We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimanalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals
Save
You added Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals to your Saves list
Kaulu Street, near Beach, Pob 633, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI 96795   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$159 (USD)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skillman, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A refreshing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's the little things that add up big time when you stay here! It's NOT a hotel (thank goodness), it's like staying at your friends house who just so happens to have a killer pad! The Host is knowledgeable & passionate about the area & in making sure your stay lives up to your expectations. The ‘calm’ hits you at the door & you notice right away that this is not the "norm" & that's good! Simple & elegant, little touches but with minimalist flair...just right! The beach is everything you could want & it IS a short stroll. The nearby small eateries wake up your taste buds & the Host has some personal recommendations within a short drive as well. You’ll want to stay here if you want quiet, you want to fall asleep to the sound of waves gently hitting the shore, & you want to wake to happy island birds.

Room Tip: Rooms are defined very well on the web site...book the one that works!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
127
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wonderful time and great location. Waimanolo Beach is a real hidden gem if you're looking for uncrowded beach with calm surf. The garden apartment was quiet and guest sharing arrangement well thought out. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Comfortable studio (bed, kitchenette, bathroom) with sliding doors out to garden/lawn. Quiet neighborhood and perfect beach. Secure parking in yard with gate. Laundry facilities and wifi available free. No air conditioner but there are fans...can get bit warm in November...room on beach side is cooler than mountainside. Homey. Town is small - couple of cafes. Drive to Kailua ( 10 minutes) for groceries and restaurants. Biggest treat in Kailua is farmers market on Thursday evenings - delicious food booths!! Great for dinner and/or stocking up. Staying here gives you temporary illusion of actually living on this island - not the hotel or party scene at all. Close to hikes and snorkeling but, as entitled, 250 steps to almost isolated sandy gentle wave beach. Happy place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaan, Liechtenstein
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed in one of the downstairs Garden Suites and we were surely not disappointed. Oahu was our last island hopping stop and staying at Hale Nalo in Waimanalo to unwind from several weeks of traveling was the best choice we could have made.
First of all, the beach, which is a throw stone away from the property, is exceptionally nice. We loved going for a swim in the morning and early afternoons until the sun set. Although it was July, there was almost no one else at the beach. I do know now why it’s been named "Best Summer Beach in the World". It is true.
The owner of Hale Nalo, Herlinda, was also exceptionally welcoming and friendly (and so was her dog). Her welcoming package consisting of coffee, fresh pineapple, juice, … was excellent and there was simply nothing else that we could have wished from her. She gave us some good advice on where to eat (Waimanalo does have a limited amount of eateries). There were boogie boards, snorkeling gear and fins available and they were actually clean and in really good condition).
The suite itself was perfect. Great bed, nice bathroom, convenient small kitchenette, big windows, mosquito screens, clothes drying rack, luggage stand … to name just a few peaks.
I loved the post-it notes all over the room – I think those are really useful and I prefer reading a few of those instead of having to ask about the smallest and usually not very important things.
Staying at Hale Nalo was one of our highlights of our Hawaii trip and we surely wished we could have stayed longer. Next time we’ll definitely go for the Zen Suite – it looks amazing (Herlinda was so kind as to let us have a look at the suite)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We flew nearly half the way around the world from the north of Scotland to stay in Hale Nalo and it was worth every second and every penny. There is so much of the world I have yet to visit that I have never had the same vacation twice, BUT - I can't wait to go back to Herlinda's beautiful home. She is very thoughtful: ready for a chat if that's what you want but gives you space and privacy. The rooms are cool, comfortable, quiet with a perfect view of the garden and beach-front trees a short distance away. The long, curving, tree-lined, beach of white sand is literally 2 minutes stroll away. Very few people are there so you can relax and stare at the surrounding headlands, out at the blue Pacific, or turn around and have your breath taken by the imposing mountains rising suddenly from the lush green fields.

We drove all around Oahu but never found a place we liked more than Waimanalo. And, as Herlinda recommends in her personal guide in the room, the fish tacos at Sweet Home Waimanalo are unbeatable. Eating the same thing twice on holiday is also something I rarely do but once you've had these tacos you have to go back the next day for more.

This is the closest I have ever come to the perfect vacation. The only way to improve it would be to move Scotland closer to Hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Sid and Gracie from Austin Texas stayed at the Zen Tree House in July 2012. In every way, we were delighted. The apartment was beautifully decorated and had all you needed. The tradewinds kept the apartment cool and the fresh air was so relaxing.

The host, Erlinda was so gracious and helpful. We always enjoyed seeing her and getting tips on where to go. She is a great host!!

Waimanalo is on the quiet side of the island but easily accessible to everything. For us, it was great to take the short drive to other attractions and then get to come back to a very peaceful setting. The beach is a very short walk and is beautiful. We went for lots of walks and enjoyed the relatively quiet setting at the beach. It is a great vacation experience.. Thanks Erlinda

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just completed a week-long stay in the Zen Treehouse unit at Hale Nalo and would highly recommend it. We found the accommodations to be beautifully maintained with a well-appointed kitchen (every utensil and appliance was high-end and practically brand-new), unlike some Hawaii rentals we've stayed in. The Treehouse is huge, airy, and spectacularly clean. Every detail has been thought through. The owner provides high quality beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, snorkel gear etc. for the beach, which is so helpful. Waimanalo beach is just steps away: an unbelievably long beach with aqua blue water and gentle waves. We also adore Kailua beach, just a few minutes drive to the north. The property is quiet and the Treehouse is perched above the neighboring homes, with one deck facing the beach and the other deck facing the mountains. We appreciated the dependable wi-fi access and all the little extras like fresh fruit & dark chocolate macadamia nuts waiting for us on arrival, laundry facilities, private parking, and a very comfortable bed (and this is coming from a woman who is 7 months pregnant, so that means it's very good!). We researched a long time for a special place to stay in Waimanalo/Kailua area and we definitely found it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals

Address: Kaulu Street, near Beach, Pob 633, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI 96795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waimanalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Waimanalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Nalo is a gorgeous beachside property offering three modern self-catering vacation rental studios: two 400sf Garden Suites, and the luxurious 900sf ZEN Treehouse. Built in 2008, this is perfect for adults seeking quiet retreat sand to enjoy our island home. The Garden Suites are both fully-independent studios with 14-foot high vaulted ceilings, each with their own kitchenette and over-sized private bathroom. Our Garden Suites are both corner units, situated literally in a tropical garden, shaded by the canopy of old growth guava and ulu trees. For those wanting more privacy, space and luxury, we recommend the ZEN Treehouse: a sublime second-level studio apartment with large east-west facing decks. All guests enjoy free off-street parking and high-speed internet (wifi). ISLANDS Magazine called Waimanalo Beach THE #1 Best Summer Beach in the WORLD and FORBES Magazine rated Waimanalo #5 in its 2013 List of Top 10 Beaches in the U.S. Come! We'd love to have you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale `Nalo Beach Rentals Hotel Waimanalo
Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals Waimanalo, Hawaii - Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.