We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
encinitas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Just got back from Oahu on Sunday and had a great time. We stayed at the Marriott Ko Olina resort in a mountain view room (actually a view of the golf course). We were very happy with our overall experience at the resort. The pools were nice, the lagoon was nice, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The only real negative from the entire experience was that the hotel was located on the westside of the island. We happened to enjoy visiting the beaches, eating, and doing most of our activities on the other side of the island. So if you don't mind driving, this location would be great.
Recommended places to eat:
Boots and Kimos (the best pancakes)
Zippys
Giovanni's Shrimp truck (great shrimp)
Leonard's Bakery (great malasadas)
Jimbo's (Udon and Japanese food)
Gina's BBQ (cheap Korean BBQ To-Go)
Dole Plantation (great Dole Whip ice cream)
Tanioka's

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    497
    166
    60
    39
See reviews for
979
608
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We Stayed at the Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club August 16- 21st 2008. We loved it! My wife & I have 2 children ages 5 & 8. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa "accessible" room on the 10th floor. We stayed in what is called Mountain View. We had views also of the marina which was nice. We had 2 full showers, one was a normal shower/ tub combo. I think you only get 2 full showers in the "accessible" room. 2 showers is great with a family of 4.
We had a problem the 1st night with the AC. It kept kicking off & on all night. Which is very loud since the unit was in the bedroom. The next day we turned the AC to ON instead of AUTO. We then had no more problems with the AC. Our 5 yr. old slept in the reading nook area on the little yellow couch. She had plenty of room. We just used the bedding meant for the sofabed.
Our 8 yr. old slept on the rollaway, which was free & we are not owners. The Marriott website says no rollaways allowed, but call the hotel directly & you will be able to get one. The kids both slept in the reading nook area. There is no curtains in that area so we hung a blanket on the window and kept the room divider open for ventilation.
We went to the free torch lighting ceremony at the hotel. They only have it once a week on Tuesdays. We all had a great time.
The show lasted about 45 minutes.
We went snorkeling at lagoon 1 & 2 with 2 being our favorite. The water was much more clear at lagoon 2. We saw a decent amount of large fish & 1 turtle at lagoon 1 & 2. We rented a paddle boat at the hotel for 45 min. at a cost of $20. It was one of our kids favorite things to do. This is the best place we have ever taken the kids. We didn't love Oahu, but because of this resort we are planning a return visit.

  • Liked — Close to snorkeling, full kitchens, washer & dryer in unit
  • Disliked — Would have liked another bed instead of reading nook
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

My family (wife and two daughters aged 9 & 6) spent a week at the Ko Olina resort. We were offered a time share deal (take the presentation for a low rate for 5 nights, 6 days). We upgraded to the one bedroom villa in the presentation. The room was great. We had a full kitchen that was well stocked, a dining room table that sat six, living room area for the kids to sleep in, a small sitting area that led into the bedroom which had a king sized bed. Everything was well decorated and plenty big enough for us.

The kitchen came in handy. On the first night we went to the market and stocked up and avoided paying the usual high costs of breakfast and lunch at the resorts. Also, although we didn't use them they had grills for making steaks, burgers, etc. that were in the common areas.

The resort itself was very nice. There are two pools, one with sand on one end which my younger daughter loved playing in. The lagoons are well protected making for easy swims. The lagoons are almost too well protected, since it doesn't feel like you're in the ocean. Our kids like playing in the waves, but there weren't any waves.

There are two restaurants at the resort, Chuck's which is a steakhouse and Koheles (not sure I'm spelling that right). Chuck's was a pretty standard restaurant with steak and fish. Koheles has a buffet on Friday and Saturday night. The buffet was pretty standard (crab, prime rib, chicken, etc.) but one good thing they had for kids was a special kids table at the buffet with mac & cheese, chicken nuggets, PB&J and jello. We thought that was a nice touch.

The Ko Olina area also has a Roy's at the golf course and a few restaurants at the JW Marriott. There's a shuttle that runs around the resort area which we took a couple times which comes in handy.

Couple random items:

Ko Olina is very isolated which has it's positives and negatives. We spent one day in Waikiki and it was just a big city with a nice beach but not very quiet. If you want to get away from everything, Ko Olina is a good option but if you want to be in the middle of everything this is not for you.

This is very much a family resort. There were kids everywhere, so if you want to be at an adult resort again this is probably not the best place.

The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. The concierge helped with reservations for dinner and booked the Ko Olina Cat for a dinner sail which was great.

Although there is construction next door on a new tower, the hotel is already done so we didn't hear anything the whole time we were there.

There is some mild airplane noise (not in the rooms but outside). Both commercial and military jets seem to fly over quite a bit.

We thought the resort was nice, and if you can live with the few items we mentioned you'll have a great time here. Since we're from LA we didn't find Oahu as nice as Maui (Oahu is a little two built up for our tastes for a tropical island), but this is a great option if you prefer oahu.

