We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritidian Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ritidian Point

Ritidian Point
Route 3A, Agana, Guam, Mariana Islands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Agana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This gorgeous, white sand beach offers great swimming, but watch out for the strong current.
Santa Rita, GU
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ritidian Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Fun hike along beautiful beach and through jungle. See relics of ancient Chamorro village, caves, old well. Bring lunch and sit under the shade of the old Australian pines. Little museum (free) about Guam's wildlife. All day adventure. Go early, open 8am-dusk. Not open when wind and waves are turbulent. 45 minute drive from Tumon.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    34
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“secluded beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Definitely a must do when in Guam...only 20 mins out of town and totally secluded/beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiki, Japan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“How to drive to Ritidian Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Ritidian beach is so beautiful and looks even better than Tumon beach in my opinion. We decided to drive there in the rental car even though some people on this website had warned against it due to the amount of potholes in the road on route 3A.

To get this far, from Tumon, get on route 1 going north. Look out for the route 3 turning. It is not well sign posted unlike most junctions on the island. To get onto route 3, keep driving on route 1 and drive through the junction for Micronesia Mall. So you are still on route 1. But soon, on the left there is a turning for another route. This is route 3.

On Route 3 you should pass a McDonalds on your left. The road will get gradually narrower and narrower. Finally, the road splits and you wanna take the left fork for route 3A. Again, this is not well signposted and both times I went I realized 10 seconds too late that we'd passed it. If you fell like the road is bending a lot to the right, and there was a junction that you just passed, chances are, you've just missed the turning for route 3A.

Route 3A is pot hole nightmare. A lot of the way, there are pot holes all over the place. However, the road is exceptionally quiet to it is fine to slow down if you need to, and even dodge them by driving on the wrong side of the road for a moment. This will last for about 15 minutes.

After you go down a steepish hill with a great view of the sea, you will see a sign for 'Ritidian Unit'. This may look like it is telling you to take a turning off left onto an untarmaced piece of road. IT ISN'T! Don't turn left. We did, and we weren't the only ones as we passed another rental car after we'd turned back. Stay on the tarmac and you will soon come to a building with some parking spaces. Drive past the building and park up next to the trees on the right - there will probably be other cars parked around there too. Park up and walk for 30 seconds through the trees and you'll emerge onto the beach.

It's extremely beautiful, but, we were told too dangerous to go far into the water. Probably best to go at the weekend when there are more people there as, during the quieter weekdays, you could well be leaving your car at risk of vandalism in such a quiet place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“White Sand Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

uncrowded & Beautiful. Trash free, thanks to the military. Rare on Guam

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

At Ritidian point you feel like you are on a deserted island! You are frequently there on your own. The beach is beautiful. The water a little rough for swimming and certainly for snorkeling. However if you just want to picnic, sit in the ocean and walk down the beach looking for shells, this is the place. One of the prettiest places on the north side of Guam for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritidian Point also viewed

 

Been to Ritidian Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritidian Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.