We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old big building.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   470 Farenholt Avenue, Tamuning, Guam 96913 , Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tamuning
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old big building.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Location: far from city center
Beach: no beach! It is at the ocean, but has no beach which was very disappointing for me. But, you can learn to surf if you wish, as they have teachers in house
Building: old. Furniture is old and bath towels are very old!
Service: very good, staff is generally friendly
Food: average
Pool: one big and one smaller one. Good ones

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Handaashka,
Wow, Mongolia, it truly was a pleasure having you and your colleagues with us. Thank you for the opportunity to welcome you in Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort. Sheraton sits atop Oka Point where you are greeted with the warm clear blue waters of the Pacific. Because it is where Rick’s Reef, the Surfing Point is located, surfing is definitely one of the Sheraton Adventures that you can enjoy with us where personalized instructor is at your leisure.
We missed you and everyone. We would love to see you back with us soon! Please feel free to contact me for your upcoming visit. We have enjoyed you as our guest and hope that you have enjoyed Sheraton just as much.
Hafa Adai from Guam!
Amilyn Salas – Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    206
    127
    40
    41
See reviews for
187
143
34
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. We expected our rooms to be updated like the lobby, but they were very old and run down. The wall paper was peeling off of the walls in the hallway and rooms were in need of a renovation. The pool and slide were fun, but then again could definitely use some remodeling. The location was great and the view outside to the ocean was gorgeous. After staying at other Sheraton resorts you have expectations and this did fell short of the typical expected class of Sheraton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Andrea R,

We always appreciate our guest feedbacks. Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. I will be sure to let our staff know and if you have anyone in specific that you would like to mention, please let us know so we will be able to recognize our Sheraton Star. You are absolutely right – it is due time for our renovation. Though minor fixtures are done regularly, refurbishment is much needed. There is a plan but schedule has not been finalized yet. I will be sure to keep you posted. I hope to see you then if not sooner. Please feel free to contact me directly for any queries regarding Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort.

My best,
Amilyn Salas – Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Arrival/Rooms - Front desk staff is fast, informative, friendly and overall awesome at what they do. I was in my room within 10 minutes of arrival. The rooms are good size, but if you value your privacy in the bathroom, get a suite. The bathroom walls are a thick plexi-glass and although there are blinds you can lower, they still don't suit most peoples needs for personal space and privacy. The suite on the other hand has a large sitting area and a bedroom separated by a door, making things much more private. THE SUITE IS WORTH EVERY EXTRA PENNY.

View - Every room has a view so no worries there, it's just which view you prefer. I liked the lagoon view as opposed to the infinity pool/ocean view (pictured).

Lounge - The lounge is really nice. The attendant Max will accommodate your every need. The food in the lounge is average to good depending on the night and booze is served until 8PM. It is the perfect spot to wind down after a long day and sit and watch some TV with people in a less intimate setting than a room yet more personal than the bar.

Bar - The lobby bar called The Point offers quality booze and excellent service. Comfortable furniture, great views and decent prices. I would like to thank the bar staff at The Point and the pool bar for helping take the sting out of a long trip away from home and also for the killer hangovers in the morning. I'd thank you all by name but for some reason I can't remember...

Food - Go to La Cascata for dinner every night (breakfast if you can afford it too). Different themed food for dinner every day of the week at an all you can eat buffet. Well worth the cost of around $20-30. Trust me, just go.

Entertainment - There are different cultural dinner-shows every night, you can skip the cost of dinner, go to the third floor and watch from the balcony. If you don't want to go to the show, it will come to you anyways. It is loud enough to hear in your room over your TV unless you are almost all the way at the end of the hallway. To circumvent this, just request a room as far away from the lobby as possible.

Location - This hotel is a fair distance from the touristy part of Guam but there are shuttle that run quite often and cabs are fairly cheap.

Room Tip: -Lagoon view -High floor -As far away from lobby as possible -Suite well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Kyle W,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience with us. We appreciate your feedback. Yes, Sheraton projects a sense of ease and comfort because of our associates’ enthusiasm and their “Hafa Adai Spirit” coupled with Sheraton’s breathtaking view of the ocean and its open structure with high ceiling as you set foot in the lobby.

Our guests such as yourself mentioned as to how wonderful it would be to have variety of cuisines served in our restaurants. We listened and put together a spectacular taste of theme buffets daily in La Cascata.

The Point, our lobby lounge is exactly what it is: a restaurant and lounge overlooking the lagoon where you can enjoy Sheraton’s collection of wines of the world, premium beverages, line up of healthy beverages plus Starbucks coffee all day both for your leisure time and business hours.

Please continue to let us know what you think and like us in FACEBOOK and share more and participate in our guest survey by logging in to your SPG.COM account.

I look forward for your return soon. Thank you once again for making us your home away from home.

Best,
Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December 2012 for about 10 days and were very disappointed with the condition the property was at and the service. Since there is too much to complain about, I will just summarize the main points:
- rooms are very old and run down, try to get the third floor, which is the only one that has been renovated.
- be prepared to a very loud noise coming from the dinner party with dancing show in the middle of the hotel between 7pm and sometime around 10pm every single day.
- be also aware of a different parties going on in the hotel just about every night till 12am with loud music and zero parking space (the hotel doesn't have a parking space designated for hotel guests).
- although the staff is nice and trying to be helpful, there is certainly more talking and promises than the actual actions.