  • Liked — Room, pool area
  • Disliked — Location a little too remote
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Wa
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We visited the resort after being offered a great rate back in October via the timeshare special. My husband and I left the children with family and did this trip to Oahu "childless!". When we first arrived we were checked in very quickly. I was so impressed with the valet parking...it is expensive ($25/day vs $20/day for self parking) but we always had our car when we requested and the valet parkers were always willing to carry up items to our room...they were so nice! The room itself was a 1 bedroom villa and it was gorgeous. We were on the 5th floor overlooking the pool. We could see a bit of the ocean as well. The grounds are spectacular and so much nicer than the JW Marriott hotel down the way. We rented a cabana one day which was a fabulous way to spend the day. They brought around little drinks of water and towelettes occasionally. I love the fact that you can leave the cabana, go back to your room for lunch etc and the cabana is always untouched and ready for you when you get back (no worries that it will be given away). We had dinner one night at Chucks and the service was incredible as was the food. We used our "marriott dollars" we were given for attending the timeshare presentation and it paid for our dinner ($100). The presentation in and of itself was fine. When we signed up for this trip in October I was working just about full time in the Mortgage Industry....we all know how well that is going right now, so we knew that buying a timeshare was not an option. Aaron was our presentor and he tried very hard to make the presentation pleasant even knowing full well that we would not be purchasing. It was not a hard sell but I did sense that his conversations with us were scripted or just over-used. I am sure it is not an easy job to sell these to people but he could have smiled more (if you are reading this Aaron....you have a great smile...you should share it!) and it would have made us and anyone sitting through one of these presentations relax a bit more. Oh well....it worked out just fine.
My only complaints were the oceanside bar and grill left a lot to be desired. The drinks were extremely expensive and I really didn't think my Mai Tai was all that great. We ordered the combo appetizer plate and it was also not that tasty. Our waitress seemed a bit annoyed when we finished and asked for our check...she kept saying "are you sure you don't want another drink? You really want to leave????" .
I loved everything else. Did I mention how friendly everyone was? Patrick down at the beach services booth gave us an awesome map and outlined a trip around the island for us..even giving us some great LOST scenes to check out (the TV show). He was kind enough to write his cell number down on the map in case we got lost or had any questions. The drive around the island ended up being one of our favorite memories of the trip. I highly recommend Lanikai beach....oh my gosh, we went on a week-day and there was nobody there...heaven on earth! Okay, I think I will sign off but I recommend the Ko'Olina to all.

  • Liked — The rooms were great!
  • Disliked — The Bar and Grill....needs some work.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

This is a very nice resort in a not-so-nice location. Once you’re on the resort grounds, everything is lovely - - it’s green, lush, and clean, and has every amenity. But the area around the resort is dry and kind of ugly. Past the resort, away from Honolulu and up the west coast of Oahu, the area gets pretty run down and shabby.

Our room and its view were lovely. The pools were sparkling and beautiful, and the (man-made) lagoons were a lot of fun, and full of beautiful fish. The resort caters mainly to families and golfers. Construction is ongoing, but it wasn’t too noticeable.

There is a full shopping center about two exits away (anchored by a Safeway and Longs Drugs), which is useful, because the restaurants at the hotel are expensive. You can save big $ by cooking in your room or on the outdoor grills at the resort. (The resort provides cooking utensils for the grills, and there are plenty of picnic tables).

Again, this is a fine resort, once you get to it. But the area surrounding it is a definite detraction.

  • Liked — layout/design of resort
  • Disliked — location and surroundings
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We just got back from a week at Ko Olina. We loved the resort and give it very high marks. The rooms (we had a 2 bedroom facing the pools and ocean on the 5th floor) are great -- very similar to other Marriott time shares but more spacious if anything. Check in was relatively easy. The valets were very good. Our room was not ready for about an hour but we went to the beach bar for lunch (okay not great). The pool areas are very nice (a bit crowded -- lots of people). The beach areas are very nice -- we really liked the lagoon that was one to the right as you look toward the ocean (much less crowded and better snorkeling). No waves to play in but a nice beach for relaxing. We had dinner at Chucks and thought it was very nice -- good food, great setting and very nice service -- better than some of the reviews we had read here. Towels are available but you must sign for them when you get them and when you return them. Great grills for fixing food. Grocery is about 5 miles away but you can run into traffic if you are not careful. I was shocked with the quality of Fia Fia and would strongly recommend this luau on every Tuesday night. Funny, entertaining and the food was good. I was not expecting such a quality show. Great sunsets -- wonderful photo opportunities every night. Nice walk to the Marriott hotel. Pretty grounds but a very small pool in our opinion. Overall, we thought the place was great and would not hesitate going back again if it weren't for the plane ride from Ohio.

  • Liked — Sunset views
  • Disliked — Pools were too crowded
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We just got back from this resort this morning. Wow ! We had such a great time. I went with my family which consists of a daughter 6 , a son 11 and a daughter 18. I got this time share week as a gift from one of our friends. ( nice friend) We stayed in a beautiful 2 room suite facing the pool. The suites had a large central dining area w/ a pull out sofa and two large seperate bedrooms. The suite had nice wood trim and high recessed ceilings.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. This resort has one main beach lagoon with (chairs & cabanas) and two other lagoons leading down a path to a hotel on the same development, the JW Mariott. The grounds are landscaped with lush tropical plantings including a sizeable koi pond. Their are two large pools just outside the main lobby. One of the pools has a beach shallow end for small children . Nice.

There are two restaurants onsite . Chucks ( pretty nice) with veiws of the ocean at sunset. The laggon , casual with even better veiws of the ocean. And I will say that the Mai Tai drink I had at the lagoon bar was the best drink I have ever had. Gotta try it.

Anyway my kids loved it. It never seemed that crowed even at 100 % occupancy. We went on the sunset cruise w/ Koolina cat. We went on horseback rides at Turtle Bay, shopping at north shore , swam w/ the dolphins at sea life park , visited Pearl Harbor and snorkled in Hanauma Bay. Two great activities right at the resort were the Fia Fia Luah . ( Worth every cent) and my familys favorite activity the star gazer night. They actually brought full size telescopes down to the resort and showed my kids how to find stars and planets. ( We saw the rings of Saturn )

They are just finishing up the third tower with a new pool and swim up bar. If you have kids and want to to have a good time make this one of your stops. Even without children you will love it.

My wife and I had such a good time we bought a three bedroom timeshare. Maybe one of these days we will go by ourselves.

  • Liked — family friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 949
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.