We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price! Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ho Ho Chinese Cuisine

Ho Ho Chinese Cuisine
590 Farrington Hwy, Unit 1A, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2059
808-692-9880
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 98 Restaurants in Kapolei
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Kaneohe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great price! Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Been here a few times, good is always very tasty and fresh, service could be a little better but for the most part i always have a pleasant experience... Oh and they have crab legs every day!! :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Kapolei does not know food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Do not attempt to enter this restaurant - service bad, bad food - nice looking restaurant but not worth the money.
We are from NYC and there is no comparison to real Chinese food. DO NOT WASTE YOU MONEY
.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ho Ho Horrible Food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I wish I read the poor reviews prior to going to this place. Perhaps we could have avoided our bad experience. $30 for the General Tso's Chicken, Sweet and Sour Chicken, and Cashew Chicken with a box of white sticky rice. Honestly, the rice was the best thing that we got, but it wasn't worth the $30. The portions of the main courses were very small. Small like small takeout styrofoam boxes. The rice was actually really good...very sticky and a good portion for $5. The chicken on the other hand was horrible. The fried chicken had way too much breading and the texture of a soft licorice-bubblegum combo. The flavor of the sauces weren't all that great either. I had no idea, you could mess up sweet and sour chicken. The cashew chicken followed a close second behind the sticky rice. You can tell they use the cheapest and worst parts of the chicken when preparing their dishes...if truly is chicken. I have been seeing a few less mongooses running around lately. If you must go here, try anything other than the dishes I speak of. I wish I went to the Panda Express down the road. Good luck!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ho Ho Ho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a place where you can eat a lot. I like the location and variety of food selection. It is a typical restaurant. Nothing special.
Good for family/friends dining. They also block out areas when there's a party (birthday, graduation, homecoming, etc). Price is reasonable.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Ho Ho What a Great Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a great favorite with both locals and tourists alike, and on the weekends you've got to get there early, like 5 pm or so. By 7 or so, on the weekends it its door to door seating, and there can be waits. The food is very good by local standards, which is saying something for being in an area where there is great local food competition. The portions are generous, and the prices are competitive with the local, not the tourist market.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Ho Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ho Ho Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho Ho Chinese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.