Room Tip: get a room on the third floor (the only floor which has been renovated) away from the middle section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Arizon_Scuba1,

Thank you for taking the time to share you stay experience with us. We value your feedback.

As management, we are aware of our room condition and it is in our renovation plan to refurbish our guestrooms. Unfortunately, our plan may not take place for another year or so, but it is due time.
The dinner parties you have experience were mainly because of the holiday events that our business community hold every year. December thus by far is and has been known to be the busiest time of the year for Guam; not just for Sheraton. You are right, the dinner and show that is held nightly is located in the Atrium where the noise funnels through. As a hospitable courtesy from the hotel, the dinner and show's current location enable our guests to enjoy from atop. It is located at the center of our hotel and guests are often spotted taking photos as the show goes on. The show runs for 45 minutes. The other noise after the show am sure were affiliated with the holiday events that were taking place especially during your stay with us.
In reference to the parking spaces that you pointed out, thank you for your feedback. Becahse of your feedback, we have allocated dedicated parking spaces for our in-house guests whenever major events are held in the hotel to ensure we do not inconvenience our in house guests. Valet parking has been made available for our in-house guests' convenience and valet parking fees are waived then.
My sincere thanks for taking the time to let us know of your experience with us. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back soon or any future visits you may have to Guam. Perhaps, when we are opportune with any future visit that you may have to Guam, a complimentary upgrade to higher floor on a different wing of the hotel to truly experience the serenity and comfort that The Sheraton offers as you sit outside your balcony overlooking the lagoon and the breath taking view of the ocean on the horizon will be available for you. Please feel free to contact me at amilyn.salas@sheraton.com. I would love to hear more about other items that we did not fulfill while visiting that had given you the impression were empty promises made.

My best,
Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our 4th time in Guam but our first time at the Sheraton Laguna. We usually travel with our family, but this time it was just my wife and I for our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed in a suite and they kindly booked us into the 11th floor. The suite was just gorgeous, lots of space and beautifully appointed. 2 balconies with amazing views. It was also wonderful to have access to the Starwood lounge, with access to wifi, a fridge stocked with soft drinks, snacks at set times, as well as breakfast.

On our last night we were walking back to the hotel when it really started to rain. A car pulled up and the drive asked if we'd like a drive to the hotel. We told him how much we enjoyed the Sheraton and he said 'I'm glad to hear that, I work here'. He gave us his card and when we looked at it we discovered he was the general manager. On finding out it was our anniversary he sent lovely gifts up to our room. He then organised a transfer back to the airport. With a GM like Ben the Sheraton Laguna is in great hands!

We found the other staff also very friendly, particularly Natsumi at the front desk!

Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: Book a suite with Starwood lounge access. Either hire a car or use the trolley cars to get to shopp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hafa Adai from Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort 0986!
Our General Manager sends his personal thanks to you and he was quite relief that he was there as the rain started to pour. He vividly recalls his chance meeting with you. Thank you for celebrating your special moments with us. Your story becomes our story to share and it is how our Sheraton Family stay connected with our guests like you. We look forward to welcome you back with us next year! Please let us know the next time you will visit us again.
Sincerely, Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were very grateful that because of my Platinum status, we were able to check in at 7am after a tiring overnight flight from Manila. We were given an ocean-facing suite and it was really awesome! We were also granted late check-out at 4pm! The location is a 10 mins drive from the main tourist hub, and I appreciate the tranquility, and transportation is not a problem if you drive. Even if you don't, I see frequent shuttle buses at the hotel itself. The hotel has an amazing ocean-facing infinity pool which is pure enjoyment! We also visited the Japanese fine dining restaurant, The President, within the hotel, which serves excellent Japanese cuisine too! It was an extremely enjoyable stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear nemrac_coco,

As SPG Platinum member, you are sure to experience the best! Thank you so much for making the time to share your great feedback about us. It is true, Sheraton’s beauty its exclusive location. Sitting atop the Oka Point where you find yourself looking at the most mesmerizing ocean view.

We value your loyalty with us. Please continue to share your experience about us and go to our SPG.com website and participate in our guest survey and like us on our FACEBOOK. We’ll have a special gift for you on your next return.

Please let any of us know of your upcoming visit again. It will be nice to be able to say hello to you in person.

My best,
Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family and I loved it here. The service was okay, but it would be nice if the staff showed more interests in customers. It is a bit pricy but worth it. Was able to get sleep, but if your a light sleeper like me, then the request a room at the end or else you will hear your neighbor when they turn on the shower or flush the toilet. Room service was good. The location was great because it is next to a store and water park.The breakfast is a must! I would not mind staying here again on my next trip to Guam!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesva001, Director of Sales at Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Jane S,

My sincere gratitude for your valuable time to share your experience with us. Thank you.

I have shared your comments especially regarding your experience with our associate's interaction. We will continue to provide training for our team members to better our service excellence. Our "Hafa Adai Spirit" as we call it is one of our strongest assets amongst our associates. Please let me know which area of our service or venue that you have experience the inattentiveness so we can go back to ensure we correct them.
I look forward to hear from you. As management, we value your feedback to our betterment.

Thank you once again and I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back with us soon if not in the near future. It will be quite nice to be able to say, "Hello, Welcome Back to Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort".

Best,

Amilyn Salas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort

Address: 470 Farenholt Avenue, Tamuning, Guam 96913 , Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tamuning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tamuning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Laguna Guam Hotel Tamuning
Sheraton Tamuning
Tamuning Sheraton
Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort Tamuning

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.