We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Guam-Tamuning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Guam-Tamuning to your Saves list
Days Inn Guam-Tamuning
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Ypao Road, Tamuning, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tamuning
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for just a few days before we moved off island - the only reason we chose this location was that we'd been told they accept cats (the two other "pet friendly" hotels only allow dogs). I had made my reservations through Wyndham and they did not communicate our pet reservation to the hotel, so we had an issue right upon check in. It turns out that there are only TWO pet friendly rooms in this hotel, despite the pets accepted policy posted on the internet. This was not mentioned by the Wyndham reservation agent and I was not directed to call the local property (as many other hotels require). Luckily, I was able to work this out with the front desk agent but I was really disappointed and frustrated before it was over!
We also found the parking area to be much too small! The hotel shares the tiny space with a car rental agency, a restaurant and a construction office - it was very difficult to find any parking and just about any time of day!
The parking situation also caused a great deal of noise! It was a bad idea to design this hotel as an open atrium above the parking area! We also had a room on the front of the hotel, so there was also a lot of noise from the street.
We actually found the room itself quite comfortable, with a refrigerator and microwave, and the location didn't bother us very much as we were already familiar with the area. As other posters have noted, you will definitely need a car if you stay here as there is pretty much nothing nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter. Call the hotel directly if you have a pet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    40
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
26
16
22
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is not close to anything but a gas station. No shopping or beaches. It is behind the airport. The staff is very friendly but that's all this hotel has going for it. The AC was not on in the halls or the elevators and it was extremely hot. The rooms smelled very musty and the rugs were dirty and damp. This hotel could use a total renovation.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Clean rooms, beds average (I prefer a firmer mattress), very courteous and helpful staff. I don't feel like a hotel snob, but I appreciated that it felt newly remodeled and modern. The carpet looked new as did the furniture. When you first walk into the room, you'll be impressed with the place, especially for the price (we paid $65 /nt for 2 queen beds), but as others have commented the walls are thin and do not block out your neighbors very well at all. We were fortunate that ours didn't stay up too late, but even their regular activity (like watching TV) would have kept us up.
Breakfast is a box of Winchell donuts set up on a table on your way out the door and I think some coffee you can make for yourself.
We're pretty price sensitive travelers so have to put up with these kinds of inconveniences. We also stayed at the Royal Orchid which was a bit nicer (and a little outdated) for the same price.
One big bonus with this place was the free wi-fi, which is hard to get on the island. The Royal Orchid wanted $15 /day I think.

Room Tip: Try getting a room that doesn't share a wall with a neighboring room (if possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

If you read all the reviews, you get the general idea. There isn't much to add.
There is always (awful) coffee and doughnuts. The female staff are friendly and helpful; most of the male staff are only helpful. There is a single guest washing machine and dryer, which is helpful. But they don't sell soap! The cleanliness is not bad. One housekeeper (Ann) will take care of you excellently provided you don't treat her like a servant. It's a Days Inn (not known for 5-star rooms), and it's very small island. Thus, each room has its own unique falling apart at the seams problem whether through neglect or ocean air. The supplied microwave is weak- don't try popcorn! You are allowed to use the pool at the Ramada down the road as they are under the same ownership. We didn't get that piece of useful information until it wasn't useful. Parking can be tight at times and it does fill up. They have a decent room/car package (ask).
The biggest consideration is the NOISE. You get street level noise if your room is on the side of Ypao Rd; the paper thin connecting doors are a joke (our neighbors started partying at 20:00 and were still going when we left for the airport at 0345- we heard every word/sound); the lousy architectural design (the architect should be forced to stay here for a month and see what a stupid plan it was) means you not only hear your neighbors but the doors slamming on cars coming and going in the parking area, *every* door in *every* room of the place when it closes, and the elevator "ding" no matter where your room is. Ear plugs worked for two of us, but the other light sleeper had a huge problem with the almost constant noise. So, either tolerate this noise and the other little things that make this an inconvenient option, or double the price for a better place.
Would we do it again? Maybe, if there aren't many people and we could be *guaranteed* a room with no neighbors (see above about staff). If they disconnected the elevator "ding," bricked up those useless connecting doors, and installed better room doors, this place would be ideal for us. Until that time, read ALL the reviews and look at the good and bad points. Know you WILL have noise! Consider your options.

Room Tip: Any room with no one next door (on either side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I love the price. It is very hard to find a decent place to stay in Guam for under a $100. It is not a resort by an means so if your looking for that, look elsewhere. It does however offer a clean room at a decent price. Plenty of cable tv channels. It had free internet in the lobby so I could print my boarding pass. It was also quiet. Breakfast was Winchell Donuts.

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korea
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The location sucks big time... The noise is ridiculouise and the roaches running around the room just adds to the bad experience... Really disappointed...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Pros: Overall, the Days Inn in Tamuning is a pretty good value for money. The check-in staff were friendly and helpful; and the room itself was pretty clean. Parking was a bit tight, but not really much of a big deal. The hotel is off of a street that has lots of residences and a few small convenience stores, but if you have a car, it's easy and quick to get to the GPO and Ypau areas where you can access restaurants and supermarkets. The lobby has donuts and coffee, and be sure to check out the assortment of brochures, maps, and other helpful tidbits to help you get familiar with the island and all the stuff that you can do. We especially made use of the map and info. in the restaurant guide. There's also a free shuttle if you don't have a car if you want to go into town.

Cons: The walls are really thin, especially because each room has a door which leads directly to the next room. The door remains locked, so it's secure, i.e. you don't have to worry about people from the other room coming in, and you yourself cannot access the next room. BUT - we definitely heard the couple next door, which was not cool especially because we are an extra considerate couple ourselves. Aside from all the noise they were making whilst "in the act", we also heard their TV and their conversations. So, if you're a light sleeper, I suggest trying to get a room where no one is next door.

Overall: it wasn't luxury, but if you're just looking for a place to sleep like we were, it's pretty good. We're young, traveler types that don't really take life too seriously. But I am OCD about cleanliness and our room @ the Days Inn was up to snuff for me. I kind of remember that we were able to access their WiFi, but I'm not sure. We spent most of our time out of the room - visiting beaches, shopping, and eating anyway. But if you're looking for an all inclusive type of resort, check out some of the pricier options along the beachfront.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where no one else is next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Guam-Tamuning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Guam-Tamuning

Address: 155 Ypao Road, Tamuning, Guam 96913, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tamuning
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tamuning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Guam-Tamuning 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Guam-Tamuning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Guam-Tamuning Hotel Tamuning
Days Inn Tamuning
Tamuning Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Guam-Tamuning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.