We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McDonald's Of Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zippy's Restaurant

Zippy's Restaurant
950 Kamokila Blvd, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2008
808-674-1773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 103 Restaurants in Kapolei
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“McDonald's Of Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we were younger, Zippy's used to be Hawaii's version of fast food restaurant. Now, Zippy's is more like Denny's but way better. Try their zippak if you want to get a flavor of what Hawaiians eat. It's great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waipahu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Being born and raised in Hawaii I have visited just about all the Zippy's locations. The Zippy's in Kapolei is no different. As with all chains, food, service and prices are consistent. The Kapolei restaurant is fairly clean , although they should clean and stock the restrooms more often. The wife and I decided to have breakfast and the waitperson was very friendly and attentive. We both ordered eggs over-easy w/bacon and hash browns. Although we had to wait for about 20 minutes (the restaurant was packed) our food arrived hot and as ordered.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“So Local!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Zippy's is so local! They serve ono (good) food. Service is fast and great. It's totally affordable. It's always busy but the waiting line is fast! They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also have take-out.

Their oxtail soup is to die for, so as their bread pudding. Parking is limited so be there early.

For just some reason my family and I always get places closed to the restrooms lol... But we always ask to be moved closed to the windows.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, WA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Needs a little housekeeping attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We ordered lunch in the 'take out' section of Zippy's - not the restaurant section (they have a seating area for the take-out customers, which we opted for). The food was fine, but these folks need to pay more attention to wiping the tables, sweeping the floors and other little niceties.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“They are everywhere ... and that is a good thing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went to the Kapolei Zippy's twice this trip. It is one of those easy, familiar, friendly, local places ... no strain, no pressure. Having Napoleon's Bakery right on site is always nice, too.
I had saimin both times ... it was good, not great, but it satisfied my craving. He had eggs and corned beef the first time and chicken katsu the second. We also had an order of malasadas the second time. They do not compare to Leonard's, but what does.
Our waitresses were both very nice. There is a take out Zippy's right there, too ... so you get the choice of sitting down or taking out, which is really smart.
I don't think it is a great restaurant, but once every year works fine with us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zippy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zippy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zippy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.