We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waimanalo Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimanalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waimanalo Beach Cottages
41-010 Wailea Street, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We loved the cottages! They were perfect for getting our small destination wedding guests together. They were very quaint, cozy, and homey! Tommy and Greg were amazing with everything, from making sure the guests were comfortable, giving us advice on where to eat, and ensuring the wedding day went off without a hitch! Thanks for everything! We can't wait to get the photos from Tommy!!!

Room Tip: We (bride & groom) stayed in cottage 1, right by the beach... could hear the ocean every night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights here in cottage #1. The location of the cottages is hard to beat. Located right beside Waimanalo Beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches we saw on our trip. Our little bachelor cottage had a partial view of the ocean, and suited our needs perfectly, as we really weren't there to spend much time in the cottage. We fell asleep each night to the sound of the waves crashing on the shore and had a lovely breeze coming in 24/7. Check out the videos on their website to pick your cottage. The owner Andrea was very accommodating to all of our questions when making the booking. We didn't get to meet her, but all of my interactions via phone and email were polite and friendly. The cottage was clean and stocked with the basics in terms of utensils and dishes. Lots of towels provided, as well as beach towels, which was great. It was pretty quiet while we were here, I think there were a couple other guests besides our group, but we rarely saw anyone.
Last thought - for children, the swimming is better closer to the other end of the beach, by the park. It seems to be a little less wavy over that side, and lots more beach for setting out towels, chairs etc. But we really enjoyed being on the quieter end of the beach. It felt like our private beach!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently stayed at the Waimanalo Beach Cottages for 7 days, and had a very good time. However, we did have some issues. We originally booked cottage #1 for our stay. However, a couple of days before we were to arrive, Andrea called and told us they had double-booked #1 and would we mind staying in #11 for 4 days and then moving to #1. #11 is larger and has a much better view, so this was not really a big deal (in fact, we wished we could stay in it the whole time. Our only real issue was that we had to re-pack all of our stuff in the middle of the week. The cottages are nice, but we found both the kitchens to be understocked. In #11, there were only two spoons, which wasn't a problem for us, but since it normally sleeps 4, others might have to take turns sharing. Other things missing were measuring cups, a spatula, and pitchers. We made do, but I think that this is an area that needs attention. The beach was awesome, with great views, and hardly anyone on it. We hated Waikiki because of the congestion, but there is none of that here! One other issue, which is completely out of control of the cottage owners, was there was an annual carnival in the park next door the first three nights which was VERY loud, especially the first two. It might be a good idea to schedule your vacation around the carnival!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Waimanalo Beach Cottages the week of 9 July and it was wonderful. This was our first ever visit to Hawaii and we found these beach cottages a great alternative to the mega-resort hotels of Waikiki. We, however, can’t take credit for finding this gem; our daughter and son-in-law booked this location as they were getting married on the nearby beach.

The property is conveniently located on a very nice, and less crowded, beach. The area is primarily residential so it is pretty quiet. The cottages are in pretty good shape, well appointed, and a great value. We really appreciated having the option of cooking meals in the cabin versus eating in restaurants all the time. They even have several charcoal grills for use by guests.

The location is only about 90 minutes from Honolulu and Waikiki and 15-30 minutes to Hunauma Bay and Diamond Head. The Waimanalo area an easy drive to most of the tourist activities yet is very quiet and scenic. For those in the service, the cottages are a 5 minute drive, and a 2 mile beach walk, from Bellows AFS.

There were a couple of minor inconveniences during our stay. First, not all the cottages are air conditioned. Most of the cottages orientated to take advantage of the near constant sea-breeze really don’t need air conditioning but if you are sensitive to warm and humid conditions you might want to request a unit with A/C. Second, some of the shower stalls pretty small – if you need more room to shower, ask the owners for a unit with a larger shower. Third, there are only 4 off-street parking spots but, while less convenient; parking is allowed on the street. Fourth, we did have an ant problem in our cottage. The staff was, however, very responsive in attending to the problem.

Overall, our experience was very good and we would have no problem recommending this venue to someone who wishes to from it all on the island of Oahu. A big and hearty “mahalo” to the owners and staff of the Waimanalo Beech Cottages.

