We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "Q" hard to find on Oahu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly's Smokehouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Molly's Smokehouse
23 S Kamehameha Hwy, Ste 102, Wahiawa, Oahu, HI 96786-1834
808-621-4858
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 60 Restaurants in Wahiawa
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good "Q" hard to find on Oahu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I (seniors, Oahu residents) traveled from Kailua to Wahiawa just to lunch at Molly's Smokehouse in Wahiawa, one of the few BBQ restaurants on this island worth visiting. My wife had pulled pork and I had the "supreme" sampler of chicken, brisket, and pork ribs. Although we are not keen on Texas bbq, which uses mesquite, we judged the meats to be very good -- tasty, cooked just right, and a nice presentation. The side dishes of baked beans and coleslaw were excellent. The service was excellent and the ambience was nice for a "hole in the wall" restaurant. The key sign of good value is that the restaurant was packed for lunch with soldiers from nearby Schofield Barracks and local residents. Parking on site is limited, but there is nearby on street parking. We won't wait another 10 years to revisit this very good restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy Barbeque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Really tasty brisket and catfish. Home-style cornbread, beans and okra were also good. Price was a little on the high side for stateside BBQ, but in line with your average Oahu meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best BBQ on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Ok first off the aroma was intoxicating and right off the bat I could tell this was what i've been looking for! A real southern style BBQ pit. Just browsing through the menu made my mouth water! I got the beef brisket / baby back combo. The brisket was so juicy and tender! It had a wonderfull smokey flavor and you could tell it was cooked with TLC. The ribs were equally amazing and had plenty of meat on 'em. This place knows how to cook some mean BBQ! Even the sides were delicious! Omg the cornbread muffins were sinfull so warm and soft on the inside but crispy on the outside! Slap some butter on those bad boys and lookout! Even the sweet tea was perfect! It was my first time there, but will not be my last! If you like BBQ even if you dont, you GOTTA get some of this deliciousness!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best BBQ near Schofield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Smoked brisket, pulled pork and southern fried chicke pretty darned good. Come on a day the smoker is in action.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Former employee point of view.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The employees of Molly's smokehouse typically try to do an excellent job, however they are mistreated and belittled by the ownership.

With that said, the food at Molly's smokehouse has potential to be wonderful but it is not.

Nothing is cooked fresh unless you are lucky and happened to walk in on a day where a fresh batch of something was made, even then you will likely get served what had been sitting in a refrigerator for a couple of days.

The food is overpriced and unhealthy, as much of it is loaded with salt and sugar, a sure recipe for diabetes. Meats are cooked on the bbq pit outside and then kept in a cooler and warmed for the day as needed. when an order comed in, meats are thrown on a broiler for "45 seconds each side" as per Molly herself.

It is very hit or miss with the meats as sometimes they are nice and juicy and others they are dry and just plain nasty. The only item that is good on the regular is the pulled pork.
"The customer is always right" does not apply here and the ownership is downright rude, unless you fall into her social class.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Molly's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.