We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, I can not recommend this place.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Beach Vacation Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimanalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Beach Vacation Rentals
41-038 Ehukai Street, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI 96793   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sadly, I can not recommend this place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Approximately 1 block from the beach, this very large rental house was somewhat disappointing. The home was currently being occupied by two caretakers as well as two brothers and a party of 3. I feel that this rental home is run much like a European youth hostel. If you want to do any cooking, you must use the large shared kitchen and refrig. (indiv. mini fridges) in rooms. The suite upstairs has a full size fridge and kitchen sink and dishware.
There are no toiletries provided (we had to purchase our own hand soap for the bathrooms). Toilet paper was provided, but ran out near the end of our stay and were not allotted any more. There is no screen door on the downstairs corner suite, so beware of cockroaches and lizards who may sneak into your room (keep the sliding door closed and turn on the A/C).
Be aware that the house is currently on the market. We had one potential buyer come through to see the home.
Positives- new countertops in the main kitchen; A/C works well; beach toys available
Do note that there are towels provided but no beach towels provided so you must bring your own. No bath mats were available either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

For travelers to Oahu who want to enjoy the beauties of the island while avoiding the tourist traps of Waikiki, this guesthouse has much to offer, like location and value for money. A friend who lives in Kailua recommended the place to us, otherwise we would never even know about Waimanalo. It is conveniently located near many hiking trails from Koko Crater to Makapu'u to Olomana to the Pali trails (and it's certainly closer to the surfing beaches). In our travel party were hikers and non-hikers, so this one bedroom suite was perfect for both, as the non-hikers could stay in the suite and still enjoy the open, yet covered porch (huge), with beautiful views of the Ko'olau Mountains. The wide Waimanalo beaches are beautiful and not crowded, and it's just a block away. There is an outdoor bbq, and a fully equipped kitchen in the house so cooking something quick is never a problem. But if you like Mexican food, Serg's down the street has the best Mexican food we've tasted in quite awhile.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Upon arrival house was not cleaned. Several maintenance issues and broken hardware. Cushions on furniture and matresses were stained. Bed in master suite was on the floor and slid everywhere. Advertised a kitchenette but in fact only a full sized refrigerator was in the room with a microwave and sink. We paid in excess of 10k to rent this property. Caretakers stayed in the same home and we were not informed of this prior to arrival. We were told that we could not use the lanai because the neighbor just lost a family member. The list goes on. When attempting to file a complaint with the owner, he said he travels and would get back to me in October. I have sent additional emails and have not yet received a resonse. I am very disappointed. We were with 12 children and our grandbaby. Friends joined us also for a total stay of 2 weeks. The listing should be pulled from the public view to avoid this happening to anyone else in the future. I plan to contact the BBB and pursue my dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

We stayed at this wonderful rental fr 6 nights in late October. The house is in Waimanalo with the beach just a short walk away.
We had a hire car as we intended to drive around the whole of Oahu. Honolulu is a short drive away (about 30. min.) on the Pali Haighway.
We had rooms on the first floor (no lift but the host took our luggage up for us!) We had two bedrooms and a bathroom, ceiling fans in both bedrooms and lovely views to the mountains. On the ground floor there is a communal kitchen which is shared with the hosts, your own space in the fridge and cupboards for food and you could use the cultery and crockery as well as the stove to cook on. Coffee makers where also provided. Outside there were BBQ facilities and a hot tub for the cooler months. A laundry and dry were also available. There was plenty of parking and the street was very quiet.
Convenience stores were close by and you could drive into Kailua to shop at the larger supermarkets (about 10 min. away).
This is a wonderful location and we would definitely come back here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimanalo
Family-friendly...
Show More
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
Free internet...
Show More
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,436 reviews
Beach, Pool, Mi...
Show More
Park Shore Waikiki
Park Shore Waikiki
#9 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Beach Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Beach Vacation Rentals

Address: 41-038 Ehukai Street, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waimanalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty lodging in Waimanalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Aloha Beach Vacation Rentals Hotel Waimanalo
Aloha Beach Vacation Rentals Waimanalo, Hawaii - Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Beach Vacation Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aloha Beach Vacation Rentals to your Saves list