We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imu-poi-traditional dances/musicians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center

Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center
55-370 Kamehameha Hwy, Laie, Oahu, HI 96762
808.293.3333
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Laie
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Chesterland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Imu-poi-traditional dances/musicians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The buffet allows you to try small samples of some of the traditional fare such a lomi lomi salmon, poi, haupia/coconut pudding but has a good selection of pork, chicken, fish with salad and other fruits/vegetables. Soft drinks and coffee/tea are included and adult beverages are available for a fee. This luau has been voted the best by the folks who actually live on the island so you know it's really good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    52
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Traditional and Entertaining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very good food and live entertainment! Very authentic and a very good experience...Definitely worth it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luau ok but rest of village and show worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

not easy to see the show due to big pillars and the show itself wasnt' very exciting. Food was fine - but the atmosphere just wasn't there. The show afterwards is amazing - and we lucked out and were able to go in the "haunted lagoon" for halloween and it was better than Disney could have done! Very creative - and spooky too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

You can't go to Hawaii and not attend a luau! This one is great for the food and show! We loved the Christmas songs and dances mingled in with the traditional Hawaiian numbers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The renovations have served the PCC very well! Kids LOVED it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We purchased the Ambassador Ali'i luau tickets and it was worth it! I have been to the PCC over the years since the 1980's and some things have changed but nicely updated and its still a great place to show the family about the cultures of the Islands. The staff everywhere all have great Aloha spirit!! Our food at the new Ambassador seating was very good, and I know Hawaiian/Polynesian food very well, I don't get why the other reviewers all are so hard on the luau food, we really enjoyed it, the Haupia squares were AMAZING!
Our tickets also gave us 3rd row center seats for the HA Breath of Life evening show, and the show has been redone and it is well done! My 5 yr old LOVEd it because of the new graphic screens that reminded her of the Lion King, so it kept her in on the show the entire length of it. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the show as well, and even got to meet the main Actress of the show, very sweet and love the Aloha, this is worth the trip!!!
If you are a newcomer to Hawai'i, this is a must do deal at least once!! We also visited the villages in the park during the daytime, and loved the canoe pageant of cultures, what a production!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.