We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkeypod Kitchen

Monkeypod Kitchen
92-1048 Olani St, Kapolei, Oahu, HI
+1 808-380-4086
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkeypod Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman is a place where foodies, beer lovers, and families escape the stresses of their day-to-day lives by enjoying an ice-cold beer and a great meal while surrounded by people who consider them honored guests and friends. Our restaurants are founded upon a passion for craft and we are dedicated to mastering the craft of food, drink, and merrymaking...With Aloha! Our menu features fresh island fish, hand tossed pizzas from our kiawe wood-burning oven, and homemade cream pies made from scratch. Thirty-six craft beers are on tap, each served at an optimal twenty-nine degrees. Our culinary cocktails feature unique ingredients such as acai spirit, coconut water, and Kula lavender. Our passion for craft also extends to our diverse wine list, which emphasizes sustainability, drinkability and fun. Come join us at our communal table, with friends old and new, and learn what it's like to share our "Lucky Live Hawaii" story.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had dinner here 3 nights in a row, that's how much we enjoyed it. They had a live singer every night, the outside area was just wonderful and relaxing and the food......oh the food....amazing!!!! We had a wonderful waiter, he was a true gem!. love love love this place

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    368
    115
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

the food was amazing and fresh with fast service and large portions. great cocktails and enjoyed the live music. family friendly too

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No Thanks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Perhaps it was an off night. Waitress smiled but was less than attentive. Menu items were over priced and under sized. The fish tacos are served as a trio sitting on a platter with three slots but ample room for a bowl of beans or perhaps at least something green but “nope” just a vacant spot on the plate all served with nothing more than corn tortillas, fish from somewhere else and some cilantro. Want good fish tacos? Go to Islands at Ala Moana. Also had a bowl of Asian noodles (Saimin). Why $14 for a bowl of noodles? At least the beer was cold.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Merriman's Marvels No Ka Oi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A last minute change in our dinner plans led us to a special treat at the Monkeypod Kitchen in Ko Olina. With excellent advice from our hostess, my fresh caught Onaga served with sea salad and Okinawan sweet mashed potatoes was an amazing culinary masterpiece! Others in our party had fresh fish tacos, spicy locally-raised Kauai prawns, a mixed poke platter with tako poke, ahi poke, and cerviche, all wonderfully assembled and presented.

Our hostess was especially warm and attentive, providing a truly unique experience for all of us. In hindsight, she was what made the night for us. For example, I observed her tactfully calming a toddler on an adjacent table to the delight of her young parents and returned from her rounds with an activity toy, just so her parents would be able to complete their meal. The mom was absolutely stunned by this random display of aloha, something that we locals sometimes forget, and often take for granted.

This was the second time we've dined here and again we were impressed with the dining experience. Chef Merriman is noted for his use of freshly locally grown ingredients. Some patrons may find the limited menu selection disappointing, but they are crafted with a special quality not often found. I am looking forward to returning and trying one of his other dishes, and hopefully, be able to visit one of his other restaurants on the other islands!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not bad for a lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

An ok restaurant nice fish and chips. Childrens pizza was ok. A short walk from the hotels in ko olina.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeypod Kitchen also viewed

 
 

Been to Monkeypod Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkeypod Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.