We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock of Kauai Legend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'ena Point State Park

Ka'ena Point State Park
End of Farrington Highway, Waianae, Oahu, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ka'ena Point State Park like an insider
$92*
and up
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Waianae
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At the very end of Mokuleia where the road dead-ends is Kaena Point State Park with its secluded sandy coves and huge wide-open spaces. The hiking trail follows a deeply rutted unpaved Jeep road with dozens of small seaward paths branching off to the ocean’s edge. If you opt to hike the full round-trip trek from Kaena Point to Yokohama Bay on the Leeward Coast, you’ll need roughly three hours, ample stamina, plenty of water, sunscreen, snacks, body cover and your camera.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Rock of Kauai Legend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is where you can find the “Rock of Kauai". The legend says that it is a piece of Kauai that it's still stuck to Oahu from the time the demigod Maui tried to catch a giant fish. The rest of the legend is here: http://legends4all.wordpress.com/tag/kaena-point/

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    31
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
“The walk to Kaena Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I recently spent a week with my daughter, son in law and grandson in Hawaii. We don't like busy, crowded beaches so we always make it a point to find the spots that are quiet. One place we visited this year was Ka'ena Point.

We drove past Dillingham (great place-see my future post on this) and parked at the end of the road in the dirt lot on the right. My daughter has a small, low to the ground car that could not make it any further. There is a rough, pot holed dirt road that continues to the point, but only trucks can make it and even they have to drive slowly and carefully over the deep and sometimes very wide ruts.

And we began our walk....... There were some very beautiful spots on the way. One lagoon/bay type area was gorgeous. We climbed down the rocks to it and enjoyed the cool water and waves briefly. We stopped a few time for pictures and water but mostly walked. The downside of walking on this side of Ke'ena Point is the view. Most of the walk is on the dirt road which didn't really provide a good, clear view of the beach. As everyone says-take water, snacks and sunscreen. I can't stress this enough. Very hot, dry walk.

Once we got to the point..ahhhhh..the view was amazing, beautiful, everything everyone says. We climbed down to a small lagoon and sat in the water and let the waves crash over us....heaven:) We probably stayed for an hour and a half sitting in the water, climbing amongst the rocks, and just enjoying the area. There was only about 5 other people there. We didn't see any seals or turtles but that was ok.

For those asking about taking small kids-don't unless you are strong enough to carry them on the walk back or unless you have a truck that can make it down the dirt road to the point. We took my 4 yr old grandson and he was miserable about 3/4 of the way there. We took turns carrying him the entire way back. The walk is not dangerous or rough...just long and hot. We all wore flipflops and had no problem with the terrain until we reached the point itself. We then went shoeless to climb the rocks and get in the water.

If I had it to do over again I would definitely approach from the Waianae side. But either way you go-the end result is worth the view you get.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Easy Hike....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

If you would like to hike to Kaena Point all you need is water and maybe a snack...this is a pretty easy hike, most of the trail is level ground...not smooth but level. There are lots of ruts and washouts from four wheeled vehicles along the way. At the end of the paved road Hwy 930, is a parking area where you can leave your vehicle and then proceed on foot....round trip is about 3 to 3 1/2 hours.

If you've rented or have a jeep or pickup you could drive past the paved road which will take you most of the way to the entrance to the preserve, but it would be a bumpy ride and we did see a state vehicle that was high centered over some dry ruts....we just smiled and kept walking.

On your way to the Point the views are spectacular and the wild life was abundant...once in the preserve there was plenty of albatrosses and we saw seals having a sun bath....

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hike - Make sure you go all the way to the point!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I hiked Kaena Point during intermittent rain storms. It basically rained the whole time we were on Oahu - so we had to make the best of it. Of course we had on new tennis shoes - which were not so new looking when we finished. The first part of the hike (we came in on the airfield side) was a total muddy mess. The terrain was not difficult at any time - just very muddy. There were several people out enjoying the 4 wheel drive trails - which was fun to watch. Note: Dont even think about taking your rental 4 wheel drive here. This is for experienced people who know the area! See attached photo!

I can imagine that this could be a very hot walk in the summer. The wind was blowing hard the entire trip - so we were very comfortable. As other posted have written - take sunscreen, water and a snack. Yes, there is apparently theft in the parking area. Don't let this spoil your trip - just be sensible and dont leave anything in plain site. We encountered people half way back on the trail that were stressed about theft and asked us if we had seen any broken glass when we left our car. Chill out people! Just be sensible.

There is an awesome shelling beach about 2/3 of the way out from the airfield side. I found a perfect cone shell - and I was not even looking hard. Wish I had more time to spend here looking for shells!

Make sure you go all the way to the point. We nearly turned around when we got to the weird cattle gate. Don't! Go through the gate, then thorugh the other weird looking sliding doors and walk along the water - this is the bird nesting area - not to be missed! Also, the day we were there - the seals were on the beach at the very end of the point. Happy trails!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

If you love hiking on volcanic rock along a beautiful coastline and tidal pools ripe with fish, crab, anemones, etc then this place is for you. I strolled and photographed for over 3 hours. I was never at a loss for something amazing to see. The topper were the 7 humpback whales (in three groups) that were swimming by and fluking. Can't say enough about how beautiful this coastline is.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ka'ena Point State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ka'ena Point State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'ena Point State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.