Room Tip: For people more concerned with a quiet beach retreat than a resort. Try the breakfast sandwiches at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My family of 4 and our in-laws have spent 10 wonderful days at Waimanalo Beach Cottages. Unfortunately, we have to depart tomorrow and we will miss it dearly. The entire process has been wonderful. Andrea made booking the reservations simple and everything was done quickly over the phone. She was always willing to answer any questions that we had, and responded to emails promptly. We arrived late on the evening of 4/7 and the lockboxes were on the doors, as promised. We found Units 8 & 10 to be cozy, clean and large enough to easily accomodate our group of 9. The next morning, Tommy (Andrea's son) offered to take us to Costco, to save us the membership fee but we didn't want to inconvenience him, so we drove into Waikiki for groceries at Wal-Mart & Sam's Club. We grilled out nearly every evening on the patio, where (4) charcoal grills are available for guests. We also made breakfast most mornings at the cottages, and ate lunch out while we were touring the island. This saved our group an enormous amount of money. The beach cottages are in the small, lazy beach town of Waimanalo. They sit in the back of a small, upscale residential neighborhood...and you can see the beach/ocean from nearly everywhere you look. Beach access is literally within 50 feet of the cottages, and what you will see when you get to the beach will leave you speechless. I have traveled extensively across the US and abroad, and this is by far the most beautiful beach that I have ever seen in my life. The sand is white/light tan, and so clean. This is a locals beach, and is basically deserted thru the week. There were many days where we didn't see but 3-4 people the entire time. It was amazing..basically like having your own private beach to enjoy. The water goes from green to light blue to dark blue...and it is simply breathtaking. You can see several small islands from the beach as well. If you have ever dreamed of visiting Oahu, then I encourage you to fulfill your dreams and do it. It is an amazing experience, and you will not be disappointed in the island or Waimanalo Beach Cottages. They are truly a hidden gem. Get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, and stay here. We are already planning our next visit. Mahalo again to Tommy and Andrea!

Room Tip: Units 8 and 11 are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allons, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have been spending vacations here at Waimanalo Beach Cottages for several years. We love the quiet side of the island, like having our own private beach. We have been made to feel like family returning. The Cottages are just what you want. Clean, great setting, peaceful place with great views. Highly recommend, cannot say enough nice things about Andrea and Tommy, your hosts.

Room Tip: Cabin 1, has ocean view, Cabin 6 Ocean and Mountains, and Cabin 11 our favorite when traveling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I wish I could have given this place 100 stars. No joke! In January of 2011, I started communicating back and forth with the owner of the cottages, Tommy, and just recently in January of 2012 my husband and I got married there. Not only did we get married there, but we stayed at the cottages for 8 nights. BEST VACATION EVER! The cottages were absolutely amazing. Very comfortable, clean, and GORGEOUS! Our whole 'wedding crew' stayed there as well. Everyone had such great things to say about their cottage, as well as their stay. The cottages were loaded with all of the dishes we needed for the week, and they also had plenty of towels, etc. It was very hard for my husband and I to find a place in Oahu that we trusted, we are so happy with our choice of making that the Waimanalo Beach Cottages! Our wedding was so absolutely flawless, we were welcomed to our ceremony with a HUGE rainbow over the ocean. We also held our reception at the cottages as well. The grass is so green, and the plumeria trees at the cottages never get old!!! It's seriously such a gorgeous location. The beach right out front of the cottages is so bare you could consider it your private beach for the week. It's such a hidden gem. We were so pleased with our stay, as well as with Tommy. We absolutely recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax in a very comfortable and gorgeous location.

Room Tip: The only cottage on the second level is cottage 11. That is the cottage we chose for the 8 nights we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimanalo
Family-friendly...
Show More
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
Restaurant, Spa...
Show More
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waimanalo Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimanalo Beach Cottages

Address: 41-010 Wailea Street, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waimanalo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Waimanalo
Also Known As:
Waimanalo Beach Cottages Hotel Waimanalo
Waimanalo Beach Cottages Hawaii - Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimanalo Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waimanalo Beach Cottages to your Saves list