We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dole Plantation

Dole Plantation
64-1550 Kamehameha Highway, Wahiawa, Oahu, HI 96786
808 621 8408
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$235*
and up
45-minute Oahu Helicopter Tour: Hidden Oahu
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Wahiawa
Type: Gardens, Factory Tours, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Walking, Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pineapple plantation which offers the largest maze in the world for children to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Placencia, Stann Creek, Belize
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It was okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did the train tour with our kids. It was a short 20 minute ride, but a bit boring. The kids had more fun eating ice cream and I really enjoyed walking through the huge gift shop. We did get there a little late, so didn't have much time to do the maze.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    565
    472
    196
    98
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Dolicious Diversion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Yes, the Dole Plantation is touristy. But if you love pineapple, stop by.

The train ride through the pineapple fields is informative and worth 20 minutes of your time. Skip the garden unless you're a hardcore garden lover and the plants are in bloom. At the gift shop, share a pineapple whip with someone you love.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worth the stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Dole Plantation is worth the stop...notwithstanding the negative reviews, and our hotel concierge doing everything he could to dissuade us from going, we decided to make a quick stop on our drive to the North Shore. The Dole Whip wad yummy, and the pineapple garden was really interesting. We don't have kids so we didn't take advantage of the maze and other attractions, but we definitely enjoyed the stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Maze - just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

we decided to do the maze at Dole because our kids had heard about it and just wouldnt let it go. My expectations were low and I was glad of that. First let me recommend NOT to come here on a hot day or at the height of noon!!! we were there at 3pm and the sun was lower in the sky. It was still freaking hot and I kept thinking I would be an awfully cranky parent trying to get out of the darned maze if it was any hotter! My husband and one daughter were done in 29 mins. Took myself and my pther daughter an hpur and ten minutes. It can get a bit frustrating at times. Overall the kids liked it bit for my hisband and I it was just ok. Glad I didnt spend the money on the rest of the park, it did look like a tourist trap.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dole Plantation is a Tourist magnet...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's a shame Wahiawa has to be known for the Dole Plantation. The town is so much more interesting. The Plantation's best feature is its parking...lots of it. It has little to offer other than shopping for "stuff' that will end up in vacationers next yard sale back home. The actual pineapple processing is way more educational, even though pineapples are giving acreage up to coffee.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dole Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Dole Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dole Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.