We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Azul

Azul
92-1001 Olani Street, JW Marriott Ihilani Ko Olina Resort & Spa, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
808-6790079
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Azul is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 98 Restaurants in Kapolei
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Awarded the AAA 4-Diamond, Azul is Ihilani's signature Oahu fine dining restaurant, serving Hawaii's finest Italian cuisine.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Not for the little kids-more of a romantic evening! Nice place though. the ambience and mood make it a beautiful evening!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    37
    23
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

In the past one ohau's best . Now outback does a better job after they cooked my steak wrong twice everybody else was done eating so I left no mgr in sight they told me to go order a burger from room service. Ha ha from a 50 dollar steal to a burger some fine dinning

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Loved our evening at Azul. We were celebrating a 50th wedding anniversary with family. The food and service staff were excellent. Restaurant is beautiful. Only complaint was they were out of 40% of their wines and understaffed the evening we were there. This was strange for the holidays, but they attempted to make it up with discounts on the wine they did have and the waiter worked extra hard to make up for the lack of servers. All in all, a good experience that could have gone wrong quickly - thankfully it went great.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Pasta itself was homemade and good, but the sauces were bland and certainly not worth $24+. Service was good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service, even worse food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I went to Azul with another couple while we were all staying at the JW Marriott in Ko Olina. It was, by far, the worst meal we had during our week-long stay in Hawaii; and one of the worst Italian meals we've ever had anywhere.

To begin with, the staff literally forgot about us after we were seated. It was not a busy night, nor did the restaurant seem to be understaffed, so we were perplexed. Just as we were getting up to leave, someone came by and apologized for the mix-up. She herself said she didn't understand how no one could have noticed our table being ignored - there were only a handful of customers. In any event, we could have overlooked that, but when I did have a simple question (could they make a vegetarian version of one of their pasta dishes?), no one got back to us on that either. A guy who we guess was the owner or manager or something also came by very briefly and said something along the lines of "everything good? Good, excellent, bye." He didn't wait for or appear to actually want an answer; he needs to stop assuming that everything is good at his restaurant, because it isn't.

Worse than the service though was the food. All four of us found our meals to be flavorless and were surprised that an Italian restaurant at a JW Marriott could botch simple dishes (soup, pasta, risotto) this badly. I am simply baffled by the good reviews of Azul on Trip Advisor; perhaps there has been a recent change of chef or something similar.

After that experience, my husband and I did not eat at the hotel again in any of its restaurants. We did, however, go to the nearby Monkeypod and Roy's and had spectacular meals - and better prices - at both restaurants. Monkeypod in particular had excellent service as well. I highly advise any readers to go to either of those restaurants before spending a dime at Azul.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul also viewed

 

Been to Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.