We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luau food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center

Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center
55-370 Kamehameha Hwy, Laie, Oahu, HI 96762
808.293.3333
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 restaurants in Laie
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Vienna VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Luau food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

While the luau feeds a BIG crowd, and tables are tightly together, I have to comment on the 'negative' reviews about the food. They served a nice selection of "Hawaiian" staples, like the pork, lomi lomi salmon, which were both excellent. They even had small containers of poi... which my husband, who lived in Hawaii years ago, rated as okay but not sour and thick enough! More for tourist tastes I guess, although some luau attendees from the reviews here didn't seem to take to poi either. Plus salads, fruits, other general food items more acceptable to some. Coconut cake was nice too, and traditional. We also attended a reunion luau with more traditional items of luau foods, for example squid with green mush taro. I don't think that would have gone over well at the PCC luau for TripAdvisor reviewers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    78
    36
    42
    25
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great show average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The HA show was amazing and definitely worth eating at an average buffet for the night. The food was okay, but when I hear the word buffet, I always think of having a lot of options to pick from. There is only a few choices for things to eat. Not great for a picky eater.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average food - efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you can feed a crowd of hundreds (maybe thousands?) so efficiently, you get high marks. It is all you can eat, but the food is not the best feature of this Luau.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Nicely Organized Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Buffet was nicely presented, well tended and organized efficiently .We were very apprehensive when we saw the many. many tables of hungry guests- and hungry children, but were quite pleased that the crowd was quickly absorbed. It was not a mob scene in the buffet line nor did we have a queue. We all agreed the hot shredded pork was excellent. Buffet had several offerings, including salmon in a teriyaki or ginger glaze, salad and green beans..New foods included poke, poi, and lavender-tinted poi parker house rolls, Dessert buffet featured coconut cake,chocolate cake,sugar-free apple pie and bread pudding. Beverages include Hawaiian punch, water, ice cream smoothies, soft drinks and coffee; no alcohol since this park is run by BYU and is very family-friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I gave this luau 4 stars based on the local favorite food. The kaluha pork was good along with the salmon and poke fish. The entertainment I couldn't tell you about, couldn't see most of it from our seat or was to busy stuffing my face. Cheaper than the luau at the Hilton. We head there tmrw so ill let you know how it was. The regular food was just regular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.