share you stay experience with us. We value your feedback.

As management, we are aware of our room condition and it is in our renovation plan to refurbish our guestrooms. Unfortunately, our plan may not take place for another year or so, but it is due time.
The dinner parties you have experience were mainly because of the holiday events that our business community hold every year. December thus by far is and has been known to be the busiest time of the year for Guam; not just for Sheraton. You are right, the dinner and show that is held nightly is located in the Atrium where the noise funnels through. As a hospitable courtesy from the hotel, the dinner and show's current location enable our guests to enjoy from atop. It is located at the center of our hotel and guests are often spotted taking photos as the show goes on. The show runs for 45 minutes. The other noise after the show am sure were affiliated with the holiday events that were taking place especially during your stay with us.
In reference to the parking spaces that you pointed out, thank you for your feedback. Becahse of your feedback, we have allocated dedicated parking spaces for our in-house guests whenever major events are held in the hotel to ensure we do not inconvenience our in house guests. Valet parking has been made available for our in-house guests' convenience and valet parking fees are waived then.
My sincere thanks for taking the time to let us know of your experience with us. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back soon or any future visits you may have to Guam. Perhaps, when we are opportune with any future visit that you may have to Guam, a complimentary upgrade to higher floor on a different wing of the hotel to truly experience the serenity and comfort that The Sheraton offers as you sit outside your balcony overlooking the lagoon and the breath taking view of the ocean on the horizon will be available for you. Please feel free to contact me at amilyn.salas@sheraton.com. I would love to hear more about other items that we did not fulfill while visiting that had given you the impression were empty promises made.

My best,
Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort

Address: 470 Farenholt Avenue, Tamuning, Guam 96913 , Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tamuning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tamuning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Laguna Guam Hotel Tamuning
Sheraton Tamuning
Tamuning Sheraton
Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort Tamuning

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.