We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Luau

Paradise Cove Luau
92-1089 Alii Nui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
1-808-842-5911
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Paradise Cove Luau like an insider
$80*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the traditions of our ancestors, we pass on to you the knowledge of our rich history including the arts & crafts, games of skill, songs, dances and food.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“One of the Best on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was the second time that I attended a luau here and I must say that the location is the best, beautiful beach, and the food is good also along with the entertainment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    374
    262
    131
    145
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Like the others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just fine if you haven't been to a Polynesian show before. Otherwise, same-old, same-old. Appreciate the talent but know it's a money-making dinner event for the hotel.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amhersturg, Ont.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Alot of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to Paradise cove in May, we were very worried about the weather because it had been raining for 2 days off and on when we were in Waikiki. The weather looked pretty iffy and we called and they said don't worry it's not cancelled. So later we got on the bus and headed to Paradise Cove, we had Flo as our guide, all though she was nice, enough is enough with the whole "everyone on this bus is all family", "family this and family that, we are all cousins, blah blah blah", seriously, she went on and on about it, I swear at least 50 times. The first few times was ok, but after that I was like OMG enough with that already!! We were greeted with a lei and a drink, and we wandered around, what a beautiful property!. After dinner (which I enjoyed very much), it started to rain, pretty much through the whole show, they gave everyone free rain poncho's, the only ones that were covered were the ones who bought the most expensive tickets. It was a pretty fun night, and I will always remember it, although I think it's pretty much a one time thing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I read a lot of mixed reviews but my wife and I had a great time! Yes, once you get in there are other things to do that cost money but where else do you go that doesn't do that? We walked around and took pictures. We got there early go great seats and got our food easily when it was time to eat. The food was very good and plentiful. My wife and I both had a great time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good entertainment, shame about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked the luau through our hotel and without asking he signed us up to the deluxe package at about $150 each which was pretty steep for what you get. If you get picked up on the bus expect a 45 minute - 1 hour trip to the west coast where the resort/luau is held. Our bus group leader Rich was great fun and kept us entertained on the way there and back.
They have different activities displaying cultural activities of islander life for the first hour or so and then show you the pig coming out of the imu (ground oven), however I think it's a stunt pig as there didn't seem to be any heat coming off or enough meat to feed the hundreds of people there.
In the deluxe package you don't have to line up for food at the buffet and you get table service. First course of salad, main was a bit of kalua pork, fried chicken (KFC), fish and some other bits, dessert was a few slices of cake and a wedge of pineapple.
Drinks were reasonable (if small) at $8 for a small plastic cup of wine and $6 for a bud lite.

The entertainment is where this luau shines. The dancers are all very fit and delivery an excellent show with plenty of movement, crowd participation and forms of dance from Samoo, Hawaii, NZ etc.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Cove Luau also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Cove Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cove Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.