We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hapa Grill

Hapa Grill
91-590 Farrington Hwy, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2009
808-674-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 103 Restaurants in Kapolei
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Longmont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Ordered a local favorite to include teriyaki beef and mochino chicken. I'm really tired of Hawaii macaroni and potato salad so I ordered a side salad. That was a mistake, the side salad was obviously poured out of a purchased bag of salad that had a couple of slivered carrots in it. The lettuce was moldy. The plate also included the same old boring Hawaii rice you get at most mediocre Hawaii restaurants. The teriyaki beef was cold and tasted a lot like jerky with a lot of sugar and fat. The mochino chicken was ok, but it had a lot of fat. I had to discreetly keep spiting out the fat into my napkin that I didn't want to swallow. Not a pleasant experience.

There were four of us (two couples) and the waitress said that she couldn't give us two separate checks. So we had to figure that out. The waitress was really good. She was just following orders.

Not a good experience, and the food was so unhealthy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    10
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good hawaiian BBQ plates in a family sit down place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place out on a friday night. Had the teriyaki beef plate with potato mac salad and rice. Beef was really tasty and the mac salad was a twist on the usually heavy mayo mac salad found elsewhere. This was more of a southern potato salad recipe with mac thrown in. It was super crowded when I got there and parking in their small lot was very limited.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Our go to place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Choices for eating out in Kapolei are somewhat limited. If you are staying on Ko Olina. Your choices fall into categories of hotel and resort offerings, and local restaurants. Of the latter, there are fast food, big chains like Outback, and ethnic foods, Hapa Grill offers local dishes such as teriyaki, loco moco, mahi mahi, and pasta and burgers. Food is well prepared, environment is a step above dive, service is friendly and prompt. It is a place we go to at least twice every time we are in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“excellent beef BBQ and salads!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Their marinated, tender bbq beef strips are to die for, and accompanied by a fresh salad, it is the healthiest place in Kapolei! Try some of their ono mac salad for an extra treat!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

There isn't a 'good' option for rating, so I went with average. My ahi poke tower was tasty - crab salad within was strange at first, but ended up complimenting the rest of the dish. Auntie's teri beef was tender and good. Other auntie's chicken salad was good, but would have been better with the calamari, but they were out of calamari.

Service was great. Our server was friendly and sweet. Would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hapa Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hapa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapa Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.